We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Collingwood, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western
Nearby Hotels
US$130
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cumberland Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$197
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
439
203
54
21
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
439
203
54
21
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgames roomfull size snooker tableswimming poolentertainment every nightdance floorolder clientelelarge car parksmall gymtable tennissauna and steam roomroad noiseeach eveningpiping hotbreakfast and dinnertown centreexcellent hotelthree star
Filter
Updating list...
606 - 611 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have just returned from an excellent break away at the Hotel Collingwood in Bournemouth. Whenever we feel the need to get away this is now the place we first think of. We have been going to Bournemouth itself for many years and have tried many Hotels until five or six years ago when we were told by a colleague at work about this hotel and thought we would give it a try - because, after all, if he liked it then it had to be good we thought. We were not disappointed, everything from the check-in to the restaurant and the cleaning of the rooms really can't be faulted. Ever since we started going we have been back to this particular hotel two or three times each year for varying types of break, some 5 or 6 nights and some 2 or 3 nights. The Hotel itself has a drop off area just outside the front door where you can check yourselves in and leave details of your vehicle with a computerised system at reception. You can then leave your vehicle at the back of the hotel in their huge car park. The rooms themselves have now nearly all been redecorated I understand and are more than adequate with a nice hospitality tray with tea, coffee and drinking chocolate. The food is another reason why we have been back time and again. At breakfast everything is freshly cooked and not kept warm as you find in some places and the evening meal is a choice of 5 courses and is a real delight of high quality food in particular the speciality cheesecakes. The staff in the restaurant are always on the go seeing to the guests needs and it seems as if nothing is too much trouble for them e.g. extra toast, tea etc. The hotel provide some form of entertainment every night and whilst we were there this time we even had the management up on the dance floor. The one we enjoy the most is on a Friday and Sunday nights due to his mix of ad libs and the way he involves the audience but they all of fairly equal standing. The area itself has a huge amount of things to keep you entertained but the thing we love most is going to Poole Quay.
To sum up this is a very good hotel which we can thoroughly recommend with pleasant staff - the only thing is that we can't believe it is only a three star.

Room Tip: The only slight thing I would say is that the back rooms are a little quieter than the front rooms at night.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Just spent a fab weekend at the Hotel Collingwood. Staff were friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble for any of them. The food was amazing and plenty of it. The hotel and rooms alike were both comfortable and clean. The hotel lounge area had plenty of comfortable seating where we were all able to be seated together and enjoy some precious family time. We were a party of eight that had gone away for my husbands birthday and we had a lovely time and would most definately go back again. The town and the beach were both close by and took only minutes to get to. Parking was easy unlike some hotels we have stayed in where is would have been a first come first served basis.
My only comment would be that the buffet table at breakfast could be sited in another location as it is too close to the door where staff are trying to access with plates etc; but this is just a mere observation. Thank you for a lovely weekend from the Atkins Party

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper may be better to request a rear room if staying at the weekends as the street does get busy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

I really cannot speak too highly of this hotel. My wife and I have just had five days there and the facilities were abosultely superb. The accommodation (Room No. 112) was extremely good (the best shower we have ever had anywhere, even at more expensive hotels!), the staff were very efficient and polite and the food was delicious. It is a fine hotel and deserves to do well. Raymond Wood, Sherborne

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and was affected by traffic noise. I imagine that the best rooms are at the front on the first floor, so traffic noise is the price you pay for a better room! But check with the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Most enjoyable break for us both. A slight embarrassment with the entertainment was the lack of guests in the ballroom each evening, six of us in total one evening. The remainder of the guests were a private group of forty who used an alternate room.
Food, service & staff all excellent, would definately return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RITA338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I was looking forward to staying at the Collingwood with a disabled partner. We parked at the front door to register, leaving the disabled badge clearly on the windscreen just for as long as it took to check-in.
The lobby and reception looked very inviting and we felt we had made a good choice; this was soon to be dispelled. The lift to the room allocated was very small with several groups of people all trying to pack in at the same time, making no allowance for others.
Reaching the third floor took some time and on arrival we started looking for the room.

It was down four steps, along a very long corridor, up three steps, several twists and turns and then another long corridor to a small hallway with three doors all facing each other. On entering the room we fell into a tiny bathroom which displayed signs of great neglect. The sink was stained, cracked and dingey, the shower/bath much the same with ripped floor covering and missing tiles.
The tiny double bed looked like something from a dosshouse, slanting to one side with no headboard. The were two stained bucket chairs and no table. The carpets were soiled and forgotten and all in all very poor for amount to be charged.

Returning to the front desk, the receptionist made the usual apologies and after some searching found a another room which she said could only be for half of our four days stay and we would have to move.
Thinking this would be better, we made the arduous journey to another room which was easier to find. This had weather beaten and peeling window sills and frames with the filthiest light switch I have ever seen. The bathroom had been retiled after a fashion but the whole room left much to be desired.

We returned to reception to find the poor receptionist still alone and swamped by several people trying to gain satisfaction with their rooms, together with a persistantly ringing telephone.
I said we would not be staying if that was the best they had for about £400 for four nights, whereupon she said we will have to charge for the cancellation. I said, "we are not late, not a no show and not in default of the Terms and Conditions".
All we wanted to do was see what we were getting, keeping in mind I had asked for them to consider my partner's disabilities, the distances and steps to be negotiated. The receptionist did admit the rooms were ready for refurbishment!
I telephoned the booking agents who told me to leave immediately, if not satisfied.

On returning to our car we found a man inspecting the Disabled Badge with a view to charging us £95 parking fee as we were not registered on his computer for hotel parking. I gave a short explanation and departed. As an Admitted Solicitor of 40 year's standing, just let them try to serve the ticket.

Within minutes I had searched the internet and found a fabulous place for about the same daily rate where we stayed for 6 days and not four, and thoroughly enjoyed the most sumptuous surroundings.

Moral: It pays to check things out. Some of these Old Victorian Hotels need demolition.

Room Tip: Always read the guests' critique. Not the good ones but the unhappy ones before making your choice. Ignore the glossy brochures showing the flowers and entrance.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidrwburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryclarke, Owner at Hotel Collingwood, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

We accept the bathroom in the room initially mentioned requires refurbishment which is being carried out at the end of October. The bedroom is fine and many guests request this room

We would, however, take issue with the other points raised : -

The corridor has just 4 steps down and is not unusually long. We have been unable to refurbish this room prior to the above date because many people particularly request this room so I feel the description of its condition is exaggerated. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the hotel, as you will see from the many positive comments received. Neither the carpets nor the chairs are soiled , the bed is a standard 4’6” double and does have a headboard. The bathroom of the second room has recently been fully refurbished

We always do our utmost to ensure the individual needs of our guests are met but were only informed of the gentleman’s disability upon arrival. I have been advised that several other guests arrived at the same time and were being checked in, none of whom had any complaint with their rooms. The lift carries six passengers and was new in 2010.

The gentleman was advised that they would need to cancel the booking with the agents that it had been booked through and my colleague telephoned them in order that he could do this whilst at reception.

The hotel has guaranteed parking at no extra cost to the rear of the hotel which is monitored by a car registration recognition system. The drive in front of the hotel where the gentleman parked is not subject to the system. The hotel does not issue car parking tickets nor do we have a man inspecting cars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews