We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional value for money, clean, comfortable and friendly.”
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We booked a mid week special offer in late January. We were visiting family and as it was our anniversary made Bournemouth a half way stop over. We are quite fussy so we were delighted to get the standard we found on a budget priced break. The room was lovely, clean and warm. The food, though not fine dining, was beautifully cooked and presented and certainly well portioned. The staff we met were all a credit to this family owned hotel. If you are in Bournemouth on business, for a concert or just shopping the hotel is well placed just back from the sea but a short walk to most facilities. The spa, pool and snooker table were a bonus and I believe there was a gym and ballroom. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2013

We booked a few days break at this hotel and must say we picked a good one. The hotel is situated very close to the BIC entertainment centre and the pier/seafront. It is also close to the shopping centre. We had room 314 which is on the third floor and has views of the sea. The room was very spacious but the bathroom was quite small but had a bath and shower. The hotel also has a smallish but adequate swimming pool and hot tub and a gym for the more active. We found the food to be excellent and looked forward to our meals knowing we were going to get a good choice of food well prepared. Overall, I would say we had an excellent time and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 314 has sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Visited last week on a midweek break. Everything about the stay was excellent. The room was spacious, well lit, very clean and comfortable. It was also quite hot (but a good fault as you can always turn the rads. down, and we had had snow earlier). The restaurant was excellent, not only for the choice and quality of the meals, but the first class service of the staff. They were not only extremely efficient (and obviously the kitchen staff) but were also very approachable, friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. Indeed the same efficient and friendly service was provided at reception too.
We stayed in a front facing room, and we did not find the road that busy at night time, and our sleep was not disturbed at all. In fact the bed was so comfortable we had no problem sleeping at all.
Thoroughly recommended, the best hotel we have stayed in in England. Will be going back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greypowerKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Visited summer 2012 with my elderly mother. This hotel was very clean, and nicely decorated. The food was excellent and well presented - served by very friendly and efficient staff. We had a twin room which was very comfortable and a decent size. The pool and hot tub was great and they supplied clean towels to exchange. There was free, safe and secure private parking at the back of the hotel.
The only negative issue was that the hotel is at the top of a hill which could cause problems if you had mobility difficulties.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This hotel always lives up to my expectations. An Xmas shopping trip seemed the perfect pre - festive break and didn't disappoint.The Collingwood is furnished to a very high standard together with a first class restaurant where I enjoyed each days' four courses. Add in some very attentive and professional staff then this hotel is worth visiting for a shopping trip or break at any time of year as well as exploring the glorious coastline in these parts.
Bournemouth at Christmas time is a lovely place to be although I do have one request for proprietor Mr Clarke; sort the weather out please !

Room Tip: Aim high for a room with great town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

We stayed here for my parents 50th wedding anniversary and cannot complain at all about the hotel, its staff or the food. Everything was perfect apart that the hotel had control over. Unfortunately, the hotel is on a VERY busy road and as we had a front facing room, this did disrupt my nights sleep (not my husbands though!!). The family suite we stayed in with our 2 daughters was clean and comfortable albeit very hot!! (we had to go round turning down the radiators!).
We would happily stay in this hotel again but would only stay in a rear facing room!!

Room Tip: Make sure you overlook the carpark!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandpiper1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Have just returned from our 2nd Turkey & Tinsel weekend at the Collingwood. All our party have said they enjoy coming here because of:-
Friendly helpful staff, very clean rooms, excellent food for the price. Location is very convenient for the shops (even thought the hill is fairly steep on the way back).

We are already looking forward to next years T&T ...... and yes we are going to book the Collingwood again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxgloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
799 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#4 of 66 in Bournemouth
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £57 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing