We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Twixmas Break”
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Twixmas Break”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Had a Three night "TWIXMAS" break at the Collingwood. Very good value for money, not much more than we paid for B&B stays in the Summer.
Very clean modern room. Would recommend rear facing the car park, no traffic noise at all.
Very nice restaurant, staff all very pleasant, and could not be more helpfull. Breakfast and evening meals, were a very pleasant suprise, excellent quality and portions in both.
Music in Ballroom at night was ok, considering the cost. Pool and Fitness Centre were very good, and seemed new.
Very convenient Car Parking at rear.
Position of hotel is good, a short walk down to Bournemouth.
This hotel is brilliant value for money, would stay here again when visiting Bournemouth, and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Third floor, rear facing Car Park, Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leicesterchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    176
    44
    14
    13
See reviews for
129
278
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Friendly and efficient welcome and room was clean and a good size for a single with a comfortable 4ft bed. At the price charged including a good breakfast this was excellent value. Not sure I would like to be in the hotel when it is full - car parking wouldn't be so easy and the dining room would be pretty cramped.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

On arrival we were greeted by a very polite female receptionist. We were given our key and then informed where to park. Whilst we were doing this the receptionist asked if we would like our luggage taken to our room. This was greatly appreciated. Our room was on the second floor over looking the car park. Room was a lovely size as was the bathroom. The towels in the bathroom were sparkling white and it was great to have bath sheets that you could wrap around yourself. Towels were also of good quality.
The room was spotlessly clean and was made up every morning by the housekeeper who was also very pleasant.
The food was of high standard and a good choice ever night. The waitresses were very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.
The hotel was very clean and the bar was a perfect place to chill out. Beautiful cream teas also served in bar.
It was great to have entertainment every night, something you don't always see in hotels.
We had a fantastic stay everyone was so friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Will definitely go back and also would highly recommend hotel. Wishing all the staff a good Christmas and new year, from the lovells

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jackie232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Very nice staff, freindly and helpful in the bar and restaurant. Not the best check in, the gentleman checked us in and was not forthcoming with any information other than room number. Clean comfortable room and clean reasonable sized bathroom with good shower over bath. Breakfast was good, would have liked a little more fruit/yoghurt as only grapefruit available and the freshly cooked english was lovely. Evening meal was a good selection. ALL MEALS SERVED ON HOT PLATES (A VERY RARE THING). The plates were even still hot after clearing our plates. Well done

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank away-again-yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Value was great for short winter break. Lovely indoor pool to ourselves! Very good food, 5 course evening meal different every evening and served on lovely hot plates!! Although not all staff had English as their first language they understood and responded well.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylotaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Very nice staff, freindly and helpful. Bedrooms on 2nd floor and I overlooked the back car park and surrounding bournemouth gardens which was lovely. Clean comfortable room and clean reasonable sized bathroom with good shower over bath. coffee/tea/hot chocolate in rooms which was nice. Breakfast acceptable, would have liked a little more fruit/yoghurt as only grapefruit available and the freshly cooked english was lovely, although no fried bread and wasn't possible when asked. However, it was lovely to have a fresh hot croissant though! Parents enjoyed the swimming pool.

Very good location and lovely walk down to the peer which takes approx 10 mins going down (as on a hill), but steep walk back!

Room Tip: front rooms have sea view but can be quite noisy due to being on a main road, the view over the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Have been to this hotel many times and it is always an excellent experience. The staff are excellent as is the reception. The open areas are very modern and comfortable and a great place to linger, have a drink, read etc. We have always found the food very good value for money and good quality. We really like this hotel for the location so close to the beach and shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#22 of 66 in Bournemouth
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,486 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
864 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Property: Hotel Collingwood
Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing