We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great standards”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is used regularly by my parents. We visited on mothering sunday weekend and stayed for two nights.
This place returns excellent value for money especially on the breakfast and evening meal.
The hotel is really welcoming, very well decorated and has excellent facilities. The rooms are clean and suitable, great leisure facilities with snooker room, dance floor and health suite. The pool was clean and always very quiet, I also note it is small but perfect if only a few people in it. The jacuzzi was a bit harsh on the eyes with the chemicals, so just a word of caution.
Restaurant was brilliant from the cream tea in the afternoon to a cooked breakfast. The evening meals provide plenty of choice and the steak is a really good quality product, very tender with little fat and full of flavour.
Most of all the superb, polite and attentive staff really help sell this place. Throw into the mix it's proximity to other restaurants (if you choose to eat out), Exhibition Centre abd the ample free parking and this really is a top package. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    170
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
125
272
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great location . . Although it us up quite a steep hill!
Fantastic food . . Breakfast and evening meal with great waiter/waitress service
Swimming pool is small but nice for a dip
Rooms are comfortable and clean
Ballroom is nice
Would definitely go again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Just back from another visit to the Hotel Collingwood at Bournemouth, stayed for 5 nights bed breakfast and evening meal, hotel in the process of redecoration but not a problem, food delicious as always with a good choice, staff friendly and helpful, entertainment every night 3 were
very good the other 2 not so good, bar prices very reasonable, small indoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, steam room and games room, free car park, we have been there about 4 times over the last few years and will be going again.location close to BICC and Pavillion theatre, Pier, Sands and near the town centre at the top of a steep hill but there are easier alternative ways to avoid it.

Room Tip: some road noise with rooms at the front of hotel but to be expected on main road close to center of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davepanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Spent a night here as part of our trip. We had seen the reviews on here prior to booking and could see we shouldn't have any problems booking here. I'm glad we did book! For £54 it puts the higher priced hotel chains to shame. Checking in was quick and were we in our room within minutes.

The hotel has a lot of renovating going on, re-painting the walls and new carpets going down recently. On entering the room we were pleasantly surprised, after staying in an appalling hotel the night before for the same price we wasn't expected an awful lot.

The rooms were cleaned very well, just the light fittings could have done with a wipe to remove the dust build up. There were quite a few hairs on top of the duvet, nothing under the covers just on top.

The only niggling fault with the room was the velux windows didn't close properly and had vents hanging off them because of broken brackets. This let in quite a bit of noise from the outside. The breakfast wasn't amazing but the staff were very attentive. Not a lot to say really, which is a good thing! I would definitely stay here again and hope the hotel keeps up the good standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rich210uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have just stayed here with my partner, a last minute getaway in the unexpected sunshine, can't fault the hotel at all, checked us in over an hour early which was brilliant for us, parked the car easily enough, used the swimming pool/whirl pool, sauna and steam room, our room was smallish but perfect for what we needed, staff friendly and breakfast was good, would stay here again, lastminute.com booking and very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We have just returned from a short stay at the Collingwood, and we would be happy to go back anytime. We have tried a number of hotels in Bournemouth and the Collingwood proved to be a match for others that boast a higher star rating. From the check-in staff to the restaurant service at breakfast, we were made to feel that nothing was too much trouble. The room was compact, but nicely decorated and clean, which was perfectly adequate, as we spent the majority of the time out and about. The location is ideal for exploring the town, or the sea front. There is a steep slope that might be a consideration for those less mobile, but it is short and not too much of a concern otherwise. Service at breakfast was made especially welcoming by Elisa, who was happy to help and had a friendly demeanour. The parking situation was a pleasant surprise, with loads of space, some of which is covered...this alone is a major plus over some of the more prestigious competition! We will be back :-)

Room Tip: Due to a major road to the front of the hotel, you might want to consider requesting a room to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KennyN1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

First time visit to the Collingwood in a party of 20 in town for a Conference at BIC. OK we managed to book a Superior Room but as a 3* establishment it was well up to scratch and room size. OK no fridge and biscuits to have with the Tea/Coffee available in the room cost "extra" but the room was a good size had a couple of Arm Chairs and a good TV and Bathroom with an excellent shower.and we could see the sea over the top of the West Cliff. While we did not get time to use the pool the Breakfasts, evening meals and Sunday lunch were of very good quality well cooked and served by cheerful staff in a nice tidy and clean restaurant. The car park was amply big enough which is more than can perhaps be said for for some other more expensive establishments.

MY on gripe was that having asked on our Thursday evening arrival for a blown ceiling Halogen lamp to be replaced and another flickering one to be looked at NOTHING was done during our stay albeit over a long weekend otherwise this would have been a 5* review. Very happy to back should the need arise in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnwetherill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Property: Hotel Collingwood
Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing