We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel in Bournemouth”
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great hotel in Bournemouth”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

For a relaxing break this is the place to go
Have stayed at the Marriott on a number of occasions which is very nice BUT you cannot beat the Collingwood for value for money

Very welcoming and all the team were very friendly and efficient

Food was of a good standard

They have really tried hard since our first visit in all areas
Nice decor very clean easy parking

Only negative is the walk up the hill from the sea front but there is the taxi !!!!!!!!!!!'

Cannot fault our stay and will be back

Allen and Sandra

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 996Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    359
    176
    43
    14
    13
See reviews for
127
276
33
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

after our last visit to Collingwood hotel we have just been back on a weeks holiday
and once again Excellent service bye all the staff the chef always asked if we needed anything special for our meal the manager was very friendly and the staff very helpful
all in all outstanding Hotel 10 out of 10

Janice and Dave Bowden

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great location in Bournemouth - very central. The hotel is well kept - very clean and comfortable.
The staff are pleasant and helpful - would stay again. The walk to the seafront is just a short distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charmain5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherfield On Loddon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

After reading the review by Jemma T I am glad I wasn't influenced by her comments! My husband and myself (certainly not in our dotage) found all the staff exceptionally polite and friendly. Our room was at the top of the hotel, which was our choice, and was very clean, light and airy. The food was excellent with a good selection at breakfast and dinner. We shall certainly go back again. It is definitely a hotel to be recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the car park are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

we found everyone friendly and polite. Room was great, air con was very welcome, the facilities were excellent, and you would think you were in a four star hotel. Location wise I would recommend you take the road into town behind the hotel as it is a little less hilly.

Room Tip: go for the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My boyfriend and me decided to go away for our 2 year anniversary, and found this hotel which was in a good location. When we arrived, we were made to feel unwanted to due Late Rooms mistake with the price (even though they were getting the money from Late Rooms). We checked in and went to our room which was a decent size and fairly clean.

There was a creaking noise when we walked round certain bits of the room which did not feel safe at all. There was also a horrible smell all around the room and area. The towel rail was boiling and we both burnt ourself on it. The shower was too low down and my boyfriend couldn't shower properly.

Next day was breakfast. We told them we did not want tea/coffee, only for them to walk away thinking we did not want food! I had to chase after the staff to place my order. The staff in the restaurant were polite and quick at serving though.

The room was also too hot and the windows barely opened, which we raised with the man at reception who agreed to bring us a fan. He bought the fan to us about an hour later, but instead of knocking WALKED RIGHT IN THE ROOM as I was getting ready after just getting out the shower!! I had to run into the bathroom where my boyfriend was having a shower, and I called through to the man who continued to mutter to himself and carried on setting up the fan! He was there for a good few minutes before leaving. I have never experienced that anywhere I have stayed before.

We came back after a night out, and the entertainment was diabolical. The music was awful, and we were the youngest by about 50 years. We used the entertainment room below (pool table, table tennis etc). We also used the spa/pool which were okay, but pool didn't feel that clean.

The facilities within the hotel are good, but the two men at reception were rude to us throughout our stay. The women on the bar were helpful and polite.

Overall, I would not stay here ever again and would not recommend it if you are under the age of 70 as you will think you have walked into an old people's home. The location is good - only a short walk to the beach and town, taxi around £5.

But the two men at reception were so rude and walking right into someone's room is unbelievable! They ruined our anniversary by treating us so bad, so thank you!!

The best part of the weekend was when we checked out!

Room Tip: Do not go in room 208 - smells and creaks when you walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryclarke, Owner at Hotel Collingwood, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I have spoken to the duty receptionist at the time of check in who explained that, as you mentioned, there was a discrepancy in the payment due. the gentleman concerned does not feel he was rude at any time but regrettably the error by the booking website and not us had to be clarified.

Our rooms are all to a very good standard and had you advised us at the time of your arrival that you were unhappy with the room we would have moved you to another room. There was no mention of .any problem during your 2 day stay

The hotel is consistently complimented on being well maintained and on its cleanliness and we would strongly dispute any comment to the contrary.
Our swiming pool is serviiced twice weekly by a pool engineer.

I apologise for the genuine misunderstanding with the delivery of the fan.
The member of staff concered did knock but clearly you did not hear him.
As he received no answer he entered the room believing it to be empty
he did apologise for his mistake at the time.

We do not take stag or hen parties but welcome guests of all ages. The entertainment is generally middle of the road to cater for this but, as music is a very personal thing, may not be to everyone`s personal taste.

We have recently recieved a certificate of Excellence 2014 from Trip Advisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We searched the whole of Bournemouth and finally came across Hotel Colingwood. The hotel standards are very good and all the staff were very accommodating. The food was of good quality and reasonable prices. Our room was very spacious will all the required comforts. As a family we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid traffic noise then choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuroTraveller1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#6 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Central Hotel
Park Central Hotel
#7 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Property: Hotel Collingwood
Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing