We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good as always”
Review of Hotel Collingwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Collingwood
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2009

just returned from a 5 day stay and the hotel is as good as ever
lovely food good entertainment nice rooms what more can i say

pool facilties nice pool very warm
nice too see a few old faces still there
I understand phillip was sold as part of the inventory hes a credit to the hotel went out of his way

we will most certainly beback

one small criticism
please get wifi

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swanleyted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Collingwood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2009

The Collingwood Hotel to the West of Bournemouth is in a good position, quite near the front, manned by young mostly Eastern European staff. Opt for a quieter room at the back away from the main road which can get noisy late at night and early morning. Some of the rooms are small, OK for a weekend but I wouldn't like to stay in one for a week or longer, and the water temperature in the shower very variable. There's no fresh fruit, yoghurt or fried bread with the cooked breakfast, or biscuits with the complimentary tea & coffee in the room. It's the small things that matter.

The best thing about this hotel is the free parking in the large car park at the rear.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenRoyalWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Most staff are very young but pleasant.
Resturant is OK but food very bland. Asked for another roll and was refused, said only one per person - not good service. Wine just plonked on the table - not good service.
Bar closed at midnight even for residents - not good service.
Philip the manager/receptionist needs to get a personality, he never smiles,
Rooms OK but would be better with duvets and not blankets - very old fashioned.
Easy walk to the front or the town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPHJJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2009

We've just had another 5-day break at the Collingwood-such a friendly hotel with smiling faces abounding. OK-so nearly all the staff was from continental Europe but they were hard working and SO eager to please. Nothing was too much trouble for them !!
We will definitely be staying there again-our travelling partners were making their third visit in 12 months.Pinks Restaurant is spotless and EVERY meal was spot-on !
Hearty congratulations to the management team.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnie1930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

My husband & I needed a weekend away .We had heard that The Collingwood was very nice.Very nice is so understated ! We had such a wonderful weekend .Everything & everyone was FANTASTIC ,We stayed at the back on floor 3 & enjoyed a lovely room which had recently been refurbed.Warm & cosy with sparkling crisp white linen.Clean & extremely comfortable beds & facilities.We enjoyed having the pool & steam room to ourselves on Friday afternoon.some of the best food & service we have ever experienced ,(& we are a quite well travelled couple) .We have stayed at 5* hotels across the world with not such good quality well cooked food ,choice of menu or service as in Pinks Restaurant with it's relaxing ambience .For two evenings we enjoyed the five course meal with FRESH veg.& FRESH soup ingredients .(despite Quantum 500 's review.).Then later we danced the night away with a large party of happy cyclists,who were on their 5th Annual Winter visit to the hotel & we all had a whale of a time .Just what the Doctor ordered!. We are most certainly going again in May 09 AND for hopefully Christmas 2009 with luck .Can't wait . If it is noisy at the front of hotel we can't comment but overlooking the car park ,although not a great view it was very peaceful . P.S breakfasts were delicious also !
J & P . Walton ,Somerset.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bqwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Party of eight stayed at the Collingwood for a twixmas break. We booked quite late but managed to get four rooms on the third floor. The two rooms at the back overlooking the large car park were great. Clean, spacious, bright and airy. The bathrooms are a little dated and dark but adequate. My husband and I had room 306 which was overlooking the front of the hotel and rather small. The first night I found the room to be very warm and the noise from the road quite loud. It didn't help that the people in the next room left their tv on all night and the walls are quite thin!!!!! We asked to move and were given 305 which is across the corridor overlooking the car park. Much better although the floor boards squeak both in the room and in the corridor outside (also in the adjoining room).

We were impressed with the food and service. The entertainment was good if you joined in. The dance floor was a good size and the bar well stocked. The pool and leisure facilities were okay. Pool a little small since there were eight of us but adequate.

The position of the hotel is great. Just behind the BIC centre close to the beach and the gardens. Easy to walk everywhere. Not all hotels in Bournemouth have car parking but the Collingwood has plenty.

We had a very enjoyable holiday and would consider returning.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oakmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2008

The Hotel was comfortable and the facilities were fine. Although a word of warning donot have a room at the front of the hotel the traffic is very noisy, we asked to be moved which they did with no problem. I have to disagree with previous reviewers about the food. It has got to be the worst food of any hotel we have stayed at. The evening menu had no imagination at all ,the soup was straight from a packet and the vegetables were certainly not fresh. The breakfast was not much better , the ingredients were a poor quality. We have stayed at hotels with no rating and had food which is excellent, good quality and plenty of choice.
We wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank quantum500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 67 in Bournemouth
3,521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,964 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Collingwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Collingwood

Address: 11 Priory Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#10 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £64 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Collingwood 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Collingwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Collingwood Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing