We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a romantic trip - the location is really good. The spa is small but perfect! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clairebeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,867 - 1,873 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

we stayed here from 29th Aug - 1st Sept.
The hotel staff were great especially when my husband hurt his ankle in the gym, when you use the bench press in the gym be carfull with the pin it sticks & when you do manage to get it out the handle drops straight to the floor, on this occasion on my husbands ankle which ballooned straight away.
Another thing was i was charged for a complete shot of Jack Daniels when there wasn't enough in the bottle for a shot which the bar tender told me but still poured me.
The only complaint really was we were in room 66 & the noise from the road is really loud, it's was warm weather & we couldn't sleep with the windows open because of the noise.
We had a spa treatment which was great but the jacuzzi wasn't working because it's being re-tiled, & you get charged £10 for robes & slippers which should be complemntery this is the 1st spa hotel we've been in where you get charged for it.
Food was good but we stayed room only we chose to eat out & managed to find some good resturants especialy Hot Rocks down by the pier.
The lift is tired looking & abit smelly even though the hotel has just changed hands in the last 3 years.
But overall we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baileysandicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My Fiance bought me an overnight spa pamper Virgin experience voucher for my birthday. I love Bournemouth so chose the Hallmark Hotel. Afterwards I read the reviews on Tripadvisor and was suddenly really not looking forward to visiting. However, I was very pleasantly suprised! The voucher could only be used Sunday to Thursday so we decided to visit on the Sunday of bank hol weekend, as it was bank holiday we had to stay for a minimum of 2 nights so booked the Saturday night too (I'm so glad I did!)
On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful, we arrived at around11.30am so parked in the hotel car park and asked what time check in was, she replied 2pm but said we could use all of the hotel facilities before we checked in if we wanted to. We had a look around and found that the public areas were all very nice. The bar and restaurant were very nice, however, the outside area could be improved. The spa was also nice, the decor could use a lick of paint but overall it was still a nice area and all the facilities worked well. The pool and jacuzzi were a nice temperature. My voucher included a spa treatment so I chose a facial which was good, I would recommend booking your spa treatment as soon as possible as they get very booked up and you may not be able to get the treatment you want.
Our voucher also included a 3 course meal in the hotel restaurant and this was very enjoyable, I particularly recommend the slow roast belly pork! This was gorgeous! The service was very good. Breakfast was very nice, great service even at busy times, there is a buffet of tradition breakfast items and you can also request other items such as salmon, black pudding, whatever style of eggs you want, etc. We were so full from breakfast each morning that we didn't feel hungry til around 5pm!
Our room was lovely, we stayed on the 3rd floor. The room was very clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. There is a good size tv with all the freeview channels. There were some nice personal touches in the room, and a good selection of tea, coffee and biscuits. We were impressed with the housekeeping, on Sunday morning we went down to breakfast and returned 30 mins later to find our room had already been made up! The only downsides are that it was a bit warm (but you can request a fan from reception which solved the problem) and the view isn't great as there is a derelict hotel opposite (this really didn't bother us though). The location of the hotel is brilliant as it is only a 5-10 min walk to the beach and about 15 - 20 to the center of Bournemouth! I highly recommend a trip to Vesuvio an Italian restaurant on the seafront in Alum Chine (about 15 min walk from the hotel).
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definately stay here again!

Room Tip: If there isn't already a fan in your room ask reception for one as it can get a bit warm even if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlotteU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Full payment required on checking in, plus £25pppn advance payment required for potential extras, staff rude & unhelpful. Executive room dull & dreary, beds have cheep acrylic dark brown blankets, shower didn't work (Rm 74), incredibly hot, no ventilation or air con. Bar over-priced & staff rude. Positive... restaurant food good & staff there friendly. Other hotels nearby much better !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The hallmarks communial areas look impressive for a hotel of the class, however the rooms are hit and miss. Some rooms are like suanas, while others are ok. Some over look the road and the derelict hotel next door, while others overlook the roof and air conditioning (which is for communal areas only, and not the room unfortunatley).
The hallways are a magnolia over textured wallpaper look, that doesn't match the lobby area, it looks dated and like they ran out of money to complete their renovations.

The walls of the rooms are thin, so if your neighbours are talking, you can join the conversation. I was suprised to have to pay a 49pound fee per night incase i used something in the room, as it was not advertised beforehand.

Breakfast is ok, although a bit greasy it sets you up for the day.

My family who also were staying in the hotel we treated rudely by the staff and upon complaining basically got told they didn't care, so i can say we won't be back. I would only advise to stay there, if other accomadation is booked out, and you are staying very short term.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springieandrabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I spent two nights at this hotel in a twin room with my sister. The hotel was a bit of a mix - the public areas i.e. reception and bar were nicely decorated in a modern style, as was our room (which was very spacious) but there were parts which were very shabby and let the place down. Our bathroom was very dated, the shower was weak and there was no ventilation. The room was incredibly hot all the time; we had the ceiling fan and a desk top fan (which was filthy!) on all the time, even all night, which along with having the windows open made the room just about bearable (the outside temperature was not hot by the way!). The spa was also pretty limited - the water was cold and the jacuzzi broken on our first day but OK on the second. Again, parts of the spa area were old - the door of the shower in the ladies changing room was broken and dirty and the ceiling tiles were fallng off. Having said all that, the staff were very friendly. I guess you get what you pay for and it was very cheap!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnajane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

spent all day with my 2 daughters in the spa. went in the pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, relaxation room and went up to the main pool and did 40 lengths aswell which burnt off the calories i consumed eating cake at lunch time!!
We live in Salisbury and to use our local pool is now £6.00 so to have all day at this spa and to relax and generally take it easy and to take in a little exercise was very good value for money. My daughters also walked into town and did some clothes shopping and we ended up at Harry Ramsdoms at the end of the day. A lovely day spent by all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £37 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing