We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modernised hotel, good location, 2 pools”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Modernised hotel, good location, 2 pools”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here with my 1yo son and it was great. Great location as only 5 min wander to beach. Old building has been modernised. Room quite spacious, shower pressure poor, food OK. They don't go out of their way to accommodate babies but are child friendly. staff very good. No air con.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissaselwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    438
    449
    279
    257
See reviews for
238
857
48
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Totally unacceptable standards and service. Swimming pool was supposed to be 30 degrees but we were shivering. Had to wait ages for afternoon tea and when it finally came, the scones weren't fresh and there was string in the beef sandwiches which my friend nearly choked on.
Try the Wessex Hotel over the road, much better standards and service - stay away from Hallmark Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Corsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have just returned from an over night break with a Groupon voucher. My friend and I chose to go to this hotel to use the Spa facilities.
Staff were friendly on arrival but not particularly helpful with giving information about the Spa facilities. The changing facitlities in both the pool/gym area and spa area were small and both had a horrible smell. However the actual spa pools, gym, swimming pool, steam rooms, and sauna were clean and well maintained.
We enjoyed a lovely meal in the Brasserie and enjoyed the buffet breakfast. Staff in the Brasserie were attentive and polite.
The biggest downfall of the trip though was that at 6:45am the Fire alarm went off. My friend and I dutifully left tthe building by the nearest fire exit and walked down over the roof to come to ground level by the staff entrance. No staff were there at all!
As we didn't know whether or not it was a false alarm we had to find our way around the front of the hotel and walk back along the pavement to reception (in our pyjamas!) When we arrived in reception a few people were milling about/checking out etc and we asked the staff at the desk if it was a false alarm. We were told 'yes' but it was only when we commented that it would have been nice to have been told this by our exit so that we didn't need to walk to the front of the hotel in our nightwear that a rather pained 'sorry' was muttered.
I appreciate that false alarms happen but it is very worrying that a hotel doesn't send it's staff members to each of the exit points outside to inform guests of what is happening...what if it had been a real fire?
I would not pay full price to stay in this hotel. It is not worthy of the 4* rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanForsyth38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I took my girlfriend for an overnight spa break and was really pleased with the whole experience.
The staff were really friendly yet professional, the room was very nice with a huge en suite. The bar was spacious and had loads of seating, and the breakfast in the morning was absolutely fantastic - really relaxed, great food and it was organised well, with plenty of food coming through and no waiting for anything.
But the best bit was the spa itself. There's a gym and a very large indoor pool on the upper floor which we didn't use, but downstairs there's a smaller "warm" pool, the best hot-tub I've ever used (fantastic massaging jets and loads of them), and excellent sauna/steam-room/aromatherapy rooms (3 separate) as well as a relaxation room with sun loungers and magazines. My gf had a hot stone massage, while I had a 30 minute back massage. Tracy was my masseuse and she was fantastic.
I came out of there totally relaxed and nearly nodded off at one point, she was that good.

Overall, I could only find fault with one thing: the inner doors to the kitchen need oiling !

I thoroughly recommend the Hallmark and will definitely be back to visit again soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rigger67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed in executive room which was ok but not great. Room was smaller, they advertise a couch on the website but ours didn't have one.
The bathroom was not up to standard. Shower was very weak and it took ages to get hot water in the evenings. We had to let the water run for at least 20-30minutes before the hot water came through. Toilet was uncomfortable to sit in because it was wedged in a corner.
Bed was squeaky and a bit too soft.
Having said that, the tv was of good size. We got given bathrobes, slippers and biscuits which was nice.
Spa was very nice. Yes the changing rooms were small but luckily I was the only girl in there whenever I went so I can't complain. Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and swimming pool were awesome! Aromatherapy room ok but terribly dark.
Had dinner in the brasserie downstairs - food was delicious.
Overall I had a good time. But I would probably not stay here again because it's not worth the money, or I would get a standard room at best. Although it did look like they were working on renovating some rooms so maybe it'll be worth going in a few months or so.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christyk1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perrott, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had a great spa day at the Hallmark Hotel today wth my sister followed by afternoon tea .
staff were friendly , hotel was clean and the afternoon tea huge .
would visit again , hopefully soon

Room Tip: didn't stay in the rooms just used the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I'm very hard to please and am not scared of complaining if something is not up to scratch (see my other reviews, haha!!) so, having read some other reviews here, was a bit worried about what my friend and I might find at the Hallmark Hotel Bournmouth. The package was a bargain though with treatments, dinner and breakfast included so we decided to risk it!
My best friend and I fancied some r&r so booked the mid-week spa break option.
When we arrived, there was ample free parking and were impressed with the smart reception area. Upon check in, we were informed that our rooms had both been upgraded, free of charge! Fantastic! The hotel reception staff were happy and friendly and couldn't have been more professional and helpful. They gave us directions to the beautiful waterfront 5 mins walk away and booked us a cab the following evening into neighbouring Sandbanks.
My room (12) was spacious, light, spotlessly clean and immaculatly tidy. The stuffed 'guard dog' Jessie was a nice touch and tea, coffee, cookies, slippers and robe appreciated.
Our second day consisted of 2 full hour-long treatments each (facial and mud wrap). The area was peaceful, clean and what one would expect of a health-spa environment. My beauty therapist Lisa was excellent. Chatty but not intrusively so, very knowledgeable and very good!
The pool and jacuzzi area spotless.
The food in the hotel brasserie was of a good standard and service was rapid. The breakfast buffet was well stocked and well varied.
Overall, I'm so glad I went here with an open mind as I was delighted with my stay here and would definitely recommend to others and return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzlerah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Lastminute, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing