We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best over-night stop ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife booked this hotel as part of an offer on "living Social". and used it as an overnight stop after taking our daughter back to Bournemouth. Our room was on the 2nd floor and at the end of the corridor, as a result it was very quite. The room was on the small side but was very clean and very comfortable. I would describe the decor as almost elegant, with the emphasis on almost, it has everything you would need for a short stay. On the down side, the shower was a bit weak probably because we were on the second floor, and the bed was made with blankets not a duvet.
We didn't try the spar, pool or bar because our stay was so short, maybe next time.
All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was exceptional, the only possible improvement could have been warmer plates. We arrived late in the evening, very tired and very stressed. We went home refreshed and relaxed. Would we stay again? I'm not sure, at the full price, but if an offer came up again, definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us in January, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Hopefully when you visit us again you will have the time to enjoy our leisure and Spa facilities, in the meantime I can confirm that the comments you have raised with regards to the plates and water pressure is being addressed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have to say that it was quite disorganised from the word go. But putting that aside, the evening itself was poor.

Firstly, we had a gluten allergy and a nut allergy in our party, of which you were made aware of several times. However, when our allergy sufferer enquired on arrival just to check all was OK, she was told they knew nothing about it.

So we were seated in the second function room past the bar. Expecting wine on the table as previously confirmed, it was not there and we had to ask for it half way through dinner as we could see it was not coming. The 'cocktail' in the middle of the table was very watery and did not taste very nice. We received our starters which were OK, except the 'gluten free' version never arrived!!

Following this, our mains arrived. Cold, undercooked and unseasoned. And the gluten free? Never arrived. The waitress Katrina looked after her very well, apologising, and after raising the situation with the manager (male), who appeared to shrug it off, she personally saw to it that our allergy sufferer got a main meal. This arrived roughly ten minutes after every ones else's and was chicken and mash - not quite the roast turkey dinner which had been ordered, and confirmed that it would be suitable by Donya.

Myself and another colleague had the goats cheese pastry - again this was undercooked. None of us enjoyed our main meals.

So dessert arrives, Katrina manages to sort out a sorbet for our gluten sufferer. The cheesecake was not very nice, not much like cheesecake apart from the biscuit base. Again, everyone felt that the food had been chucked together without care or quality.

As a four star hotel we were expecting something a little bit special, but the food served would not have been acceptable even for a guesthouse. The Christmas tree in the function room was practically non existant, not the luxurious image which usually goes with a four star hotel. Had we been indivduals and not part of a group on a Christmas Party, the food would have been sent back and a refund would have been had. Myself and a couple of other colleagues, including the driver amongst us, suffered from an upset stomach the following day.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank rozren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you very much for your constructive comments, and may I firstly apologise for the issues that you encountered both in the planning and day of your event. Unfortunately I have only recently taken over the general management of the hotel, however I have fed back your comments in our recent Christmas review meeting to prevent any further occurrences during not only this years festive season, but all our banqueting events in the future. I would be grateful if you would please contact me in the hotel as we do value your business and I would like to discuss further your points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was comfortable to stay in. The price was good. However it didn't live up to the standard of other similarly starred hotels that I have stayed in. It is a bit tired in areas, needs a bit of a refurbish. The staff were friendly and I found the bar to be good. Not sure about the spa as I didn't go there. Location is good. Car park is a little too small so I didn't park there as there was no room. But there was plenty on a road around the corner so it wasn't a problem. I will visit again, because it was good value and I can't fault the nights' sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr33nGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for the balanced review, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit. There is another car park on site, one on either side of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hallmark Bournemouth again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Hallmark hotel 27th december for one night. The room was small but had everything you needed. The spa was lovely and staff attentive to our needs. We had a massage after a lovely breakfast the following morning. After reading reviews before coming I was really worried but we had a lovely night away and would return. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for the balanced and helpful review, we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your constructive feedback. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I bought a voucher to use the Spa and pool, wish I had not. Both upstairs and downstairs pools were dirty, sand or dead skin clearly visible on the bottom. Upstairs changing rooms have mould on wall and a terrible smell. Downstairs is mood lite so you cannot see if clean. It was like this on all 3 occasions that I visited and jacuzzi not working on 2 out of 3 visits.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Dawnie712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

I hope you will contact me directly to discuss. Our Spa is very busy, however we have set standards for cleanliness that should have negated the issues you encountered, apologies if this was not the case on any of your visits.

Daniel Graham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed at the Hallmark for a short get away. The spa is lovely with a small swimming pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna etc and it's really nicely decorated. As you walk in the reception is nice and modern but as you get further into the hotel it starts to show it's age. I stayed in room 28. The decor was nice, but the view over the flat roof and air conditioning units wasn't great. There was no towel rail in the bathroom so we had to use the radiators, also the fan on the ceiling didn't seem to work which was a shame because the whole hotel was very hot. The receptionist that was there whilst we were staying was extremely helpful, and nice and chatty. Overall though I would visit again purely because of the excellent spa, despite the average room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for the balanced and helpful feedback, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We had a lovely night at this Hotel. We booked a deal through Living Social for £59.00 for the two of us. This deal included a Tapas in the early evening and a full English Breakfast also full use of the Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Swimming Pools etc.,

The hotel is perfectly situated to walk into Bournemouth town centre, a steady 10 minutes and you are right in the Square with shops to look at most of the way down. It is all uphill coming back but it was fine for us, just took a little longer.

The hotel is rather tired in some parts, but alot of money has already been spent to bring it up to date. Our room was a bit on the small size, but perfectly adequate for one night. Tea and coffee making facilities in our room, plus small selection of toileteries in the bathroom.

The Tapas was lovely, just enough to set us on our walk for the night before eating dinner later.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice.

I do not think we would pay their regular prices to stay here, but on a special offer would definately do it again.

In all a very good night away from home

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel G, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for he constructive and well balanced feedback We hope you will be back to see us again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bournemouth
Hilton Bournemouth
#15 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing