We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #46 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
wiltshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Handy location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here in early Feb after being given a voucher as a Christmas present. Check-in was quick and easy with friendly service. Room was nice and large with huge bay windows, bed was comfortable and plenty of hot water but the decor is definitely in need of a refresh not just in the room but in the corridors, stairs etc. It didn't help that the voile curtains over the window were ripped slightly adding to the tiredness of the decor in the room. The reception area is nicely decorated and the bar area looked ok when we went for breakfast but I can't comment on the pool/spa as we didn't use it. Unfortunately our breakfast buffet had cold sausages and bacon which wasn't that pleasant and there wasn't enough food for the amount of people who were having breakfast, it seemed to take ages for dishes to be refilled.

The hotel is in a good location and it didn't take us long to walk in and out of the center so it was really handy from that aspect. All in all the stay was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am glad that the location fitted in with your plans for your break. Being only a 5 minute walk from the beach and a 10 minute walk into the shopping centre we really are ideally placed for most activities.

I have passed your comments onto the Chef so that he can relook at his delivery and service procedure for busy weekend stays to ensure that all waits are kept to a minimum. We endeavour to not run out of items on the buffet, however when we do and there is a delay it is due to the items being cooked fresh and I apologise if this did take too long.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    413
    435
    267
    244
See reviews for
217
820
41
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed in the Hallmark for one night, as we needed somewhere close to Poole harbour that would take our 3 dogs. They have a rule of 2 dogs per room (fair enough) so we booked two rooms- both of which were clean, although a bit tired, and situated on the first floor, so not too far to take dogs outside. The staff were so attentive and helpful and made every effort to ensure we had a pleasant stay. We did not eat in the restaurant, but the bar snacks menu was varied and the food very good.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bernies-Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and from one dog lover to another, it is great to hear that guests appreciate our philosophy in allowing pet owners to enjoy their time away in a four star hotel without leaving family members behind. I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a spa voucher and thought we would make a weekend of it and book a room. Pictures looked lovely on website. Used spa facilities which were very busy. Jacuzzi small and looks tired (pillars are crumbling away) steam/sauna room also busy. Some lightbulbs not working in this area, didn't see floor being mopped any time we were in there resulting in muddy floors. Service throughout hotel excellent young man on reception very friendly as our the spa receptionists. Our room was most certainly not what we had expected from a 4* (infact premier inn was cleaner and a fraction if the price!). Kettle was full of lime scale, room book advises of thermostat in room for temp (this meant thermostat for radiator which wasn't turned on till 7pm by mains), bathroom has a very old towel rail which stated it can get very hot (didn't even come on during our stay!). Blankets on beds had marks on and found a hair on bed sheet. Deco in room very tired looking dirty in some places.
When ur in your room you can hear everyone else in theirs, no soundproofing as heard banging doors most of the night. Lift very old fashioned and judders when in use. Very overpriced drinks at bar. When we checked out was not asked about feedback or comment forms. Would not recommend this hotel to stay at and definitely would not use again, very poor for the money we spent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time give feedback on your recent stay and I am sorry that your stay was not to our usual standard. All hotel rooms are checked by the Head Housekeeper to ensure that the rooms are ready for guests to check into and it seems on this ocassion this check was not sufficient to which I apologise and action in addition to the checking procedure will be reviewed to ensure that such occurences dont happen again. Due to the make up of the hotel, being very old buildings a couple of the bedrooms have in the past had issues concerning noise however this is very limited.

The Spa at the hotel is very popular with both guests and local members and I am sorry that you did not get to use the excellent facilities in this area. I do hope that you will return to the hotel so that you will give us the opportunity to reverse your opion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We had a gorgeous couple of days in Bournemouth for my Birthday. The hotel was clean, swish and the staff were all very friendly. We had a voucher deal type thing, and were very pleased with the value for money from that.
The room was clean, well decored and quiet, with all the facilities you'd need.
We had a 'tapas' with our voucher, which was a bit tokenary, but a nice enough appetiser. Drinks at the bar were very expensive.
Breakfast was good - the usual hotel version with things sitting under the heated lights waiting for you, so not exactly fresh, but a good variety of options.
The spa and sauna bit were very good, relaxing, again with lots of options - aromatherapy room, sauna, steam, two jacuzzis.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff made us feel very welcome..

Room Tip: There was weird humming noise outside our window - Room 28 - but it went off at night:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on customer service and satisfaction and it is very rewarding for the staff to hear such lovely comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed over at the weekend and had the romantic package and the price was fabulous for what we got the spa was great clean and relaxing atmosphere the rooms were clean light and well presented and the food is highly recommended. Great choices didnt have to wait to long between courses tasted fantastic. Breakfast again the same. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. This is my second stay here and i will continue to stay here in future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fayelouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for you wonderful feedback from your recent stay and I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit. You will see on your future visits, a number of improvements in the hotel, especially our new spa treatment rooms which are currently under refurbishment and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We were looking forward to a spa and afternoon tea booked as an offer. While the spa was ok - if a bit tired round the edges - the afternoon tea was absolutely terrible. The sandwiches were not fresh and cakes were dry and damp all at the same time. They were cold and wet as though they'd been defrosted. It wasn't so much an afternoon tea as some leftovers served with drinks. It's a bit disappointing really as we had been looking forward to it and it was not good at all.
I did email the hotel and the manager who replied said they were busy (fair enough, but broken showers aren't about being busy are they ?) He also assured me that the cakes are made fresh - clearly he hasn't tried them. I'd be ashamed to admit to making those.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rabbitface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry that your recent visit was not as you would expect from a 4 star hotel. I have recently taken over the management of the hotel and can only apologise for the comments made as a result of your communication to us. Our Spa treatment area has just started a full refurbishment and I do hope that you will take the opportunity to revisit in the near future.

With regards to your afternoon experience, my sincere apologies that this was not up to standard. We pride ourselves on our excellent afternoon teas in addition to all our food service and would be grateful if you would contact me directly to discuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Arrived and received good service, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Disappointed with our room as was very small, paint was peeling off walls, plaster showing, holes in the wall. The shower and bath had extremely slow running water so impossible to shower in. The room didn't feel at all like we were in a 4 star hotel. We ordered breakfast to our room in the morning which was cold on arrival and at £10 per head plus room service charges was very disappointing as it was supposed me a luxury. The spa facilities were nice but again very run down and in need of some maintenance and care. Not as nice as it looked in pictures.
All in all I wouldn't expect this hotel to be 4 star and have stayed in nicer 3 star hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliseKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you for your recent review and I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

We have reviewed the room that you stayed in and apologise for the maintenance issues, these are now in the process of being rectified in addition to our continuous refurbishment programme which is ongoing.

We have also just started a full refurbishment of the spa treatment area, all of which will be clearly evident on your next visit. Your stay was clearly not up to our usual high standard for which I apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#15 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. We also offer very good WIFI, and free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing