We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Was treated for a spa weekend for my birthday and had a lovely break at hallmark Bournemouth. Staff were very friendly, breakfasts were wonderful, room quiet and comfy. No problems with water pressure in our room. Some of the spa area could do with a bit of TLC but it had suffered from flooding and staff did their best to not let this affect the customers. I would definitely retur.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review and I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, and hopefully you will take advantage of our newly refurbished Spa treatment rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    438
    450
    279
    257
See reviews for
239
857
48
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night and would have been better at Premier Inn. Bathroom was poor - the bath taps didn't work and we had to fill the bath using the shower head which took forever. Water pressure was low and sink was tiny so had problems filling kettle. Tiles were tired and grubby. Bath enamel had been chipped and come away in some areas. The bedroom radiator didn't work but leaked water so items left by radiator were soaked next morning. Was in need of painting as ceiling and walls had large yellow patches. Windows were full of condensation on inside in morning and room felt damp. The hotel lift only went to third floor but our friends room was on fourth up a set of steep stairs not ideal for somebody with leg and hip problems. Staff were friendly and helpful though and were able to accommodate a change of room. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice if not very hot. Overall wouldn't recommend this hotel and wouldn't stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pjkj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us and I am disppointed to hear that you would neither return nor recommend us in the future. We have an ongoing internal refurbishment programme within the hotel and such issues as you have raised are being rectified however I am sure you can appreciate the difficulties of dealing with such an old building.

I do hope that you will visit us and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited having received a spa day plus afternoon tea. We spend most of the morning in the spa before visiting the bar for our afternoon tea. This comprised or 8 small sandwiches, 4 scones and 4 small slices of cake plus jam and cream and a choice of tea or coffee. After our afternoon tea we returned to the spa for another blast in the bubbles before leaving at approx half four. The spa was very busy in the afternoon with hen parties and couples. This aside, we had no problems using the facilities we selected. My wife and I had no treatments. As a side, I would say the spa is looking a little tired in places and would benefit from some TLC in places. I believe the venue has suffered somewhat recently from flooding in places. My only real grumble would be the temperature of the spa pool, it was a little chilly. Oh and £3.50 for a coffee! Take your own drinks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank djcarlos2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay and I am pleased that on the whole you had a very enjoyable experience with us.

As you say we have had a small amount of damage following the recent flooding in the area and following this we are now in the process of refurbishing our Spa treatment rooms and reception area.

I will certainly pass your comments on to the Leisure Manager who will look into the temperature of the Spa pool to ensure that it is at the correct temperature.

I do hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and maybe take the opportunity to use our Spa treatment facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a two night deal with dinner on second night. Room basic but clean and comfortable. Bathroom very clean but shower was like a trickle. Good breakfast and dinner was really excellent on 2nd night. They have two pools. Spa area very small and only 1 shower so not good for groups. We had mini facials and the treatments were good. Hotel is near bus stop on big roundabout to town. Great bus service. 20mins walk to seafront. Taxis are very reasonable but not that many restaurants in town. Great shops. I have been to Bournemouth many times and never get bored with it !

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay and I am glad that you enjoyed using all the facilities at the hotel. I do hope that you will visit us again and next time try our new Afternoon Tea concept...coming soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

After reading some of the previous reviews we were a little apprehensive about our planned spa break. We had no reason to be !
The hotel is excellent value and from the moment we arrived we were given such friendly and hospitable service that we were totally relaxed which was what the trip was intended for.
Rich and Jamie the young lads in the Health club were amazing. They explained everything and apologised for the current renovations that are taking place. There really was no need to as we can only see that this will improve what is already highly acceptable.
The restaurant was clean relaxing and we had excellent food and service.
We will definitely be staying here again and will be recommending to our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay with us and as we invest most of our time and money into the training and development of our staff to ensure that they are our best asset, it is great to see and hear that this pays off.

I will ensure that both Rik and Jamie are made aware of the service and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean warm and comfortable. Good good with good service in the restaurant both at breakfast and dinner.
One point though, booked two weeks prior and asked to book some spa treatments however were told none available.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tempestman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank for your kind review about your recent stay with us. I am truly sorry that you were unable to experience our fabulous spa facility, we do get very booked up and treatments at a weekend can be rare with such short notice, however we are in the process of increasing our resources with longer opening hours and therefore making our great facilities available to a wider audience.

I do hope you will return and enjoy our relaxing spa experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here in early Feb after being given a voucher as a Christmas present. Check-in was quick and easy with friendly service. Room was nice and large with huge bay windows, bed was comfortable and plenty of hot water but the decor is definitely in need of a refresh not just in the room but in the corridors, stairs etc. It didn't help that the voile curtains over the window were ripped slightly adding to the tiredness of the decor in the room. The reception area is nicely decorated and the bar area looked ok when we went for breakfast but I can't comment on the pool/spa as we didn't use it. Unfortunately our breakfast buffet had cold sausages and bacon which wasn't that pleasant and there wasn't enough food for the amount of people who were having breakfast, it seemed to take ages for dishes to be refilled.

The hotel is in a good location and it didn't take us long to walk in and out of the center so it was really handy from that aspect. All in all the stay was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am glad that the location fitted in with your plans for your break. Being only a 5 minute walk from the beach and a 10 minute walk into the shopping centre we really are ideally placed for most activities.

I have passed your comments onto the Chef so that he can relook at his delivery and service procedure for busy weekend stays to ensure that all waits are kept to a minimum. We endeavour to not run out of items on the buffet, however when we do and there is a delay it is due to the items being cooked fresh and I apologise if this did take too long.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing