We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good turn around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have been here before and were left disappointed but enjoyed the location so we returned on Sunday and were shown to a nice room on the third floor. We have commented about the one, small lift before and both myself and partner struggle with stairs but were happy enough with the room. We went out for a few hours and on our return found the lift out of order. We mentioned this to the duty manager, Katherine, who then spent time looking for an alternative room and showed us two rooms which were a little dark and dingy so having asked about the repair of the lift we were told an engineer would be out in the morning. An hour later Katherine informed us another room, 200 on the ground floor had been found by Christopher so we looked at this and moved to that room which was a very pleasant room. The decor in some parts is dated but the staff on the whole were friendly and helpful . I can not praise Katherine enough for all she did for us and I think she is your finest asset and recommend you hold onto her.
We visit Bournemouth often and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 66 and 200 were both good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Shabby, tired decor and in need of a refurb. Room was small with ugly view of the rubbish bins below. Couldn't use the spa facilities for the first two days because there were no towels or robes available due to a problem with the laundry. Would have left on arrival but there were no other hotels. We were offered a bottle of champagne as compensation which was then sent to the wrong room! The only thing this hotel does well is compensation and they can't even get that right!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeymourKelleher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am sorry that you felt your were unable to take advantage of our spa facilities. Unfortunately we did have an issue with our laundry provider which meant that we were left short on dressing gowns, an issue which we appreciate was not acceptable and has now been rectified.
Unfortunately we also failed on this occasion to rectify the complaint and exacerbated the issue for which I apologise and can assure you this attention to detail has been discussed with the people concerned.
I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the hotel in the near future and please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was a little worried after reading some of these reviews but I needn't have been. I think its fair to say that there are areas of this hotel that need a refurb. The hallways have interesting carpet which I don't think would be good if you had a hangover and the spa's changing room is looking tired and is very cramped. Also there was a problem with condensation in our room which I think was leading to a small area of mould growing on the windowsill. But overall our room had a modern look and was enough space for two of us to relax. The room was clean and beds comfortable. To improve the room even more they need to change the nets and curtains to something more modern!! We had an afternoon tea when we arrived which was yummy as was the buffet breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and accommodating especially as we had to delay our afternoon tea as we got stuck in traffic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily_Dye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have enjoyed a massage before in an hotel, but the Neck, Shoulder & Back massage given by Sophie in the spa treatment room at this hotel was the best I have ever had. Sophie was so professional and polite, as were all the staff there.
We were very happy with the Hotel and staff. ---L & S Somerset

Room Tip: There is only one lift in this hotel and it is kept busy. Try to be on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenny Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your lovely review concerning your recent visit to the Spa, I will of course pass on your comments to Sophie. As you may be aware we are currently totally refurbishing our spa treatment area, this should be completed shortly to a very high standard and please keep an eye open for the great offers that we have available throughout the summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

shocking room, very very small in desperate need of decoration, felt unclean. Fortunatly only one night would not stay any longer! The newer part might be nice but my room (103) up two flights of stairs. There will be hotels in town.

2  Thank andy654
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your time with us. As I am sure you can appreciate from the style and age of the building that we have, all our rooms differ considerably in size and with the ongoing refurbishment in place internally, we are constantly improving these areas.
I am please to read your comment about the staff that we have as they are our best asset and a great deal of time an effort is put into the team to ensure that they deliver excellent service.
I do hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future so that we may restore your faith and please feel free to request any specific room when you book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have stayed in Hallmark hotels before, so my partner and I were expecting a peaceful luxurious break away from our young children.

Unfortunately we had a very bad nights sleep as we were given room number 93. This room was very basic and in need of a bit of paint and a new mattress on the bed. However the problem was that we could hear the loud movements of the lift (which was just below us), this woke us up extremely early.
We did mention this at reception when checking out, but the young man on reception wasn't keen to discuss it, and he seemed to want to hide it from another member of staff that asked him if everything was ok.

The breakfast was really lovely, but we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your review and I am sorry for the noise that you encountered from our lift during your stay. It is very disappointing that you have chosen not to stay at the hotel again as the large majority of our rooms are very peaceful and with the ongoing refurbishment that we have in the hotel I am sure you would have a restful stay.
I am pleased to hear your comments with regards to breakfast as we have spent considerable time getting the breakfast concept right.
I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith and visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Six of us went for a spa break.
It was a really good deal, which included 3 course evening meal, breakfast and a spa treatment. Unlimited access to the pool area.
This was superb value for money.
The meals had a wide choice of variety and were delicious.
All staff were friendly and welcoming.
Could not fault it and will be back.

Room Tip: Room 69 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review and I am glad that you all enjoyed the hotel and the facilities we offer. As I am sure you are aware our Spa treatment area is currently being refurbished and I do hope you will return to see the completed area along with other new packages that we are putting together...keep an eye on our special offers page on the website as there are some great deals coming up, the 'Girls Night In' is a very popular package for groups wanting to spend quality time together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £41 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing