We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #44 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was not in my intention to write a bad review. However, after being ignored by the hotel staff I feel this is the only way of showing my disappointment.
I would not complaint about old décor, dark corridors and hot room if only the areas would be clean!
As soon as I checked in to the room 84 I noticed that toilet was not cleaned, bedroom bin was filthy, bedroom mirror full of smears, blood marks on bathroom mirror and bed linen was not changed (full of hairs from previous guest)!
I contacted the reception and requested housekeeping service as above-mentioned faults were found by me and it was absolutely unacceptable.

After returning to the room I noticed that bed linen was changed and toilet cleaned. However, no one bothered to clean mirrors and bedroom bin (even though I left it on the stool so they can see it). As it was late I decided to wait until next day and see if housekeeping will pick up on these while cleaning the room.
Unfortunately, after returning to my room this afternoon I noticed that none of mentioned has been cleaned... Speechless.

Also, it would be beneficial is someone could check the cleanliness of public areas from time to time. Not vacuumed lobby carpet and thick dust in the lift ruins the first impression.

On top of all these there is no way to connect to the internet. I mentioned it to the reception staff on few occasions and still nothing has been done. Only thing I was told was ''it is not the first time we are having problems with the router''.

The most disappointed thing about my stay is that no one even bother to apologize for any of issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ania_Sup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    455
    464
    287
    257
See reviews for
253
880
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Very clean rooms and great position.
Helpful and friendly staff thank you for making our short stay so good.
We will definitely be back soon to make use of all your spa facilities they looked epic.
Thank you

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was probably my third or fourth time here on business and I've always found the hotel to be OK. On this occasion, though, it just didn't seem to gel.

Firstly, the car park is always full. I am convinced local residents use it as no matter what time I arrive, there is hardly ever a space. Check in was a slow process although the receptionist was clearly new, so perhaps forgivable.

The public areas are very nice - bright and light, with a feeling of space. But that stops when you go to your room. The (only) lift is an antique, the bedroom corridors dark, narrow and look like they've not been updated since the 50's.

My room was very small, but nevertheless comfortable and I slept OK.

I had dinner in the bar and I have the say the barman was totally disinterested. Couldn't remember where I was sat (in a bar with only a couple of tables occupied), didn't get the billing right, and ran out of one beer.

All in all, I might try elsewhere next time and would recommend you consider the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A friend and myself went to the spa for complimentary treatments given by a previous manager after a disastrous day at the spa last year. This time things were VERY different, the staff were lovely...very courteous and the treatments were excellent. I would recommend this hotel for Spa treatments based on our experience this time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMS148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

It was terrible, rooms dirty really hot and stuffy even with the windows open. It was grubby and lots of mould in the bathroom! no way a 4* it was a Christmas prezzie. It was a Virgin letter day. Shame as it looked ok from the outside and reception.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank clubmangt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked a room for one night in this hotel to coincide with a spa voucher received as a present. A four star rated hotel so expected a good stay.

Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. From the ground floor and bar, it looked pretty decent. However the room was another matter.

The first issue we had was with the noise. This was caused by the urgency of room doors closing and the wafer thin walls and ceiling allowing most of surrounding rooms noise through.

The room itself was tired but they have obviously tried to tidy it up. It could have done with a vacuum as there was dirt and dust in the carpet.

Turning to the bed, it had a mattress which had seen better days. The fact it dipped in the middle when we tried to sleep on it, led to an interesting nights sleep (or lack of it). Also it had a horrible stain on it, along with the bed linen. Not a nice surprise!

All in all, I don't think it can be classed as a four star on our experience. I have stayed In better three stars, so four is very generous. They do need to seriously look at the quality of rooms and beds.

On a positive note, the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank njt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay and I am sorry that the furniture in your room detracted from your stay. I can assure you that your comments have been passed on to the head housekeeper and we are in the process of ordering new mattresses and protectors.
Once again thank you for your feedback and I do hope that you will return in the near future to see the changes being made throughout the hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

So myself and my friend came along to experience a spa day and treatment. When we arrived it took a while to locate us and told to walk through, we weren't given any information about where to go. We wandered to the changing rooms. Good grief!The place was in such a bad way and the floors were wet. I then noticed the toilet was out of order so had to go up another floor to go to the toilet. My treatment was nice, but the place was being done up. To walk to the treatment room we has to walk past builders in our dressing gown. That is NOT acceptable. We found the aromatherapy room not working. The pool was cold. There was a hospital bed in the relaxation room! I also did not find it hygienic to sit on wet cloth from someone else. I made the most of my time as I was with. Friend but avoid this place if you can. We were then moved changing rooms to the end of the hotel as workmen had taken over our changing room. For a four star hotel it was shocking.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 138Maika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise A, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your spa day. The dressing gowns are optional for our spa guests to wear, with most prefering this to lounge around in both by the poolside and in the bar area.

We have just, today, finished the refurbishment in the spa treatment rooms, the aromatherapy room has not been out of order however this is not supposed to be similar to that of a sauna which alot of people make the mistake of.

The relaxation room is a darkened room so that is a relaxing and quiet area for guests to restreat to and has the loungers for that specific reason, however the bed that you have described as a 'hospital' bed is actually an electrically operated spa treatment bed.

I do hope that you will decide to return to the hotel in the near future to see the improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing