We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A promising start... some very nice public spaces, well proportioned and well furnished...

Reception greeting: severly limited by the lack of English speaking skills of the check-in staff.... which proved to be a regular theme running through the hotel. It did act in our favour when full afternoon tea arrived instead of the scones and cream ordered though. At other times it was infuriating.

A lift.... which looks like something from a bygone area, and has the lack of reliability that comes with great age...

A room which looks good but lacks modern standards... like still having blankets rather than duvets....

And non existent maintenance staff. We reported a phone that didnt work (the receiver wasnt even connected), and a ceiling fan that died part way through the stay. No one ever came to resolve the problems, and it appeared that no one cared.

And a German coach party that took over the hotel and seemed to think it was perfectly Ok to have a coach revving outside for 45 minutes at 7.45am in the morning.

Room Tip: Try one of the many other hotels in Bournemouth
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmw26_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,166 - 1,172 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

The public areas are bright and airy and nicely decorated, but go down the corridors and it is quite a different place.Dark and uninviting.The standard rooms have been updated to a low grade-very second-class.We stayed in room 28 with the outlook onto all the pipework and ventilation.The humming noise woke us early every morning.The temperature in the room varied from cold to hot and stuffy.
On the bright side, however,we did enjoy the breakfasts,good choice and plentiful.The staff were very pleasant,but on the whole a very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenys K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We found a deal for this hotel and booked without reading TripAdvisor reviews first. We then became concerned as there have been quite a few poor reviews in the last couple of months. With no option to cancel, we therefore lowered our expectations and kept our fingers crossed...

It was lovely! Several issues raised in some of the reviews we had read, for us, could be instantly dismissed:

Arriving late Friday afternoon, the car park was half empty. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. Check-in was quick and easy. The lift worked perfectly (every time!). The room was nice, modern, comfortable and in good decorative order - as were all communal areas, including carpets.

The only areas with any real decorative issues were in the changing rooms of the fitness centre and spa, with some apparent water damage/corrosion to a few walls or ceilings. We were also notified that the sauna was out of order. However, neither issue was of any hindrance to our enjoyment of the facilities.

The spa staff were very friendly and obliging. The spa pools/steam room/jacuzzi and other relaxation rooms were all good, with the mood set by lovely gentle ambient and colour change lighting. Perfect for a chill out and de-stress. The fitness centre pool and gym were also excellent.

All staff were very friendly and as helpful as they possibly could be. The room was very warm. (it was a very balmy 20+ degrees, mid May, outside) The heating didn't appear to be on in the hotel, radiators in our room were cold. We left open both our windows, and used the ceiling fan, but it was still too warm. We asked for a free standing fan, which was delivered to our room within 4 minutes, and the porter could not have been happier to help. The hotel really could benefit from air conditioning in the rooms. How warm must the rooms be in the height of summer?!

The breakfast was a nice cooked buffet, along with breads, pastries and cereals etc. Unfortunately, they ran out of yoghurt both mornings and the sausages weren't the best quality. The biggest issue was with the antiquated way they were keeping the hot food hot. They had trays with a couple of candles beneath. It was simply ineffective. Therefore, the food was luke warm at best, depending on how long it had been sitting out. It was a nice breakfast, but if they sort that out, it will be an impressive breakfast.

We were really very pleasantly surprised after reading the negative reviews, and had a great weekend stay. Hope to come back, and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindlou6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel just made mistake after mistake the whole weekend we were there. Five of us came for a Hen weekend, we picked a spa hotel hoping for a nice and relaxing weekend but unfortunately the hotel experience was far from it.
As mentioned above there were several mistakes but i will be here all day if i listed everything so i will just point out some of the worst cases.

1 - As soon as we arrived we encountered our first problem. The receptionist seemed to have trouble finding our booking. Over 20 minutes later we finally manged to book in. We went off to find our rooms, when we entered we found they had given us 2 double rooms despite our booking being for 2 twin rooms. The only thing they could offer us was an extra blanket. Which really is no help! Luckily we've all know each other for a long time and don't mind sharing a bed if there is no other option. But i can imagine it would be very awkward in other situations. Not only did they mess up with this, they also put the extra put up bed (because we asked to have one room for 3 people) in the smallest of rooms! common sense failed here clearly. Also they put us on complete opposite sides of the hotel, when booked we had asked for them to be near each other, and not only that when you book them together you assume they will be on the same floor at least.
Other problems with the rooms were, lack of cleaning, cold water, no robes or slippers supplied, and very tired decor with fixtures and fittings coming off the walls.

2 - Knowing that we wanted to treat our Bride-to-be we booked her a spa treatment. When we queried it with the hotel they said they had no record of it and it hadn't been booked, and now unfortunately the spa was fully booked. We understand completely that the remaining 4 of us couldn't get a spa treatment. We know that you can't expect to just walk into a spa and get treatments. Booking in advance is the way to go, usually, but clearly not here as we booked the bride's treatment 4 MONTHS in advance and she was still unable to get it. That is shocking. I know the friend who booked the hotel had been ringing for the last month to get confirmation but not surprisingly she never got to talk to anyone to check. They never offered any kind of compensation either. The staff just didn't seem bothered.

3 - When we came to check out we were told that we still owed money for one night. We'd apparently been charged 2 night for 1 room and 1 night for the other. Why did it not cross the receptionists mind to check this when we checked in? Why would you only pay for 1 night? especially the room with 3 of the group in. Nothing was mentioned or even hinted that we'd only part paid. Obviously we refused to pay, and the lady behind the counter keep insisting that we HAD to pay. Finally, and in front of several other customers, we had to explain what an awful experience we'd had and that this was just the icing on the cake. The lady then started saying how sorry she was, she 'had no words' to express her disappointment etc. She made a note on the invoice to pass onto her manager. Then she let us leave. We thought, finally, that the hotel had done something right. Until my friend checked her bank account a couple of days later and found that they had taken the money AFTER we left! Without her consent. The worst thing about all of this is how the woman behind the counter just let us leave under the impression they had wavered the payment. There was NO mention whatsoever that we would still need to make a payment. And that's shameful. There were 5 of us, it's not like we could have just disappeared before she had a chance to call us back. I think the hotel should be very ashamed of this, it's sneaky and morally wrong.

This hotel seriously needs to re-consider how it is run. The staff seem disinterested in everything and all our complaints were left unresolved.
It been over two weeks and we've still had no reply from an email sent by one of the group to the manager.

I'm not sure if they were having a bad weekend or what but it was an utter shambles throughout the hotel. We constantly heard other guests mentioning how their rooms had been messed up, that something hadn't been booked etc. it was just non-stop.

Definitely visit Bournemouth but choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gemmawho07 .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here last October and had a great time. So stayed again for a romantic one night break.
Pleasant hotel staff greeted us at reception and the hotel room was ready on arrival. However check in was a bit slow. Our room was a good size and bright, but the smell of damp was very strong as you entered. Clean and charming room, but spoiled by the damp smell.
The spa was ok, better last time. The Spa pool was colder than usual and had sand, quite a bit in areas at the bottom. Also disappointingly the sauna was not working, apparently it hadn't for the past 4 days.
The saviour of this break was the restaurant. Amazing food. The dinner was fantastic and the service from Chloe was outstanding. The breakfast as before was superb.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. We like this hotel a lot and find the staff very friendly. We will stay here again soon and hope the issues mentioned have been dealt with.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Having arranged to stay here for 1 night, which in my mind was enough, for my girlfriends birthday, we found on arrival to be told to come back in an hour as we arrived at 1pm. Once we got to our room we found it to be extremely hot. It must have been 27 - 28 degrees all day and all night. The ceiling fan made a noise when was on, it was so slow it didn't actually move any significant air which meant that we were literally sweating away in bed at 2am in the morning.

The house, Spa, Gym and restaurant staff were excellent but management were terrible and did not seem to find solutions to our problems. We had arranged for Cava to be waiting for us in the room but did not find it. Once we had raised it with the duty manager he said that unfortunately it had not been put on the system that we requested this even though i showed him the emails between me and the booking agent that actually worked in the hotel, a colleague which he even acknowledged he knew well. We were offered to chose a drink from the wine list and found that the Cava we were supposed to have they had run out of, so we then chose a white wine. We were under the assumption that this would not be charged to our room as there had been a mistake by the hotel, and as it was her birthday which they knew about because i had phoned in before we got there to say we were on the way and it was her birthday. We later found a charge of £20 odd charged to our room which we thought was just completely ridiculous. It wasn't the money that we were unhappy with paying as we would have happily paid for the Cava but as they had made numerous blunders along the way, it was out of principle and good customer service and respect that they should have offered something in return for their errors.

All in all, dinner was great, the spa was ok, gym was reasonable, room was hot, management don't know how to take responsibilities for the hotels mistakes.

Not a 4 Star Hotel

Room Tip: Bring your own air conditioning system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We were on a girly weekend away for a spa break. We were all really looking forward to it. We arrived to a small car park despite the fact that it said there was a huge car park online.
Our room was supposed to be an executive suit, however it was a usual room, which didn't have a sofa bed it was a camp bed. My friend who has a back problem decided to bring her fold up bed just encase the room was uncomfortable for her to sleep in so we packed away the bed provided and then used hers. Also in a room for 3 we had 1 set of towels 2 mugs & 2 glasses. When we mentioned it to reception who seemed a bit shocked that we should want more than that. We had also ordered a girls night in package which we had to go to reception to ask about. The staff looked like shocked like they didn't know the package. Then when we did get our package we realised we had no dvd player so couldn't watch the film. A maintenance man explained that the dvd player had been in our room the previous night, which it wasn't as were in that room. We were compensated with a free bottle of wine for not having the films.
My spa treatments were very good, Sophie was very nice & looked after me well. The gym was good but was a bit too hot for my friends. there also was no sauna.
Everything else about our hotel was okay. In future I would book up the treatments well in advance for the spa, but I don't think this hotel is worth 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emsh8944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.5 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £41 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing