We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for family wedding including reception.
Pleasant room on top floor with good views. Good room
specification and found bed very comfortable.
Excellent bathroom with shower over.
Facilities and spa were first rate and the swimming pool
looked good.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms may be difficult for elderly of disabled as narrow stairway to reach top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    438
    449
    279
    257
See reviews for
238
857
48
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

OK for a registered 4 start hotel this was more like a 2 star.
dear Hotel Manager, get yourself sorted.
the front of the hotel should be the first impression of the rest of the hotel,
4 out of the 5 lights lighting up the signage were broken with one hanging out of the wall.
the girl behind the reception desk was fantastic, I can't remember her name but she was super efficient. the rooms were OK and modern but the higher you go the hotter it became.
the Spa had a blow out in the steam room which then short circuited the showers, so hot and sweaty customers were coming out of the sauna and getting straight into the jacuzzi, not good...

Room Tip: book lower floors as it gets hotter the higher you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I tried the 'spa' this evening and it lived up to expectations - expectations set by other reviews. The steam room was steamy and well populated due to the sauna being out of order. The showers in the area were out of order too. The pool was cloudy with dirt and grit collecting in each corner. The jacuzzi was cold and taken out of order. The aromatherapy room smelled ok but was nothing special. I gave up and returned to the damp changing room to use the single working shower. One guy was hogging all the space so I had to finish getting dressed out in the main area. I left the hotel and went to the pub (Goat and Tricycle with 10 real beers on handpump)
There's so much more to say about the hotel in general. I'll give another update tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pxg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel as it was in a good location for the concert we were going to (at the BIC). I stayed here with my husband, and, as having stayed in a number of 4 star hotels, we felt this hotel fell short of the mark.

The bar and restaurant areas were very clean and comfortable. Good quality furniture, good decor, as you would expect in a 4 star hotel. Our room on the other hand was a huge disappointment. We were placed in room 91, lift to the third floor then up a small, narrow staircase into the very top of the building. The room itself was very small, although as we were there for one night only, the size of the room did not really matter. What did matter though was the shower. However hard we tried, we just could not get a constant temperature. In our opinion this shower was a danger, running boiling hot for a few minutes, followed by a few minutes of freezing cold water. The temperature was never constant, just kept changing between the too! Good job I was not showering my three year old in there! We paid £96 for our 1 night stay, plus breakfast at £19.90. We thought the room rate was very overpriced. £65-£80 would have been more like it. We also noted that the halls/landings were very dated (woodchip magnolia wallpaper), and in desperate need of a spruce up.

However, positively, the room, bathroom and public areas were all very clean (which I am a stickler for, so I was pleased about that). All the staff we met were friendly, helpful and seemed to enjoy their work. Mattress on the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, being of a top end buffet worth the money. We would consider staying again if we got a better room for our money.

Room Tip: Not a room in the attic. 91-94.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Booked three nights as a break and to attend concert at the BIC. First room was so musty but was moved in order to get access to Wi-Fi. Staff were all very good. Breakfast was one of the worst that I have ever had in a hotel: no yogurt, poor fruit salad, inedible fried egg, scrambled egg that was in danger of drowning in water

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy0475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for the weekend and found that the two days were enough, this had a lot to do with the very poor quality of the bed that I had- we requested that a third bed was put in the room and on arrival found it to be a camp bed!! This would have suited a child fine but us adults need a firm mattress and a bit of space! The rooms was also vey warm (to be honest this didn't bother me as I feel the cold) however many people would benefit from some kind of air conditioning though. The room we had needed updating and the shower ran between warm and cold with very little water pressure-much like I would expect to find in a caravan-not a four star hotel. Breakfast was the best part of the stay I found the quality of this was very good. I would not stay in this hotel again and would certainly not recommend it for a romantic getaway!! there seemed to be better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceMarieXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

In the interests of fair play I stayed here free of charge so feel responsible to make it clear that I am making these comments from the point of view as if I were a paying guest. However, as it was the result of a complaint about another hotel I feel I have the right to an opinion.

We arrived at the hotel very early and was told that we would be able to park in the car park if we needed to. However, as it was raining we were looking for something indoors. Which the receptionist was only too pleased to help us with.

When we returned later in the day, we were greeted by a welcoming and stylish reception area and a fairly prompt check in. However, that is where the good things ended...

We were told that we would need to take the lift and then a set of stairs. Nothing like feeling like a valued customer than being stuck in the 'loft!' When we did get up there the lift looked like it hadn't seen a paint brush until well before the hotel was originally opened! The same has to be said for the communal hallways. They were very dark and difficult to navigate.

When we got to the room it was nice enough. However, some of the final touches that would set this hotel apart from others just weren't there. I am talking tiny details but to my mind, this is that would make you stand out. Having said that we did get a good nights sleep and that's the main thing!

A special mention has to go to the macerator that woke anyone up who was staying on the same floor! Due to the fact that we were in the 'attic' the plumbing did not reach that far. It was clear that whatever chain this hotel was before they didn't use the attic for rooms, hence the need for another system. Every time a tap was turned on or the toilet was flushed this would spring into action waking up half of Bournemouth! Not a very nice touch to the 'overall experience' I have to say.

Anyways, onward and upwards, hopefully! We went for breakfast the next day and gave our room number. Whilst I was away from the table a waitress approached my wife and told her that we would need to pay for breakfast. When we repeated the room number to them and told them we were on a bed and breakfast stay there was no apology at all!

The breakfast was adequate, but not something I would have paid £9.95 for. Not when you have such a selection of cafes in Bournemouth. Having said that a lot of chain hotels seem to be charging this price now so I don't blame Hallmark.

I have to repeat again that this was a complementary stay so even I agree that I have very little to complain about. However, I feel that this website is about sharing opinions and I feel that paying guests should approach with caution!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing