We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, But run down and in need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, But run down and in need of TLC”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Slow service with poor variable food quality's. Thanks to people such as Victoria one of the waiting staff for great service with a smile.
Rooms aren't supplied with water without asking and only two cups given for a room of four. Also the lift was broken with over a week to fix making it hard to get bags and suitcases up and down with four flights of stairs to climb.

Overall great for a short stay but two nights max!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fastjam14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    429
    450
    274
    253
See reviews for
230
851
45
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were sent on a wild goose chase to find our room (improve room signage maybe?!) by a new member of staff which I could sympathise with but what I found despicable was how he was chastised by an idiot manager on front of us, in a misguided attempt to save face. A quick 'sorry about that' would have been much more appropriate. We also had prepaid but were asked to pay again. Luckily my husband had our receipt! We paid for an 'executive room' which is an absolute joke and a waste of money. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Pontyclun, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booking was wrong, no fans available, very little assistance from staff, overcharged took me 4 weeks to get my money back (as they advertised a no quibble price guarantee ) spoilt a surprise break that I had arranged for our anniversary

Room Tip: No a/c in any rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived on a Saturday night at 6.30pm for one night and left at 6.00am the Sunday morning and that was too long a stay. For starters the car park was full so we had to park on the street, the room was very small, very hot and covered in a variety of what looked like human and pet hairs on the bed, the dated bathroom with pealing paintwork around the whole window sill and walls was dirty and very under-equipped. We went to the bar/ restaurant for dinner which was very over priced and barely edible and had to be sent back, we were immediately offered a half price meal and a drink as I think this had been one of many complaints that day, while I was there 2 dishes from different tables were sent back. Whilst in the bar we noticed the very shabby pool and were glad we arrived late and didn't have time for a swim. All in all this hotel is NO WAY A 4* and should be re evaluated from pricing to hygiene.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurenjane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I visited this hotel for a second time with my sister.Our first visit earlier this year was so good we just had to go back.We requested the same room as we had before and was assured that we would get it.On arrival we found that we were allocated a room on the second floor, I should say, a suite to be fair, but sadly there was no lift and I cannot climb stairs due to painful knees. We had words about this as we were very disappointed that just didn't seem to be concerned that we didn't get the requested room.However, they did find us a ground floor room and waived the charge for our food.Although we were upset that they did not follow through on the assurance that we would have the room we requested, we still enjoyed our stay.I must point out that the staff are very friendly and the food is excellent.

Room Tip: Room 213 large with terrace facing outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelaghstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A girl friend and I stayed here for two nights and after having booked and read the reviews I contacted the hotel and the booking site to see if they would waive the cancelation fees which they wouldn't. So we were stuck with our choice. It is in a very convenient location for the town centre and beach and is only a few minutes walk from these. Parking not limitless but there does seem to be some on street parking too if stuck. we had been upgraded to an executive twin due to my concerns about staying here and when we walked in it was stifling. the heat was so intense! There were two windows one of which was a huge bay window with only ONE opening window. There was a desk fan and eventually we got the ceiling fan to work. When we returned from the spa the room felt cooler but on return to the room in the evening after dinner in town is was just as hot and unbearable. we had to strip all the cover off the bed to the sheets and there was a quilty mattress cover which once removed cooled the beds down a bit. The bathroom was in desperate need of refurbishment and the shower end had no non slip part so became lethal when showering. the shower itself was also disappointing as no power and when you have thick hair like me it's practically useless. We had bought a bar of chocolate to share and when we came back after dinner it was so soft we couldn't eat it. We asked on the first night for another desk top fan and eventually after many requests we received one on the second evening. Although our room had been cleaned (I think) there was only one set of towels replenished, no fresh glasses in bathroom or toiletries and they had left cleaning fluid bottle on side in bathroom that a child could have harmed themselves with! Reception just said Oh sorry!
Breakfast was good and the spa was ok but a bit tired overall. the Jacuzzi was probably a bit too hot though to stay in there comfortably. Staff were pleasant enough. On checking out I was surprised to discover that one night's payment had already been taken despite the terms of my booking. the staff made up some nonsense about the wrong booking, not good enough. if the hotel had a makeover the bathrooms and aircon installed then I might stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 15, executive room with lots of space. spa unlimited use which was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obankirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was expecting more given the cost per room in this hotel. Overall I was very disappointed and would not return. I understood the hotel had been refurbished but it seemed this was on a small budget. The bathroom had obviously been retiled etc but there was a large damp patch on the ceiling and light could be seen shining through the bath it was so thin. There was a wardrobe but no drawer space and the shelf in the wardrobe was too high for me to reach so I had to use the floor in the wardrobe to pile clothes on. The room was also incredibly hot. The ceiling fan had little effect. When we asked about additional fans we were told there werent any available. I tried to take my 12 month old swimming. The ladies changing room was swimming in water and a number of towels had just been left on the floor to try and soak some of it up but to no effect. There was nowhere for me to change my baby (I certainly couldnt lay him on the floor) and so I had to balance him on the slatted bench. He was not happy! When I then went to put him in the pool it was freezing cold and he only would have screamed if I had put him in (been there tried it before!). Therefore we didnt get to swim. In addition the towels we were told to take from the spa were dirty with something large and orange staining them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kangamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#23 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,388 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff

Property: Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
Address: 7 Durley Chine Road, Bournemouth BH2 5JS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#17 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hallmark Hotel West Cliff, Bournemouth is centrally located to the town being only ten minutes walk away, and only ten minutes walk to Durley chine which leads to seven miles of beautiful beaches. The hotel offers 83 rooms with comprehensive meeting and event space for up to 300 people. Leisure facilities include two pools, jacuzzi,steam room, sauna, gym and five beauty treatment rooms. Free high speed WIFI, car parking is available at a charge of £10 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bournemouth Hallmark Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing