We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 17 June 2011

I went to this hotel for 2 nights Sunday and Monday with my partner and had a good time, even tho at first we wondered exactly what we had booked due to all the motorised scooters lined up in the lobby!!
The hotel is clean and the food is plentiful and good. My only comments would be that it would have been nice to have had an english speaking member of staff in the restuarant as it wasnt obvious what you were supposed to do as no one told you, and the staff there were very young and not english. I felt sorry for the many elderly people in the hotel who must have been a bit confused . Also it would have been nice to have had a TV that had a good reception. We asked for an iron as we had an ironing board in the room but no iron and was informed by reception that there were not any irons available as people had stolen them!! Surely its not too hard to keep tabs on irons via room numbers and charge the room if it gets stolen?????

We are planning to return to Bournemmouth and probably stay here again.
Overall the hotel is in a good situation and a great place to have as a base.to explore Bournemouth .

Room Tip: Brittania website for silliest south coast deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding the food. Our Chef has been with us many years and has a lot of pride in the food she delivers.

I am sorry that you struggled with some of the language barriers. All our staff do speak English although and many of them are at college also learning.

I am embarrassed that the staff answered your request for an Iron in the way that she did. It is clear that we do not have enough stock and are in the process of replenishing these bedroom items as soon as we can.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back the The Heathlands in the future.
Kind Regards
Paula Mepham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    236
    229
    201
    274
See reviews for
160
422
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I used to stay at the Royal Bath, but feel the service has recently gone downhill, so decided to try another. The Heathlands was everything I expect from a good hotel, shall make a point of staying there in future, the staff were excellent, the manager herself, Ms. Mepham, was able to assist me on more than one occasion, nothing was too much trouble. thoroughly reccomended. Mr Taylor. Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodger_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
I am thrilled that we have been able to look after you, and that you plan to continue to stay at our hotel for your visits in the future.

Myself and the Team look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Kind regards
paula Mepham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Booked two rooms,one for myself and partner and one for my 18 year old daughter and friend for 4 nights commencing Whitsun bank holiday Monday
I booked it through Britannia hotels own site.Total cost was £234.00 ..... how cheap is that!!!!
Now if I had paid full price I may have complained about the creaky floorboards,dirty windows and old television with poor picture but no we just got on with having a cracking little break.Buffet breakfast set us up for day and rooms were clean.
This is the second year running that i have stayed here at Whitsun and will definitely be looking out for a similar deal next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petemc9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
I am so pleased that you returned to the hotel this year for your break. You must have seen some changes following the refurbishment at the hotel.

We are in the process of cleaning all our windows, and a full maintenance check on every room is highlighting those few rooms with creaky floorboards so we can stop them going forwards.

I hope to see you again for your break next year, and look forward to you returning to the hotel. Maybe you could visit in the beautiful smmer months this year also.

Kind regards
Paula Mepham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Lovely 3 star hotels, with some amazing rates, defenitly worth the stay!!!Lovely staff too, i still don't undersatand thoses grumpy guests who complained about this hotel...If you don't pay for 5 star hotel, don't expect a 5 star service!!!
Don't listen the complainers and give a go, you won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor looks like there are the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gisele32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind words about the team. We have some real stars and it is lovely when they have a mention.

As for our other guests copmments, this does help us to improve if we have failed to meet expectations, and I expect every guest to have a fabulous home from home experience no matter what the tarriff so this feedback is very valued.

We are looking into the floorboards to see how we can more secure these.

I hope that you will return to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Paula Mepham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We arrived in the Reception to see a number of people complaining about their rooms, wanting to move, etc. ,etc. We thought "Oh maybe this was a mistake." But our room (212) was a good size and perfectly adequate. We did not pay a lot - deal though Britannia Hotels own website and so we were not expecting 5* luxury.

It was clean(ish) and everything was there we needed. Breakfast was again perfectly OK, nothing special but value for money. It is 3 mins walk to the Eastcliff sea-front, which in the sunshine was very pretty and a 10min stroll along the sand to the centre of Bournemouth.

Summary; a budget hotel which was perfectly OK for a one night bed & breakfast stay - search out a deal online and pay a sensible price (or you may be disappointed).

Room Tip: Britannia Hotels Website - midweek room sale
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Heathlands. Our aim is to provide a home from home quality rpoduct for all our guests, and we are continuously working on improving the Hotel and team to offer a fantastic experience for every guest.

There are some room moves if we have coaches as many often like to be near one another or have a walk in shower, but as a rule the room moves are not due to the standard of the room.

I do hope that we can look forward to seeing you in the future where I am sure you will notice an even greater improvement in the hotel.

Kind Regards
Paula Mepham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We booked very last minute ( the night before) and got a great deal on Laterooms, it was excellent value for an executive room and we were able to take our little dog for £10 extra. On arrival we were surprised to see the car park was full but were able to park roadside from 5pm until 9am the following day and moved the car in the morning into the carpark once some people had checked out. It was a smooth check in with very polite and helpful staff. Our room (214) was huge, we were delighted not to be too cramped, especially as we had the pup with us. The room was clean and a nice firm bed, a little tatty and old fashioned but fine for the price. Only complaint of this room was the extremely squeaky floorboards!!! Very noisy and must have annoyed the people below!!!!
The cooked breakfast was not great but a good selection of yoghurts, fruits and warm crossiant made up for that. Bar snacks were very over priced and we were served stale bread for our sandwiches! errgh!!
In all, we would stay again but probably book room only and eat out in one of the many places in the town, theres loads!!!

Room Tip: Book executive room, it was only a little dearer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza8865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

If you expect the Ritz, you will be disappointed, but the hotel is clean and well decorated. Bar prices are at the lower end for the town and the house wine @ £9.99 is good value if not spectacular. The buffet style meals are adequate but you need to get your timing right for a fresh tray to be brought out.
TV sets in rooms need updating to flat screen, and some staff could benefit from a course in English.
Excellent value for money... Just £240 for 5 nights half board

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petercook100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

We have addressed the busy evening buffet times by staggering dining times for many guests, and we are refreshing trays of food more regularly throughout dinner to ensure freshness for everyone dining.

Unfortunately, the televisions have not been updated, but there has been a redecoration programme over the last few years, and we do hope that we will soon be able to update these.

To tackle some of the staffs English, we have set up a buddy system so they work more in pairs and can learn from their peers. We have already seen some improvement from taking this action.

Kind Regards
Paula Mepham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,812 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing