We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely 3 Star Hotel In Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just come back from a 2 day break away. After reading the reviews,i didnt really know what to expect. We arrived, parked the car, only to be greeted by a kid sticking his tongue out with his fingers stuck in his ears, at that point i though OMG,Looked around, instantly i relised it was a christening, screaming kids, bouncy castle. They were very loud to say the least.

Walked into the reception, its was spotless, greeted with smiles from the staff, very friendly, polite.

We were given room 214, its was very large, light and airy, with load of room, the bed looked a bit out of place and needed to be a king size. Floor boards were a bit creaky, bathroom very big. As this is an old building, the walls are thick and u cant here anybody in the next rooms.

The food in this hotel is excellent, pipeing hot at all times,Buffet style at breakfast and dinner. The menu is very good, a wide choice,being refilled quickly.

I am 46 and i felt young, there are a lot of elderly people that arrived on coaches, with wheels chairs, scooters and walking sticks.They did have a bad habit of reserving chairs in the bar areas, so u couldnt sit down anywhere without being told off!!!!!

They were on holiday with a 99p bar offer, so come 6pm, u had to battle ur way to bar. It was an eye opening, makes youngester of today look very well behaved!!! Im not joking either.
Please note the swimming pool is now a fish pond, it still looks very pretty.

This is a lovely hotel, all the staff are lovely and friendly, polite too.

A very short walk to the beaches and town centre, The hotel is in a quiet part of bournemouth.

There isnt a smoking room, so u have to smoke outside the front.

Parking in the front and at the back of the hotel, with plenty of room.

Internet can be used while on the ground floor and outside in the gardens

Room Tip: offers bar 99p 6pm to 9.30pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your recent review and feedback.

On arrival, it was a Christening at the hotel and hence the children and bouncy castle.

I am delighted that the staff greeted you warmly as they should have, and that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant. Our Chef has been with us many years and continuously has praise for her food. She is a real assett to the Hotel.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Paula Mepham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,047)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

889 - 895 of 1,047 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

I went to this hotel for 2 nights Sunday and Monday with my partner and had a good time, even tho at first we wondered exactly what we had booked due to all the motorised scooters lined up in the lobby!!
The hotel is clean and the food is plentiful and good. My only comments would be that it would have been nice to have had an english speaking member of staff in the restuarant as it wasnt obvious what you were supposed to do as no one told you, and the staff there were very young and not english. I felt sorry for the many elderly people in the hotel who must have been a bit confused . Also it would have been nice to have had a TV that had a good reception. We asked for an iron as we had an ironing board in the room but no iron and was informed by reception that there were not any irons available as people had stolen them!! Surely its not too hard to keep tabs on irons via room numbers and charge the room if it gets stolen?????

We are planning to return to Bournemmouth and probably stay here again.
Overall the hotel is in a good situation and a great place to have as a base.to explore Bournemouth .

Room Tip: Brittania website for silliest south coast deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding the food. Our Chef has been with us many years and has a lot of pride in the food she delivers.

I am sorry that you struggled with some of the language barriers. All our staff do speak English although and many of them are at college also learning.

I am embarrassed that the staff answered your request for an Iron in the way that she did. It is clear that we do not have enough stock and are in the process of replenishing these bedroom items as soon as we can.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back the The Heathlands in the future.
Kind Regards
Paula Mepham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I used to stay at the Royal Bath, but feel the service has recently gone downhill, so decided to try another. The Heathlands was everything I expect from a good hotel, shall make a point of staying there in future, the staff were excellent, the manager herself, Ms. Mepham, was able to assist me on more than one occasion, nothing was too much trouble. thoroughly reccomended. Mr Taylor. Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodger_taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

I am thrilled that we have been able to look after you, and that you plan to continue to stay at our hotel for your visits in the future.

Myself and the Team look forward to welcoming you and your wife back in the near future.

Kind regards
paula Mepham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Booked two rooms,one for myself and partner and one for my 18 year old daughter and friend for 4 nights commencing Whitsun bank holiday Monday
I booked it through Britannia hotels own site.Total cost was £234.00 ..... how cheap is that!!!!
Now if I had paid full price I may have complained about the creaky floorboards,dirty windows and old television with poor picture but no we just got on with having a cracking little break.Buffet breakfast set us up for day and rooms were clean.
This is the second year running that i have stayed here at Whitsun and will definitely be looking out for a similar deal next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petemc9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

I am so pleased that you returned to the hotel this year for your break. You must have seen some changes following the refurbishment at the hotel.

We are in the process of cleaning all our windows, and a full maintenance check on every room is highlighting those few rooms with creaky floorboards so we can stop them going forwards.

I hope to see you again for your break next year, and look forward to you returning to the hotel. Maybe you could visit in the beautiful smmer months this year also.

Kind regards
Paula Mepham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Lovely 3 star hotels, with some amazing rates, defenitly worth the stay!!!Lovely staff too, i still don't undersatand thoses grumpy guests who complained about this hotel...If you don't pay for 5 star hotel, don't expect a 5 star service!!!
Don't listen the complainers and give a go, you won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: The 3rd floor looks like there are the best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gisele32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2011

Thank you for your comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the kind words about the team. We have some real stars and it is lovely when they have a mention.

As for our other guests copmments, this does help us to improve if we have failed to meet expectations, and I expect every guest to have a fabulous home from home experience no matter what the tarriff so this feedback is very valued.

We are looking into the floorboards to see how we can more secure these.

I hope that you will return to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards
Paula Mepham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We arrived in the Reception to see a number of people complaining about their rooms, wanting to move, etc. ,etc. We thought "Oh maybe this was a mistake." But our room (212) was a good size and perfectly adequate. We did not pay a lot - deal though Britannia Hotels own website and so we were not expecting 5* luxury.

It was clean(ish) and everything was there we needed. Breakfast was again perfectly OK, nothing special but value for money. It is 3 mins walk to the Eastcliff sea-front, which in the sunshine was very pretty and a 10min stroll along the sand to the centre of Bournemouth.

Summary; a budget hotel which was perfectly OK for a one night bed & breakfast stay - search out a deal online and pay a sensible price (or you may be disappointed).

Room Tip: Britannia Hotels Website - midweek room sale
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulamepham, General Manager at Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at The Heathlands. Our aim is to provide a home from home quality rpoduct for all our guests, and we are continuously working on improving the Hotel and team to offer a fantastic experience for every guest.

There are some room moves if we have coaches as many often like to be near one another or have a walk in shower, but as a rule the room moves are not due to the standard of the room.

I do hope that we can look forward to seeing you in the future where I am sure you will notice an even greater improvement in the hotel.

Kind Regards
Paula Mepham

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We booked very last minute ( the night before) and got a great deal on Laterooms, it was excellent value for an executive room and we were able to take our little dog for £10 extra. On arrival we were surprised to see the car park was full but were able to park roadside from 5pm until 9am the following day and moved the car in the morning into the carpark once some people had checked out. It was a smooth check in with very polite and helpful staff. Our room (214) was huge, we were delighted not to be too cramped, especially as we had the pup with us. The room was clean and a nice firm bed, a little tatty and old fashioned but fine for the price. Only complaint of this room was the extremely squeaky floorboards!!! Very noisy and must have annoyed the people below!!!!
The cooked breakfast was not great but a good selection of yoghurts, fruits and warm crossiant made up for that. Bar snacks were very over priced and we were served stale bread for our sandwiches! errgh!!
In all, we would stay again but probably book room only and eat out in one of the many places in the town, theres loads!!!

Room Tip: Book executive room, it was only a little dearer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kazza8865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#58 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,897 reviews
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#48 of 66 in Bournemouth
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £26 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing