We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in Bournemouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best value hotel in Bournemouth”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We took advantage of a Britannia Hotels' Special Offer and stayed at the Heathlands Hotel for Four nights. 11 -15th June 2012.
We arrived to be greeted by a very helpful Receptionist and were allocated Room 322. - a modern, spacious, bright room with a large, clean bathroom.
The meals, breakfast and evening dinner, were self-service and at all times the food and staff were excellent. - Yes there were the odd times when a short wait of a couple of minutes were needed while the staff replenished various items but this happens in every good buffet and ensures that the food laid on the buffet is fresh and hot.
Car-parking at £3 a day is an absolute bargain and I can't believe that other Reviewers are griping about it.
To summarise: You will not find accomodation anywhere in the South of England that comes anywhere near the value that the Brittania Hotel chain provides for what it charges.
Book with confidence. You wont get five-star treatment but then you aren't paying a five star price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    227
    217
    192
    260
See reviews for
152
402
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

booked three night 6th, 7th 8th june 2012. Admittedly £150 but its still money. First room offered was terrible, been to eastern europe and its bad by those standards. Double glazing units all blown so looked like frosted glass in all windows. Tiles placed on wall in bathroom no need to fix them obviously. Pity not into mould and fungi study.... would have been perfect. Got offered "executive" room as replacement, guess what I'd forgotten to pack? A wardrobe door how silly of me. Didn't realise had to bring your own. If you get the chance to stay here think twice then again and again then go somewhere else. The worst hotel I have ever visited, can't say stayed in because I didn't. I value my health too much

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is my third review for the heathlands , I feel you must give credit where due , the staff are always so helpful , good to see the same faces that I did last time , mostly a lady filled team which is great , I always look forward to my next trip . As always the food is fab , the main thing I miss from the heathlands is the swimming pool as I said previously , if your looking for a cheap , pleasant trip then go to this hotel , try it out .

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 227124Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

we were given the keys to a room of which the windows were so steamed up we couldnt see out, the bed was like rocks and the tiles in the bathroom were falling off...so we complianed and then we were given the keys to what we believe is the bridal suite and this was bliss.
We have stayed in this hotel before but sady the food is slipping. We had to wait for food to be filled and the choice was not great. You used to get coffee after the meal but this also seems to have vanished. However the breakfast was good and hotel staff are helpful. The setting is ideal for touring bournemouith and it is around a 20 minute walk to town. Lack of entertainment is also an issue but i belive you can use Brittania hotel just down road; you can also use their pool facilities as well for a fee. Overall it is basic accomadfation for the price and food is on par with school dinners. Almost forgot..they are now charging for parking at a rate of £3 a day, so this needs to be costed into the budget.

Room Tip: rooms at front of hotel are quieter than those at back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BargeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester,England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice location and attractive frontage to hotel. Unfortunately everything after that went downhill.
Check in time was 3pm but we had to wait untill 5pm. When we were allocated our room it was filthy and not serviced. Even the carpets were a disgrace! The previous occupants must have had 6 dogs! We waited a further 30 minutes for our room to be prerared for us. My wife wished to use the bathroom at which time she was horrified to find that she couldn't sit on the loo without burning herself on the hot radiator at the side of the toilet! The resident handyman couldn't turn the heat off and reception said other customers had problems with the rooms in that part of the hotel! We were eventually given another room. Additionally all the hotel food was terrible ! We ate in one night , it was awful slop ! Second morning breakfast no orange juice, only grapefruit juice which we hate ! Tea and cofee cold and undrinkable ! Beware Britannia Hotels, I think they are all slipping downhill rapidly !

Room Tip: Rooms without uncontrollable radiators are a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healerfred1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We booked last minute for a night away £40 for night we arrived 2 hours early to see if we could check in and we did they also upgraded our room.The room was clean and spacious, no frills but worth the money. The staff were very friendly and helpful the breakfast was good and you could go and help your self to what you want (we also heard people saying that they had a lovely evening meal too.) location of hotel is excellent there are also 2 other Britannia hotels near by one of which you can use the swimming pool,spa pool and sauna for a small fee which was really nice.Great for a last minute deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rox908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Jubilee weekend. Long stay with the wife and 7 month old son. Expectations were high.

The location of the hotel was fantasic, and easy enough to find from the train station (nice 15 minute walk). After paying for an executive suite, and advising we were bringing an infant, the room we were given was such a let down. The size was good - there was a double bed plus a single bed - but that's the only good thing I can say about it. Bathroom was small and dirty, with the worst toilet paper in the world! There were lots of drawers, but the doors were pretty much hanging off most of them. The TV was tiny, and randomly we could only get the 5 terrestrial stations plus ITV2.

The double bed had a single sheet on it, meaning it wouldn't tuck in either side of it. When we requested a double sheet the chambermaid left us to put it on ourselves...! Even then it had a strange brown stain on it...The duvet it self was a random size, not fitting in to the duvet cover. They had tucked the end of the duvet, which was hanging out of the cover, under the mattress. The heat in the room was terrible. We had to request a fan as our little boy was very red in the face! Very noisey at night as there was no double glazing, and the random disco lights in the pond flashed through the thin curtains. And there was a random banging door going on 24 hours a day.

Breakfast buffet was OK in terms of offering. But the milk constantly run out, as did the juice and glasses. They would bring out more glasses, but there'd be no juice. When you saw the juice was refilled, there were no glasses! Similar story with the tea and coffee - which was luke warm at best. The staff didn't clean tables as people left; the dirty plates were taken away but the tables were not cleaned or replenished for the next guest. If you were down near the end of breakfast you had to hunt out a table.

When we asked about the executive room we were told they were being refurbished...so not sure what we did actually get in the end.

Staff: on the whole very nice and friendly, especially the reception team and the barmaid. The large Eastern European chambermaid, however, was just scary and extremely rude. Say morning to her and you get a grunt and a cold long stare.

If you're going to Bournemouth with your partner or family, stay well clear of this place. If you're on a lads/girls weekend away (they say they don't accept stag or hen parties, even though there was a stag of 30 Welsh rugby players where we were there - made breakfast conversation interesting :) ) then this would be perfect.

£100 a night for what we got was down right disgraceful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#28 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,386 reviews
1.0 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing