We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blues weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #60 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our second Blues Weekend at this hotel. The hotel is close to the sea and the Bournemouth shops. Our room and bathroom were both clean and spacious, if dated. The hotel staff were very pleasant and efficient, especially in the dining room. The food is buffet style with two sittings and was regularly replenished. It was a basic menu, but there was a good choice each day. The entertainment was organised and managed by Monica Madgewick over three nights and was superb! The hotel is in need of updating and refurbishing, but this did not stop us from enjoying our weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

544 - 550 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

Okay, I booked a single room in this hotel.
1 - I got a single room which was more like a shoe box near the main stairs and lift. I spent 2mns in the room and asked to be changed as too noisy.
2 - My second room was a double on the side of the hotel. It was dirty with hair on the bed, bin not empty, dusty, and the water running from bathroom tap was yellow... It was also very cold.
And the wall was so thin that I could hear the couple next door having a great time - to put it politely.
3 - My third room was a family room. Large room, clean enough, warm, but above the entertainment area of the hotel...
This hotel needs to go down and rebuild as the site is very nice and close to the beach.

Room Tip: ask for the family room at the end of the corridor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierro_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Came to this hotel for a blues weekend with friends and were a bit concerned over other tripadvisor reviews. For the price we paid we had no complaints. Yes the hotel is dated and needs a lot of money spent to bring it up to standard but our rooms on the third floor were very clean, spacious, with modern bathrooms. Towels and linen were fine. Rooms were really warm as was the whole hotel. The food is buffet with full English breakfast, cereals, etc and was very good as were the evening meals with a choice of soup and salads to start and four mains to choose from and a selection of deserts and ice creams. Food is well cooked and hot. Staff are friendly and helpful. Reasonable bar prices with happy hours. Ample car parking on site. Hotel is central for the beach and shops and only a couple of pounds in a cab if you don't want to walk up the hill on the way back.

Room Tip: Rooms 322 and 314 are spacious.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I booked a discounted double room and all was OK, starting from heating, amenities, cleanliness, WiFi, location. I would recommend it for young couples and I'll turn back occasionally. That time I visited surrounding attractions and there are plenty!

Room Tip: They gave me a room form the first floor, interior yard side. Nothing to complain with.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My mother stayed here for weekend break last week (Dec 1st) with coach party group, she is born and bred in the area but moved away some years ago, so this was re-visiting her old haunts.

She said her room was dated and not very clean, the bed was rock hard and had a piece of chipboard underneath it, several days after returning from this trip her back is still bad, and is not moving that great, she is normally very active, walks every where etc. Parts fell of the shower, the blinds/curtain had black dirt on them, she said the room was generally dated and dirty.

She did say the food wasn't that bad though, not great, just ok.

She has put her complaint in writing, not sure if any thing will come of it, but her comment was to stay clear of this hotel until it is updated and modernized, she got the impression that it hand changed owners in the last fews weeks, maybe they will invest in their business.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fishface1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

So the pics look very grand and I'm sure back in the day it probably was......but 20+ years down the line and it stil stands in it's sorry state! Rooms are dated, beds are ridiculously hard (backache!) wallpaper peeling off, stained carpets, time warped bathroom, pointless shower and does resemble the Bella rosa from only fools! The buffet style breakfast was foul! Everything that dried up I couldn't physically eat it then get snotty looks from the waitress for leaving it!! 1.30am on the first night a fight broke out outside our room, nothing was done about it! Next day it started again at 8am I rang down and the police were brought in, maybe don't advertise a family hotel then let gangs of lads stay here!!
I wouldn't advise anyone to stay here and I certainly won't be again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rondajaynestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Really thought I had got bargain until I arrived. Decor is poor, couldn't even hang a picture. Cleanliness is awfull the dust is so old it won't even wipe off . The bathroom furniture is either cracked, mouldy, or rusty. The floor was on a slope. There was a odd sock in the corridor, and a PLASTER stuck a light. I could go on but I think you get the gist .

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matthewlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 67 in Bournemouth
400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 67 in Bournemouth
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £31 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing