We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The word "EXCELLENT" sums it up perfectly!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 16 January 2014

When I read some of the previous reviews I wonder if I was in the same place!.....My Wife & I found it to be clean and comfortable.....yes, it is a little old fashioned, but this enhances the general ambience. The staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. If you want a modern hotel without any soul suggest you try a Travel Lodge or a Premier Inn but if you want a proper hotel with a bit of style you will not do better than here.

The food is not of Michelin** standard (neither are the prices, which are extremely reasonable). The service is buffet style "help yourself" and at first glance looks a bit school-dinnerish or works-canteenish.....do not be put off, there is a really good selection, perfectly cooked and presented both for dinner and breakfast. I am a retired chef/restaurateur and found it difficult to find fault with anything! We enjoyed the gastronomic experience which added to the overall enjoyment of our stay.

To sum up all I can say is that if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Bournemouth and if you are looking for exceptional value THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a badly run and poorly decorated hotel. The rooms are sparse, even when extra is paid for "Deluxe" rooms. The bath had to be run for 45 mins to clear brown and rust filled water from it. The heating in the room did not work, it was freezing to the point of having to use the trouser press in an attempt to warm the room up. I requested to change rooms, but was told that there was no others available.

I am currently in the process of requesting a refund, which is a long and fruitless process so far. I have received just two responses in two months, one was a holding email and teh other offering a discount to stay again. STAY AGAIN!! Never!!

Room Tip: For a good room I would go to another hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WsM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am not going to write a lot as the xmas break was a bad experience in all aspects expect the food dirty room no atmosphere did not feel like xmas at all for the money we payed we expected a lot more. We would not be back went to the royal court hotel in coventry 2 years ago and that was very good I think that brittannia hotels want to improve the heathlands a lot it was a very poor break.
Mike from brecon

Room Tip: Woud not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We thought we were booking a better B & B room but what a total disgrace.
. The room was very dirty and obviously so on first glance!.
. The TV did not work!
. The bed had been changed to a smaller one not a problem but, the surround wallpaper was different for about a foot where a foot stall was placed for some strange reason as the bed was not high so did not warrant it.
. The tiles in the bathroom were broken or missing!
. The window was so bad that it let in the rain even though shut!
. The radiator did not work so a heater was in the room but it was not enough to keep out the cold or the drafts!
I could go on but there really is no point as I have written to their head office before and received no response as a result I will never stay in one of their accommodations ever again.
Please think very carefully before booking with this company its just not worth it.........

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just got back from Bournemouth from our christmas break.The weather wasn't very kind to us but we had a good time .The hotel was lovely as were the staff,so friendly nothing was too much bother for them .Food was buffet very good plenty of choice nice and hot as were the plates which isn't always the case in some hotels.Our room was ground floor and very spacious
comfortable beds, warm and clean, nice bathroom .The entertainment was first class games, quizzes, cabaret ,really well organised. Father Xmas got everybody into festive mood HoHoHo
Hope to go back in the summer as the garden looked really inviting ,but not for this time of the year. Well done everyone at Heathlands

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilyn020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel was welcoming friendly and practical,the food and service was much better than I expected as it was the venue for a Jive weekend and it topped the list of hotels booked for this reason.A little dated in places but our room was spacious, clean, amd well maintained would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Standard room was as good as executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomDurber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This was our second Blues Weekend at this hotel. The hotel is close to the sea and the Bournemouth shops. Our room and bathroom were both clean and spacious, if dated. The hotel staff were very pleasant and efficient, especially in the dining room. The food is buffet style with two sittings and was regularly replenished. It was a basic menu, but there was a good choice each day. The entertainment was organised and managed by Monica Madgewick over three nights and was superb! The hotel is in need of updating and refurbishing, but this did not stop us from enjoying our weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gem413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,932 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montague Hotel
Montague Hotel
#45 of 66 in Bournemouth
502 reviews
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 66 in Bournemouth
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £23 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing