We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt switch off the heater even in summer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Couldnt switch off the heater even in summer!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We were given a room on the ground floor with nice comfy king bed, only downside had to request for a fan as the heater was full blown and couldnt turn it off. As we stayed for a night, didnt make much fuss but would have requested another room otherwise. And this was in the summer!

Room very basic and some furnitures look old but adequate enough to serve our purpose to get a good night's sleep. Most importantly the room was clean.

We walked by the beach to get to Bournemouth town centre, took us 15 - 20 mins, but view was nice so did not mind

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaHafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    236
    229
    201
    273
See reviews for
160
421
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This is the worst place I have had the misfortune to stay in shame it was booked for me because had I known it was a Britania Hotel I would not have gone.
It was disgusting for the moment we left the main lobby. There really is nothing to say the room was so dirty and the repairs that needed doing the building really should be demolished..
Also charged for parking but had to park in the road.

Room Tip: Do Not Book This Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Letitia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Dorchester
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

When I read some of the previous reviews I wonder if I was in the same place!.....My Wife & I found it to be clean and comfortable.....yes, it is a little old fashioned, but this enhances the general ambience. The staff are friendly, helpful, and efficient. If you want a modern hotel without any soul suggest you try a Travel Lodge or a Premier Inn but if you want a proper hotel with a bit of style you will not do better than here.

The food is not of Michelin** standard (neither are the prices, which are extremely reasonable). The service is buffet style "help yourself" and at first glance looks a bit school-dinnerish or works-canteenish.....do not be put off, there is a really good selection, perfectly cooked and presented both for dinner and breakfast. I am a retired chef/restaurateur and found it difficult to find fault with anything! We enjoyed the gastronomic experience which added to the overall enjoyment of our stay.

To sum up all I can say is that if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Bournemouth and if you are looking for exceptional value THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnesDorchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is a badly run and poorly decorated hotel. The rooms are sparse, even when extra is paid for "Deluxe" rooms. The bath had to be run for 45 mins to clear brown and rust filled water from it. The heating in the room did not work, it was freezing to the point of having to use the trouser press in an attempt to warm the room up. I requested to change rooms, but was told that there was no others available.

I am currently in the process of requesting a refund, which is a long and fruitless process so far. I have received just two responses in two months, one was a holding email and teh other offering a discount to stay again. STAY AGAIN!! Never!!

Room Tip: For a good room I would go to another hotel all together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WsM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talgarth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I am not going to write a lot as the xmas break was a bad experience in all aspects expect the food dirty room no atmosphere did not feel like xmas at all for the money we payed we expected a lot more. We would not be back went to the royal court hotel in coventry 2 years ago and that was very good I think that brittannia hotels want to improve the heathlands a lot it was a very poor break.
Mike from brecon

Room Tip: Woud not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We thought we were booking a better B & B room but what a total disgrace.
. The room was very dirty and obviously so on first glance!.
. The TV did not work!
. The bed had been changed to a smaller one not a problem but, the surround wallpaper was different for about a foot where a foot stall was placed for some strange reason as the bed was not high so did not warrant it.
. The tiles in the bathroom were broken or missing!
. The window was so bad that it let in the rain even though shut!
. The radiator did not work so a heater was in the room but it was not enough to keep out the cold or the drafts!
I could go on but there really is no point as I have written to their head office before and received no response as a result I will never stay in one of their accommodations ever again.
Please think very carefully before booking with this company its just not worth it.........

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just got back from Bournemouth from our christmas break.The weather wasn't very kind to us but we had a good time .The hotel was lovely as were the staff,so friendly nothing was too much bother for them .Food was buffet very good plenty of choice nice and hot as were the plates which isn't always the case in some hotels.Our room was ground floor and very spacious
comfortable beds, warm and clean, nice bathroom .The entertainment was first class games, quizzes, cabaret ,really well organised. Father Xmas got everybody into festive mood HoHoHo
Hope to go back in the summer as the garden looked really inviting ,but not for this time of the year. Well done everyone at Heathlands

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
482 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing