We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel but standards extremely poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Right here we go!

Booked online through Booking.com. The pictures of the hotel from website looked reasonable hence the reason we booked. However, once arriving at the hotel lobby I stated to think seriously about the accommodation. The price was not too bad for a one night stay at £27.00, with other hotels within the same location charging pretty much the same. Greeted at the reception very nicely by the on Duty Manager (who was very helpful), collected the key and ventured off cautiously to our awaiting room!

Open the door of ROOM 133 to be greeted by the following:0

1. Dirty Carpets.

2. TV from the 1980's

3. Old paintwork,

4. Curtains that were hanging off

5. Bed had (pretty certain) bed bugs, dirty sheets.

6. Dangerous step up to bathroom,

7. Toilet not flushing properly.

8. Bath stained and Sink Stained

9. Shower Curtain over bath stained.

10. Decor and Upkeep substandard.

However once complained (politely) we did receive full refund and quickly left the building to breath fresh air, packed the car up and drove off happily to a new hotel with much much higher standard and charging only a staggering £30.00.

SO PLEASE PLEASE READ this REVIEW and TOTALLY KEEP CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL,

The Management of the Hotel (or should I say substandard SKIP) should be ashamed of themselves to be running a hotel with such POOR standards.

We do NOT recommend this to anyone unless ofcourse you don't mind staying in a DOSS HOLE!! Infact I wouldn't allow a Pet to live here!

Hope this helps - Happy Holidays!

Best Wishes

James and Alexandra :)

Room Tip: Please stay elsewhere, substandard accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank james197310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, even thou it is quite simple, we had a great time, it was clean and peaceful, staff were very helpful and friendly and the price was fantastic and good food, recommend this to anyone visiting Bournemouth...

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times but I,m sorry to say the standard has dropped considerably. The room was adequate for the price we paid. We thought there would be a special New Years Eve meal but it was very ordinary. We would rather pay more and have a good meal.The late morning brunch was good. Unfortunately the weather was appalling and we couldn't get out. Normally it's a good base for walking and shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemarye514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have just returned from the Heathlands Hotel after A two night stay. Ok so it's not the Ritz but we didn't pay Ritz prices. The blanket on the bed had stains on it! Yuk, The window had A crack on it & rattled with this glorious weather we keep having & the bathrooom window was broke! Lol!! On the plus side it was close to the town centre & beach & the food was good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jayne1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We were booked out to this hotel so never really chose to stay here and never would have done! We had a five hour drive and then over an hour at another hotel to be told they were full, so just collapsed into the box room we were allocated to cry about the horrific situation. We were told it was "just round the corner" from the Carrington House Hotel. After 30 minutes walking in the hail and rain, we arrived to curtains hanging off plastic strips, no lights working, no tv working (due to the weather apparently), toilet that didn't flush, mould on tiles, shower so lime scaled that water came out of pipe and not the head, bed so hard we couldn't sleep and a door that had obviously been broken open, so it wouldn't shut properly. Everywhere was dirty or broken. It was not just tired, it was exhausted!

Never stay here, even if the only other option is the back seat of the car!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trinitytrash1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We were unfortunate enough to be moved from one Britannia hotel to the heathlands in Bournemouth on 5th October 2013. We went to Bournemouth to scatter our fathers ashes in the sea and wanted a nice, comfortable hotel with good facilities for all our family to stay in.
I don't actually know where to begin. Upon our arrival we were given a room that you could honestly not swing a cat in, so we didn't both unpacking and asked to be moved to a better room.
We were moved into another room, but this was not much better. The curtains were hanging off the rail, the window was broken, the shower rail was taped up as was broken and the water was brown! Our breakfast in the morning was terrible, the sausage was like rubber, there was lipstick around my coffee cup and the tea was awful. My son and his young family went up in the lift, or
should I say, attempted to go up, only the lift got stuck! He has two young children and was banging on the doors to get the attention of anyone as the emergency button didn't work!! Needless to say, his family was frantic at being confined in a small space. We found a false eyelash on the headboard and the list goes on and on and on! I have written to the company, Britannia hotels, three times, and have had no response to date, 4 months after we went there.
We were told by the hotel to write to the Britannia head office, but they just don't respond to any of our correspondence, and it seems they are not likely to. So please, please, please, do not
stay at this hotel. At the time of writing, I have sent yet another signed for letter to the head office, and yes, you guessed it, not a single reply. There have been other reviews on here saying similar things, about not getting any response from their letters and it seems that this is the case for us. Bournemouth itself is lovely, shame our visit was ruined by such a shoddy hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank doggerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed Friday to Sunday as part of a large party returning from previous years. After last years unsatisfactory stay we were assured the lack of heating in both the rooms and function areas would be addressed together with a 99p bar. On arrival we were allocated the same room as last year & guess what ? No heating it was like walking into a fridge a small oil filled radiator was in the room but was not switched on .After fathoming out how the darn thing worked a candle would have been quicker!! As we had a 3 hour wait for dinner we switched on the TV only to find it didn't work we were informed by reception it was because of bad weather(I a free with previous reviewer get it fixed) a working TV is an expected minimum. Dinner on Saturday evening was like a TV farce roast chicken with pot luck if you were served leg or breast unlucky me leg! I requested a breast to be informed I would have to swap with someone else on our table (as if) another member of our party requested to change to a breast to be confronted by the c&b manager who flatly refused to change it infering quote ' there is no more chicken its all been cooked are you refusing the chicken?" Reply " no I just want breast " " well you will just have to have leg or vegetarian option" great customer service. U fortunately as dessert was served the waiter tripped and booing custard was spilt all over the same lady her dress was covered and her hand burnt but she received no apology. The remainder of the staff tried very hard to please in very difficult circumstances I felt sorry for them working for such a mickey mouse company. No wonder people don't want to return we certainly we won't .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Celebrity
Hotel Celebrity
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,097 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#56 of 66 in Bournemouth
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range: £23 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing