We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel very clean and staff made you feel welcome, rooms clean and tidy, plenty of hot water. 10 min walk into centre of Bournemouth. Only thing with this hotel it costs £3.00 per night to park your car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    236
    229
    201
    273
See reviews for
160
421
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as it was BH weekend and everywhere was full. Now can see why this wasn't! Similar comments to others, had to pay £3 to park outside! We paid extra to go executive but apart from it being a large room, had no frills attached. Tried to make a coffee, but the kettle doesn't fit under the tap. Ran the bath, first filled with hot water then tried to add the cold....we now have a very brown muddy bath. Yuk. Ran the taps for ages but still a brown shade, decided not to try and drink the stuff. My husband went down to reception to see if they would give us a bottle of water so we could have a coffee. No, not helpful, didn't seem to care that we had problems, so then he gave us a jug of water. We were in the room right above the bar and beer garden and you could hear the noise like they were standing in our room with us. The windows were supposedly double glazed, but even when closed, you could see daylight through the frame. The comments most people say about the breakfast are correct, £7.50 for a couple of spoonfuls of natural yoghurt and two small pieces of toast! Maybe we have been used to a better class of hotel! When we checked out and again mentioned the dirty water the receptionist passed it off saying that all we needed to do was run the water long enough until it cleared and this happens if the room had not been used for a while. This was impossible seeing as it was already full of hot water! She said she was surprised we were disappointed with our room as they had upgraded us to a suite! Her best room! So to all those people who say you get what you pay for, forget it. Makes no difference.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We needed a place to stay at for one night, near to city centre. The staff welcomed us warmly, and were very helpfull with all our enquiries. The room (double room) was ok size, en suite with bathtub. It was clean and tidy. There was a tea tray, tv and safe hidden in the wardrobe.
The only major downside was the piping going through our room, that made a loud noise every time the toilet was flushed (not just the one in our bathroom!).
Overall we though this was a good place to stay for one night, it was definitely worth the money (£35/per room per night).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Thank god I booked it on laterooms, only paid £39 plus £3 car parking.
I have never been so disappointed in an hotel, the reception staff were very polite thats the only good thing I can say, the decor is dated and shabby, the room carpets were stained, no hot water so cold shower, so noisy at night couldn't get to sleep, we couldn't wait to book out, when I mentioned the problems to reception all they said was sorry, I would never stop here again.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were part of a music weekender, so we didn't choose the hotel, but were prepared to make the best of it. The good points were : all the staff were cheerful and helpful, at reception and in the bar and restaurant. The bedroom was a good size and well designed with plenty of storage space in wardrobe, drawers and cupboards. Generally the hotel was clean. For us, the parking was fine. The hotel is in a good location, very close to the beach and all the amenities of Bournemouth town centre.
The bad points - the TV in the room didn't work and there was no radio either. There was a sign in reception stating that the aerial had blown down in adverse weather conditions but that was months ago, and there seemed to be no urgency in repairing it - very, very poor. We were not at all impressed with the food, which was mostly overcooked and had been sitting in hot plates for too long. We booked a double room, but were given a twin, so pushed the beds together, which wasn't ideal. The whole place would benefit from some modernisation in the décor and amenities, but as we had a very cheap deal, I suppose you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: We had a large room with a horrible view overlooking the back, but it was quiet. Front facing rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swamprocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel has high aspirations but suffers from dated decor and internals. We booked two nights through a last-minute hotel website and would have been annoyed if we spent more than we did.

The good: Rooms are spacious, with good tea/coffee facilities and a comfortable bed. There is a decent hotel bar and all the staff we spoke to were courtious and friendly. You are on the beach within a minute or two walk from the hotel.

The bad: The hotel car park is not free, and even if you pay you may not get a space if you head off and come back. Our bathroom overhead light was intermittent and took a long time to warm up(!), and the light on the mirror did not work at all. The television did not work correctly either, but we did not spend much time in the room so didn't use it.

The ugly: The breakfast. We paid seven pounds each for the "buffet" breakfast which had a variety of bland cereals that tasted past their best-before date, and a selection of "hot" food that was stone cold. There were no croissants, jam, or hardly any other non-"hot" food to speak of. The only thing that was acceptable was the toast - as long as you didn't want any topping other than butter. Save your money and walk up the road to Wetherspoons, or anywhere else.

As mentioned earlier, we only paid £50 a night to stay here and I would have been annoyed if I had paid more. Behind reception was a sign giving the current "non-pre-booked" price for rooms at £145 - had I paid this I would have been disgusted.

Room Tip: The lift is small so if there are a lot of you or you have a lot of luggage try and get a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uphoriakMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Wasn't expecting anything spectacular but this is without doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Dirty floors, pitch black corridors, TV not working and staff could not have cared less. TV may seem like a minor thing but staff said there had been a problem for two weeks (reviews suggest two months). Took my young daughter to Bournemouth and thought be nice to have an overnight stay. Wish hadn't bothered. On reflection, camping in Helmand Province would have been preferable.
DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilbertgrape39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#51 of 66 in Bournemouth
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
Royal Bath Hotel & Spa
#59 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing