We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very rundown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“very rundown hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were concerned about our booking at this hotel (2 nights 2 rooms) after reading so many poor reviews about the Heathlands, so much so we phoned and e mailed(no reply) voicing our concerns only to be told "most of the poor reviews were by guests who always complain" but being shown to
our rooms we were greeted by a broken peeling door frame,broken sash ropes, none of the windows
would open painted shut(we were told by staff as this room is on the first floor opening windows are not required)it looked like the miss matched old furniture was bought from a car boot sale,the mottled carpet was no better than the rest of the room, we asked for a walk in shower on booking, this turned out to be a 2 foot high bath for me to step over( I am recovering from a stroke)the 70s TV was out of reach on the only available space up above the bathroom door,my outstretched arms only needed to be a little longer and I would have been able to touch both sides of the room at once, it was so poor we decided that we would not stay here at any cost!! to be fair the receptionist phoned their sister hotel to see if they could accommodate us as the payment was "none refundable" The Royal Bath turned out to be a fantastic alternative!!! No fault can be attributed to the staff at the Heathlands as they are very pleasent and helpful!!!

Room Tip: The only tip I can give is "dont book" this old and faded hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    227
    217
    192
    260
See reviews for
152
402
36
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed at Heathlands Hotel with other whist players our host Mervin was very friendly as was the rest of the staff ,Nico and Szilvia greeted us with a big smile and always took care of us at meal times.Food was really good all help your self plenty of choice for all taste. The rooms are basic but very clean. Heathlands is situated near the sea , it is a short bus ride into Bournemouth or a longer one to Poole both are worth a visit. Good place to stay .

Room Tip: A wedding took place while we were there ,plus others stayed to go and play in a bowls competition t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracymay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

have went with friends for few days to bournemouth. had no time to look properly, so went on laterooms.com and just got the cheapest room available for dat date , which was 8th may 2014. we came there, hotel is easy to find and is 2 mins from main beach which is extremely convenient as everything is very close-town, shopping,dining, clubs. 15 mins walk from hotel is big asda and coach/train station. the room was ready straightaway and i got my key. had to pay £3 for a day parking. room was on a last 3rd floor, so we thought no one will disturb us. room was clean with tv, wiifi and coffee. 4 am me and my friend woke up from very scary rumbling noise that came from bathroom. it sounded like the ceiling just collapsed. the next 2 hr it was every5-10 minutes and was terrifying and annoying. it turned out to be the pipes, so every time anyone under us or close to us flushed the toilet that noise came straightaway. we were shocked and angry as no one worned us about it. so we couldn't sleep anymore and had to move out 10am. Additionally, I wanted to take shower but there was no power to the water in bathroom, so my shower was extremely quick, as I turned on hot water tap and yellowish water came out, I was suspicious, but after a while it went normal. I would say that was the only drawbacks of the hotel as for dat price 32£ per night it matched the expectations. Staff is friendly and helpful-needed to print out the ticket for friend and allowed to stay longer at a parking, even after check out. The hotel was full of pensioners so it was very quiet that time.

Room Tip: ask if there is anything you should know about the rooms u r getting, as the hotel is old-looking so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

arrived at reception and queeried the parking fee, suggesting they put it on the room rate rather than charge extra. this was like a red rag to a bull, the head receptionist how in my opinion had the brains of a 2 year old said that would put the price up, and all the hotels in Bournmouth charged parking fees to guests. she could not see that added charges just insulted the guests. Just like the add ons that are made by a certain airline does. I found her attitude very negitive and abrupt, we booked breakfast on line, it was offered at half price as a special deal at £5.50 each. but they advertize breakfast in the room at £7.50 per person. so half price is £3.75 each. this the only hotel that makes you pay on arrival. I can see why. I would not have paid for the executive room afterwards. It was very poor the carpets were stained the wallpaper was peeling from the walls in places, there were broken tiles in the bathroom, and the water ran out of the taps discoloured brown. the extractor fan in the room next door was so loud it woke me up every time it was used through the night. As for the breakfast if poundland did full english a pound would be a rip off. there was nothing there that even the supermarkets would have sold as value packs. This was not executive or basic just a very poor excuse of a hotel. P.S. you have to pay £4 per visit to the gym or pool. bring it on ryanair hotels. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldpolicehouse301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Hotel very clean and staff made you feel welcome, rooms clean and tidy, plenty of hot water. 10 min walk into centre of Bournemouth. Only thing with this hotel it costs £3.00 per night to park your car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as it was BH weekend and everywhere was full. Now can see why this wasn't! Similar comments to others, had to pay £3 to park outside! We paid extra to go executive but apart from it being a large room, had no frills attached. Tried to make a coffee, but the kettle doesn't fit under the tap. Ran the bath, first filled with hot water then tried to add the cold....we now have a very brown muddy bath. Yuk. Ran the taps for ages but still a brown shade, decided not to try and drink the stuff. My husband went down to reception to see if they would give us a bottle of water so we could have a coffee. No, not helpful, didn't seem to care that we had problems, so then he gave us a jug of water. We were in the room right above the bar and beer garden and you could hear the noise like they were standing in our room with us. The windows were supposedly double glazed, but even when closed, you could see daylight through the frame. The comments most people say about the breakfast are correct, £7.50 for a couple of spoonfuls of natural yoghurt and two small pieces of toast! Maybe we have been used to a better class of hotel! When we checked out and again mentioned the dirty water the receptionist passed it off saying that all we needed to do was run the water long enough until it cleared and this happens if the room had not been used for a while. This was impossible seeing as it was already full of hot water! She said she was surprised we were disappointed with our room as they had upgraded us to a suite! Her best room! So to all those people who say you get what you pay for, forget it. Makes no difference.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazb62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We needed a place to stay at for one night, near to city centre. The staff welcomed us warmly, and were very helpfull with all our enquiries. The room (double room) was ok size, en suite with bathtub. It was clean and tidy. There was a tea tray, tv and safe hidden in the wardrobe.
The only major downside was the piping going through our room, that made a loud noise every time the toilet was flushed (not just the one in our bathroom!).
Overall we though this was a good place to stay for one night, it was definitely worth the money (£35/per room per night).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slavka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#27 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bourne Hall Hotel
Bourne Hall Hotel
#57 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.9 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#53 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth

Property: Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth
Address: 12 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathlands Hotel is set in beautiful landscaped gardens in the quaint seaside town of Bournemouth. The hotel is situated in an ideal location in the town centre with seven miles of blue flag sandy beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heathlands Hotel Bournemouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing