We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent holiday had by all” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #52 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent holiday had by all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

we have just come back from spending four nights at the hinton firs hotel; where we stayed in the cottage. I have 8 chil;dren which range in age from 22 to 2 yrs of age. The rooms were cl;ean and warm and kept to a good standard. the facill;ities were excel;l;ent the pool; was well heated and even bags for wet costumes were provided . The food was great and a good choice for chil;dren .The staff were very helpful and made our stay very welcoming especially Tim and Tony .We are al;ready considering going back there next may as we enjoyed it so much !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    104
    86
    37
    40
See reviews for
80
143
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our group stayed at this hotel for a 3 night break. we had an excellent time, food was very enjoyable and the staff looked after us well. Some people did feel abit cold but think that was more to do with unseasonal weather than any fault of the hotel. As an older group of people we went to this hotel on recommendation and it did not disappoint

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the weekend because we got a deal with Wowcher. Definitely not worth the full price!!! It was like staying in a nursing home!! The corridors smelt fausty and we couldn't even get a seat in the bar because it was so full of old people. If your over 65 your idea of fun is a game of bingo your gonna LOVE this hotel.

We asked when we arrived if our room 54 had been recently refurbished like the ones on their website. The manager immediately came out and said to move us to room 24. I dread to think what the first room would have been like!!! 24 was nice, having a new bathroom was a plus. However, we had 2 single beds joined together, not the 'big double' that the manager had promised. Also walls and floors are really thin. The people above us must have been OAPs and stone deaf because they had their tv on full blast until 1 in the morning!!

Another big disappointment for us was the Jacuzzi being out of order (one of the reasons we wanted to stay here was the 'spa' facilities) and the size of the pool. It really is tiny!!! And there were clumps of hair floating on the bottom. Pretty grim.

Overall, don't waste your money staying here. Pay abit more and get somewhere decent!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Hinton Firs Hotel, Bournemouth

During your stay with us we did indeed have a group of elderly guests staying in the Hotel on a coach tour to Bournemouth for a long weekend..

The hotel provides a variety of Entertainment from Bingo through to Live Musical Entertainment. The group staying at the hotel during your stay requested Bingo as many times as possible and we provided this for them as we aim to offer the best possible service to our guests.

The Hinton Firs does have an ongoing refurbishment programme and we continue to modernise, refresh and decorate areas of the hotel on a weekly basis.

I am pleased you thought Room 24 was nice and you found the bathroom to be modern..

Room 24 is a Zip & Link room. These are beds that can be joined together (zipped) to create a large Double or can be seperated to create a Twin Room.

On the Friday evening before your stay our Jacuzzi/Pool pump failed and therefore this put the Jacuzzi and filtration cleaning system out of order. For safety reasons we therefore had to put the Jacuzzi out of order during your stay with us.

A new pump was fitted on the Tuesday after your visit to us and this is now working and operational again, clean and ready for future guests enjoyment

I hope we can welcome you back to the Hinton Firs in the future where you will be able to use our leisure facilities to its full potential.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We've got a good deal with this hotel through wowcher for two night, pleasant stay but nothing special. We haven't get a chance to enjoy indoor swimming pool and whirpool, I guess maybe it will up the rating if we have time to do that but we are very busy to enjoy the beach which is only a few step from hotel, Love the location between 2pier (bournemouth and boscombe) although doesnt have great view to the sea and also no balcony. Breakfast was basic english breakfast with variation of juice and cereal.

Room Tip: I guess the top floor room have better view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marine_newbury2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Hinton Firs Hotel

I am pleased to read you enjoyed your 2 night break here at the Hinton Firs through the Wowcher deal.

We are looking to run deals in the future with Wowcher and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hinton Firs where you will be able to enjoy the Indoor Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi & Sauna.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Shabby hotel, they do accept hen parties despite what they say, room looked like it was slept in already, carpet stained, food below average, service for breakfast poor, had to ask for coffee after waiting until people who came in after us were served first! (only 3 tables being occupied at time) were suppose to stay 2 night, checked out after one. Loads of hotels in Bournemouth sorry we picked this one in first place!

Room Tip: Pick different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poohbear556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay here at the Hinton Firs Hotel

The hotel does not accept Hen Parties with groups staying overnight. Obviously the occassional group does come through which we aim to try and avoid before arrival. The Hotel does however accept pampering days, Afternoon Teas and celebration days to Non Residents. along with offering beauty treatments

I have noted your comments re poor service in the Restaurant and spoken to the Restaurant Supervisor regarding this.

I am sorry you felt the Hinton Firs was not the hotel for your visit to Bournemouth.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

A group of us stayed at the hotel for a special occasion this weekend. The hotel was everything we wanted, the staff were very friendly, attentive and helped make the weekend very enjoyable. The rooms were clean and comfortable, we made full use of the lovely relaxing pool, hot tub and sauna. The food was lovely and very well presented. I don’t agree with the other recent reviews as we could not fault this hotel. Location is great as is near the sea front . Overall this was a very enjoyable stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 31 and 21 are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWDW2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Hinton Firs Hotel.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and the Hotel staff were friendly, attentive and helpful as this is what my team aim for.

I am delighted to read that you found the rooms clean and comfortable especially rooms 21 & 31.

I am also pleased that you found the refurbished swimming pool, Jacuzzi & Sauna relaxing & your group enjoyed themselves.

I have passed your comments to the Kitchen and Head Chef regarding the food and how lovely it was and how well presented you thought your meals were.

The Management & staff here at the Hinton Firs hope we can welcome you back in the future to enjoy another great stay with us.

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Upon checking in at Hinton Firs, we saw an unflushed turd in the toilet, and a faecal smear on the basin. The room was very basic, and had seemingly not been vacuumed in weeks. The decor was slightly odd, and very aged. Also worrying was the shower - it took fifteen minutes of running for the water to have any heat in it, and when it did, the water pressure meant that showering was less useful than standing in the rain. The rest of the hotel reminded me of walking through an OAP's home, as there was a very strong musty smell throughout. The pool outside, though not used, looked very small and dirty.

The only positive about our one day stay was breakfast - though far from fantastic, it was edible.

All in all, Hinton Firs was horrific, and especially at the price of £88 per night for a double room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_seward, General Manager at Hinton Firs Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hinton Firs Hotel

Here at the Hinton Firs we aim to provide a friendly, and welcoming atmosphere.

The Hinton Firs is an old building which has welcomed guests for many years. The hotel does have a refurbishment programme where we continue to upgrade the building on a weekly basis.

I have taken note of your comments especially regarding the Housekeeping and outside pool and have acted accordingly as we aim to provide a clean, fresh and welcoming hotel

Tim Seward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
1.3 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#32 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth West Cliff
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing