We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hinton Firs Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hinton Firs Hotel
Ranked #53 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“expensive for what it is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Got a single room at £59 on a saturday night for just one night. I don't find it particularly good value. The hotel is old, the outdoor swimming pool was disgusting. It looked like a lot of sand at the bottom. If you have an outdoor swimming pool it has to be cleaned every day... it was good for ducks, but not for people swimming. The indoor swimming pool was nice but very small. I didn't have a towel in my room when I arrived so when we went for our walk, I asked the receptionist for one. Went out for more than an hour, came back and there were still no towel. Called reception to say my towel was still not in my room, and she said that she would send someone over straight away. It took another hour for someone to give me towels, and the young man said: did you ask for extra towels? Well no actually, they are not extra, I didn't have any. By that time I already had my shower and had too dry with what I could from my weekend bag, as I had to get ready to go to the theatre.
that is quite bad service. Rooms should be ready, and that includes towels, and if anything is missing, then it should be brought to the room as soon as the guest asks for it. It shouldn't take 2 hours to get a towel in a hotel that size.
My friend's single room was even smaller than mine, which is not a problem if you stay for a night or 2 and you plan on being in the room just to sleep. But there was a very strong smell of humidity. It didn't come from the bed, but most probably from the carpet. The weather was fabulous that weekend and it was extremely hot, but opening the window did not help with the smell. I don't know if the carpet had just been cleaned and it hadn't had time to dry completely, or if there was humidity in the room, but it was terrible.
The bar served food until really late, so that was one good point for our party. And the breakfast was good. I wasn't offered more coffee though which I thought was a let down.
I had taken photos to show the very simple room, but unfortunately I lost the files when my computer crashed last week.
I really think this is quite expensive. It is a hotel, but it is not as good as most B&Bs I have stayed in so far. Not impressed. I will go back to Bournemouth but stay in a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    105
    90
    39
    41
See reviews for
84
146
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I also visited this Hotel on a Wowcher deal and can confirm that at £99.00 for two nights for two people inc breakfast and afternoon cream teas this deal was very good indeed . The hotel public rooms that we saw were very good including the outdoor and indoor pool areas. The breakfast meal were very good and the staff very helpful and friendly . Like my wife the the bathroom was a little tired looking and the power shower was nonexistant. the bedroom was ok . If i was to pay normal rates I would expect a much higher standard of bedroom. Overall it was a good hotel in a nice area of Bournemouth and i would seriously consider staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a Wowcher deal and whilst I didn't expect the best room in the hotel, we ended up with a shabby room overlooking the fire escape. The bath was no sealed properly and where the water escaped shower from the down the wall, there were damp patches and wallpaper coming away. By the bed there were dangerous wall lights that were not secured properly to the wall.

Otherwise, the hotel is lovely, staff and food are great, location is by the beach.

Room Tip: ensure you don't get rooms on the 2nd floor, seems to be ex staff quarters
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I think this is a good hotel for the amount that we paid £99 two nights b&b you can't expect too much paying that sort of money. It has a lovely outside area with a pool and two minutes walk from the Ocean.. The rooms are dated but clean with everything you need in a room plus a big flat screen tv. Unfortunately the bathroom needed a big make over shower was slow and couldn't control the temperate as it came from the taps and some hairs (ek!)...

Other than that if you want a decent hotel by the beach with a nice garden then you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

we have just spent 5 days here as a coach party, externally the hotel is in urgent need of a facelift e.g.peeling paintwork broken downspout.inside the hotel is very clean & the bedroom was comfortable although hot due to weather at time but I requested a fan & one was sent to room immediately.The entertainment was poor & the bar prices in my opinion were high.The food served in dining room was good quality & a good choice downside of this was the slow service although the waiting staff did their best but sometimes got order wrong.I did notice at times that guests who travelled independently seemed to get preferential service over us.To sum up overall enjoyed stay but don't think I will return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a weekend break with two of my friends and our children 8 people in total. I had read some very worrying reviews about this hotel on Trip Advisor. However, when I contacted the hotel the manager was happy to put my mind at rest. We all stayed in the cottage. I will say it is actually an annexe and not a cottage really. However, I stayed in Room 17 which was right next to the front door. The room was excellent, two big double beds, wardrobes, bay window with dressing table, lots of natural light. Through the door was an adjoining single room, which my 5yr old daughter immediately claimed as her own. The bathroom was accessed through this room. The room was clean, comfortable and well proportioned. My friends were also in rooms 16 and 19 within the cottage, again all well proportioned, light and airy. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was good, with a good selection of food, the waiters provided excellent service and couldn't do enough for my children. I really had my doubts before arriving (the hotel was booked by my friend). However, I would be more than happy to come back with my children and stay in room 17. The fact it is right by the door by the way is not a problem. We were not disturbed by people entering and leaving the cottage. A great nights sleep was had by us all. Thank you:).

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JenWr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Firstly, for the people who may read this and who we didn't see before we left, our daughter and her team won the national championships.

Right, now the review.
I have to say after staying, that some of the reviews about this hotel are ridiculously misleading and totally exaggerated.
We are a family of 7 (2adults 5 children) and were very pleased with most of our stay, the oldies as a previous reviewer mentioned were very friendly and never moaned about our children and even paid an interest in them. The young uns were not rowdy or a problem.
The rooms were large enough for us to be comfortable and the kids were happy.
The grounds were tidy and parking was available.
The breakfast was good and the choice was fine again the kids didn't moan so that's a good sign!
It just a short walk to the front and 20 mins to Harry ramsdens ( and the pier) which we enjoyed, a lot.
Beer prices were about right and they did look after the kids when it came to drinks.
The pool out side could do with a refurb but the spa was great, the kids loved it lol.

So all in all a good hotel.

We will go again, if we can get a better price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEOGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#37 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#52 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
2.5 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#32 of 66 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hinton Firs Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hinton Firs Hotel

Property: Hinton Firs Hotel
Address: 9 Manor Road, Bournemouth BH1 3ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#19 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hinton Firs Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea. Our traditional three star hotel is family owned, which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivaled. With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, two theatres on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hinton Firs Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hinton Firs Hotel Bournemouth
Hinton Firs Bournemouth
Hotel Hinton Firs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing