We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round. And for a 3*.......blimmin good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed at the cumberland for 3 days and 2 nights for our honeymoon. When we arrived it was fairly busy in the car park as we arrived on a sunday lunch time so they had plenty of custom for there sunday lunches. This was not a problem as we found a space. We were checked in by a polite receptionist (not to sure where the hard faced comment comes from in previous posts) and were given our key. Our room was lovely with a balcony and sea view. Me and my partner did hear the people upstairs walking about but this was not a problem for us. I cant understand the people that complain about hearing all the noises from other rooms because at the end of the day it is an old building and it is obvious to me that hard work is going in to making it as modern as possible and it is only a 3* so i think some people must be expecting the red carpet treatment. Me and my partner were both pleased with the breakfast, hot and plenty to choose from. Over all we had a great stay and we will hopefully return with our 2 daughters next time and make it a family holiday.
Thank you cumberland hotel for a nice honeymoon break

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huddsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Thank you for an incredibly fair and honest review and for recognising that we are only a high rated 3 star with added bonuses. We really do try and provide a 5 star service and food and hence our success with awards and ratings. I also appreciate your remarks on the previous reviewer, to be honest, it almost always seems to be the people who pay the least, that expect the most, and still manage to make uneccesary ufair comments after the event
Hope to see you return again soon

kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,144 - 3,150 of 3,567 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

Went to the Cumberland with 2 friends last weekend. As we walked into the hotel we were all pretty pleased. The Art deco outside was married with a classy bold modern art deco twist design inside...Black, white, red with silver touches. So first impression was very nice.

The reception was polite but hard faced. We had to park our car in the hotel next door as the car park was small and full. Tight spaces but at least we found a space.

The lift to the rooms was very small and could only fit 3 people at a time with a squeeze. forget 3 people and luagge so 2 went then i followed with the bags.

The building is very old and the hotel corridors very worn looking. they have tried to give it a modern make over twist but it was cheaply done so very shabby.

First impressions of our rooms was " OH"....which isn't a good thing in my book. then the second thought was "Oh well at least we won't be in the room very much, it's a bed for the night".

WARNING: There is no sound proofing at all. you can hear snoring, talking, toilets, phones..pretty much everything. The floors creek so badly that you don't have a chance to sleep if someone above is awake. when poeple open the wardrobes in other rooms it feels that they are coming through the actual wall.

On day 2 we found the staff to be very frosty and unhelpful. I didn't appriciate the way they cater for breakfast.

You are shown a table and told who your waiter is....So I sat waiting to be asked re tea/coffee and toast....No No No...its get your own all the way. I had to carry a full teapot across the entire restaurant to get to the table. Never done that in a hotel before. which i thought was actually dangerous, as I dodged everyone passing and managed to spill it on my foot.

The breakfast was all very cold and like rubber. even the hash browns were rubber and it all was of poor quality produce.

When we checked out of the hotel...luckily for the staff they didnt ask if we enjoyed our stay. I DON'T THINK THEY WOULD HAVE LIKED MY REPLY.

Oh and don't bother asking reception for good restaurants. they tell you "there are restaurants in the town centre, go there and find one"..Hummm nice Not!

I would say the hotel is very good for location on the east cliff with some probably expensive sea view rooms and its not far from the cliff lift to the beach. Cab's into town were a maximum of £6 and didnt have to wait long at all. it's also good for very heavy sleepers that can sleep through any noises or earthquakes.

Don't think I'll be recommending it to anyone and wanted anyone thinking of staying there a chance to hear our (3 peoples views) expirence.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everywhere_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2011

Dear guest, it appears from the review you have posted that you stayed in a different hotel from other reviewers on this site! Your intial comment regarding reception speaks volumes, "polite but hard faced", not sure I quite understand that! As you state, the public areas are exquisite, hotel landings have just been newly recarpeted in high grade Axminster, and the wallpaper that compliments the original Art Deco wall frosting is by Harlequin....not sure what if anything is cheap abouth that, but then you have to know quality to recognise it!
The room you make No comment on, and also true of the cold staff, no examples are given!
The breakfast as it states in your room compendium is self service, it also states it on the menu on your table had you chosen to look at it. It also states any guest wishing for full service, including bringing tea to the table, only need ask for this, obviously you chose not to read the menu. The breakfast food we use for the benefit of others is of the highest quality and your comments are nothing but fabrication regarding this matter. Bacon is high qualkity back bacon, eggs from a local farm, beans are heinz and the huge variation including tomatoes, black pudding and vegetarian sausage are of good quality. You may have not enjoyed the hash brown which is fried, but there really is no need to make such another mean sweeping statement about the rest of breakfast!! Your comments regarding staff and service I find the most hard to beleive, they bare no resemblence to any review on here, and certainly bare no resemblence to the staff at Cumberland, again, no examples given, just vague sweeping statements.
I also am surprised that you were not asked on departure if you enjoyed your stay, this is hotel policy and is done methodically, for this I can only apologise.
We are all at Cumberland passionate about the hotel, its service and our guests and always welcome constructive critiscism, without which we cannot improve. Had you mentioned any issues with your room during your stay we could have assisted you, but you chose not to mention anything till you left the hotel and posted on this site!! Some of your comments could have been constructively put over to hotel management during your stay, or even afterwards, its a shame you chose to be so mean after the event.

Kevin wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My husband decided to treat me for my birthday with a re-visit to our favourite hotel!
As usual The Cumberland did not dissapoint on any front. Food, service and room were all A1.
Hope to be back as soon as possible. To be honest would not want to stay anywhere else now when we come to Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Its great to see you return for a 5th time, its things like this that make us feel like we have got it right, see you soon for your sixth visit, promise I wont mention the Red Devils!!

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Had 2 nights here and I can't praise this hotel enough. The staff are so effecient, polite and all work hard with the standard you would expect from a 5 star hotel. They cater extremely well for functions, which was the purpose of our visit, with good food, service etc. All the public areas of this hotel are lovely and very well decorated. Breakfast was hot and plenty of it, in fact all the food we had at the hotel was very good standard. Our room was nice and comfortable. There is ample parking which is free which is also a bonus. We are already planning to go back to this hotel in the summer looking forward to it. Would highly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moet01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Amazing that you recogniszed the 5 star service at the 3 star Cumberland. The summer is amazing and vibrant here, with poolside BBQ's and DJ's, this year we have changed the chillouts to Retro Pool Parties so hope to see you back in the summer

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

So I wanted a getaway destination where my husband and I could relax and do something cultural, for a one night stay to interupt the long January coldness. The Cumberland had it all - a gorgeous bar and restaurant serving super drinks and tasty food from friendly and attentive staff. A view over the bay towards the Isle of Wight making it feel like a real holiday and a short walk from The Russell Coates Museum which had 100% culture on display. Bin-go!
Whilst the rooms felt and looked like a 'travel lodge' compared to the oppulence of the reception, they afforded a peaceful night's sleep, the staff in the reception area and restaurant/bar made up for it. A superb welcome from the moment we arrived made it feel like a proper holiday instead of just a night away to relax, rewind and revel by the sea!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getaway84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Really pleased you thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing break at Cumberland. although weekends are vibrant, the weekdays are excellent for total relaxation, and we like to think the service we offer is top notch, thanks for recognizing this

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Our Wedding Day was absolutlely wonderful and that was mostly down to Brian Robbins and his team. Both my family and friends had a brilliant day and we couldn't have asked for more. I'm so pleased I chose The Cumberland and I would highly recommend them to anyone who will listen! It was everything I wanted for my big day.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_Gardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2011

Great comments which I will personally pass on to Brian and all the staff, So pleased we could make your big day Perfect,

Regards

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed in room 413 which has a fantastic view and ate in the Ventana brasserie on both nights. The food was absolutely first class! The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The room was a little tired - wallpaper didn't meet and some mould in the bathroom - we did however notice that the decorators were arriving on the fourth floor when we left so hopefully this is being put right.

Our only complaint would be that on the first night there was a function on until midnight and the music was very loud. If the hotel had advised us of the function then we would have stayed out longer!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HezzWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinwood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2011

Thank you for a fair a sincere review. I will pass on your comments to all in Ventana Brasserie regarding the first class food. Regarding the rooms, of course we are constantly maintaining and upgrading and at each juncture with feedback from guests we address issues as and when they arise. We do have a good night sleep policy and all rooms directly above functions are issued with a letter advising of music. Normally 4th floor rooms are protected, unless a fire door was opened, in any case apolgies for this. We all hope to see you return to Cumberland very soon

Regards

Kevin Wood
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
186 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £53 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing