We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel we have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We have just returned from a 1 night stay (25th Nov) and i can honestly say it was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many (including premier inns) The staff at this hotel are rude and extremely unhelpful, to be honest i do not even know were to start.We arrived at 12.15, booked in etc but was not allowed the key until 2.30, ok a little annoying but if they are the rules then fair do's. We had a deal that included dinner, wine & breakfast but was not advised in what restaurant we were to eat in, bearing in mind there are a few eating areas, so when we go down for dinner i went over to ask 3 members of staff standing together, they completely ignored me, i had to butt in and ask as i was totally invisable to them. We eventually find out we are eating in the oceana room as the restaurants are booked out for a wedding and other private functions. We go for dinner which was not good, bad starters (ham terrine full of fatty ham) main meal was ok, how ever everything had a funny colour to it due to the hideous pink lighting, my custard on my pudding looked pink! ( everywhere was badly lit with xmas decor, so we felt like we was in some tacky nightclub) We had an issue with the wine deal, that took 3 members of staff to check that it was a geniune offer, one being a manager, but the worst part was the drinks waiter, he put down our bottle of wine, said there is your wine and walked off, i then watched him go over to other tables show them the bottle, pour a little for them to taste etc. I did mention this to the manager who apologised and she did send over the waiter who also apologised, so we thought ok just a mistake, we all make them! We left the Oceana room, note i am not saying the restaurant as it was not, it was an area they threw some tables and chairs together as everywhere else was being used for private functions, This was proven when we went for breakfast, the room was totally clear of any tables & chairs. So off we go to bed, as we feel like 2 gatecrashers at someones party, well what a nightmare it was like being above a night club (room 206) we call down to reception and said this is dreadful do you have another room, she gave us the keys to room 212, (6 doors along)??? the music was even louder, called down again was told the only other room in this very large hotel was a room with 2 single beds, what a joke, she (Zoe) also said that the manager was made aware of us being unhappy, also the music would stop at 1pm and gave us some ear plugs, how nice! When i asked Zoe why we were not advised of there being a wedding & other xmas parties when we booked the hotel, she told me that we should of had a note left in our room stating a wedding was on that evening, not only did we not have a note but how poor is that, not mentioning when booking but that just shows this hotel is clearly only interested in taking your money. Needless to say when we checkout, not even a mention about our hideous nights sleep,maybe the manager would like to add his comments to this review now as he did not bother during our stay

Room Tip: Do not have room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

Dear Dennis N ,
I am very sorry to hear that you were dissapointed with your stay at The Cumberland. Although it seems you may have had an issue with our customer service, I have to say that your review has been written extremely one sided and unbalanced, and certainly not in the spirit of the travelling public. I will therfore state the facts so that your review can be balanced by the tripadvisor community.
Rooms at Cumberland are guaranteed at 2.30pm daily, the day you arrived your allocated second floor room was a late check out, had it been ready early, it would have been offered to you earlier, this you were informed on arrival.
Staff are not rude, and although I accept you may have been overlooked with regard to information, I am sure you know this was not purposeful. I have investigated your comments and at no time were staff ever rude to you. I can also state that your rate did not include wine! You downloaded and printed a voucher from this site that entitles guests booking dinner for two nights to free wine, you actually only booked one night, and therfore in reality were not entitled to the wine. This is why there was confusion, at the end of the day, as a gesture of goodwill and due to your icy behaviour, the manager agreed to offer you the free wine.
Your comments regarding the ligting are indeed true. The Cumberland does create a winter wonderland at Christmas, and is one of the towns most vibrant and liveley hotels where people come from afar to view our festive decorations. I apologies if the Christmas atmosphere was not to your taste. Our website does state that weekends are vibrant and liveley.Regarding food, it appears you enjoyed except the ham hock terrine, this dish is not supposed to be full of lean meat, and by its nature does have home baked ham pieces in it that obviously do have some fat.
The Oceana room itself its absultuly stunning, and often used for intimate dinners, i dont believe I have ever received a complaint that dinner is served in this room.
Your last issue regarding your room, we did have a residential Christmas party on ground floor level, typically we do not receive issues from second floor rooms from ground floor parties, after your comments on this, we have now begun placing notices in some of our secdond floor rooms that are directly below DJ's, and for this I can only apologise if you were disturbed.
In summary, your review and tiltle are extremely unfair and unbalanced, any validity you may have had regarding issues has in my opinion been overwhelmed by the exagerations and inorrect information posted on thi site!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,044 - 3,050 of 3,652 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2011

My Partner and I spent 3 days at the Cumberland Hotel. We really had a great time, the food was excellent, staff really friendly and helpful, waiting staff very effecient.EXCELLENT
The Bar and Restaurant are beautifully decorated in Art Deco style and I found everywhere to be spotlessly clean.
The Bedroom could benefit from a refurbshment but generally very clean. I wish that we had stayed in the superior room with sea view and terrace and certainly will do that on our next visit!!!
We would definately recomend this hotel and cannot wait to return for another visit.

Room Tip: Seaview Rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

My daughter and I spent a night at this lovely, art deco style hotel. We bought a groupon deal which included 3 course dinner and a glass of bubbly, also a full english breakfast. I opted to upgrade to a seaview.
We were absolutely delighted with everything! The hotel was lovely, the staff extremely friendly and helpful.
We really enjoyed the dinner too, really good quality food.
Our room was very nicely decorated, balcony with seaview. Excellent facilites too.
We enjoyed it so much, were heading back to the christmas cabaret, cant wait!

Room Tip: well worth the £20.00 upgrade for a huge balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Cumberland, we stayed in a superior double room with sea view and terrace. I was a bit unsure about staying here as we have stayed in the Suncliffe next door which is part of the same group but there is no comparison, the room and cleanliness at the cumberland was first class, the staff were all helpful and friendly, and the food absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend this Hotel to others and will definately be going back.

Room Tip: worth the extra money for the sea view with balcony or terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet50Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Spent a couple of nights last week and was pleasantly surprised, good size room plenty of hanging space, nice clean bathroom,freeview TV, tea and coffee etc,a very enjoyable buffet breakfast with all you could want, about a 15 min walk to town centre ( all downhill ) Staff all friendly and helpful, would visit again. For your info the hot water took ages to appear for a bath or shower ,needs running for approx 10 mins ...due to old plumbing or location of room ?

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casdan1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed with my husband at this hotel between the 7th Nov and 12th nov and enjoyed it very much. The room was spacious with lots of wardrobe space and full length mirrors. It was also nice and clean. The staff were lovely and we also enjoyed a couple of meals at their brasserie. THere was only one very small problem on 2 of the days I could not get the room warm enough but it was lovely and warm in the evening. The radiator was on but seemed to be cooler than in the evening. My husband was perfectly happy with the heat so it could have been me. Also enjoyed popping next door to the Suncliffe on a couple of evenings for the entertainment.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed Friday Night in November

The hotel appeared about half full. Very efficient service and extremely attentive in the restaurant. Dinner was very reasonable and surpassed our expectations. Breakfast was good too.

We had a sea view room which was quite stylish for a 3 * had a very large double bed, and faux black leather sofa. The bathroom was the size and standard you'd expect from a 3 star hotel.

The only slight niggle would be with the hotel's website - it was difficult to find the location details.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,111 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £45 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing