We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star service, beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“5 star service, beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

The Cumberland has good quality 3 star rooms then 5 star service and public areas. On arrival we were impressed with the decor of the lobby which was beautiful and decorated very tastefully for christmas. We ate in both restaurants and the food is fantastic in both of them, the breakfast was an excellent selection of food as well. The location is good with beautiful views of the Bournemouth pier and jurassic coast (on a clear day). The thing that makes this hotel are the staff and the managers who always seem to be on top of their department making sure it is running smoothly. I would particularly like to thank the girls at reception, who were all fantastic at dealing with any enquiries we had and all extremely sweet. Especially a girl called Rhianon who wen the further mile and had fantastic knowledge of the local area and always went out of her way to help us with anything we asked, she made our holiday even better by recommending some fantastic places to go. Overall a wonderful hotel and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who going to Bournemouth. The negative reviews really give the wrong impression of this wonderful hotel, ignore them and risk a stay at the Cumberland and you will be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Thank you A J, its also a delight to see that what our mission statement says, delivers! We are proud to be the towns top 3 star hotel that delivers good food and 5 star service, I do hope to see you return soon and thank you for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,667
    1,067
    329
    122
    75
See reviews for
591
1,542
127
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,087)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I recently stayed here with my sister. As a birthday treat for me we had booked a 1 night dinner bed and breakfast Groupon offer for a night of relaxation - but what we got was something else entirely.

Our first impression was great as we had upgraded to a seaview room, however, anyone who watches Four in a Bed would say that there were a fare few bodges around the room such as coving not finished properly adjoining the patio doors onto the balcony and the decor although modern, was tired with digs out of the wallpaper etc.

However, the problem was not actually with the room itself. At 07:30 we were awoken by heavy footsteps above us and as time went on it was obviously not guests getting ready for breakfast. The noise got steadily worse and as we went to breakfast we could clearly hear banging and someone stamping on the floor.

On the way to breakfast I spoke to who I believe was the hotel manager and he said he would investigate. On our way back from breakfast he told us that a workman had being laying carpet from 08:30. When I reminded him that we had been awoken at 07:30 he said he had checked and confirmed the work had only started from 08:30. We went back to our room thinking the noise would have stopped but it was just the same and continuing. I went back down to reception and spoke to 'the manager' again who to my amazement asked me if he should ask them to stop! I replied that it is what he should have told them to do when I first brought the matter to his attention. To add insult to injury all the double doors in the corridors of this hotel have a 'ssssh please be considerate of others' noise notice on them.

I returned to the room again and a little while after I received a phone call from someone else on reception who told me we could extend our stay and "they would do something for me" upon check out. By this time I was extremely upset and my sister and I packed our bags and left the room not wanting to stay any longer now, even though this was only around 10:30.

Upon check-out the couple standing behind heard my complaints to the manager as he was still not accepting the fact that the noise had started at 07:30. They confirmed that they had also heard the noise from that time onwards. I told the 'manager' that there should not be building work going on in a room above where guests are staying and his attitude was wholly unacceptable by not understanding this. I had asked for a full refund but was refused as I had booked through Groupon. Instead we were offered a discount on our next stay which everyone else seemed to be receiving on check out...as if we would want to stay here again?

The 'manager', I should have taken his name but unfortunately did not, did not seem to care at all about the reputation of the hotel when I told him I would write this review. Maybe he was not going to be at the hotel for long as this kind of work is seasonal.

If it was not for the noise and the non-existant customer service from this member of staff our stay would otherwise have been a pleasant one.

Room Tip: upgrade to seaview room, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glenda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear Glenda P, First may I say that I am pleased that you did enjoy your stay until the morning of departure. Regarding your disagreement with the manager, I cannot understand your comments, I was here that day and was the person who booked in the replacement of 4 new carpets in rooms. The Carpet fittters began loading carpet into the elevator at 8.30pm, We are constantly making improvements at Cumberland and we do have a policy to do any works between 8.30am and 5.30pm when most of our guests are up and about and disturbances are limited. In order to keep improving we have to schedule works during these times.
You did yourself state you were attending breakfast shortly after this, Breakfast finishes at 9.30am weekdays so it was our thioughts that gusets would be awake and dressing by 8.30am . you also say you decided not to stay any longer than 10.30am due to the noise, although checkout is 11am.
Although I can only apologise for the disturbance, I do hope you understand our policy. It is also worthy to not that you did ask for a very heavy discount and also threatened a tripadvisor if discount was not received. TripAdvisor is a site that is available to the travelling public to post balanced reviews, not attain discounts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed at Cumberland for one night on 26th November 2011. A pleasant surprise after staying at an awefull pub in Weymout the previous night. Unbeleivably the owner of the pub wanted to charge the same price as the Cumberland although it was not ensuite and did not include breakfast. The room was also awewful. In contrast, the Cumberland was modern, with a
nicely decorated bedroom and ensuite bathroom. The decor in the bar, dining rooms and breakfast area was first class. The Xmas decorations which were present in every room, were outstanding and gave a real ambience to the rooms. The staff (who incidentally were mostly Polish) were extremely friendy and attentive. We had a social Xmas dinner and the food was very good.The only downside to the Cumberland (and most people agreed) was that every room was uncomfortably hot!!

Room Tip: Try not to get one at back of hotel or on first floor. It was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NORMANWSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear happy guest, I am delighted we were able to provide a great stay after your dissapointment in Weymouth. Regarding the hot function suite, we have scheduled air conditioning to be fitted in our 2012 budget to all function rooms and restaurants.
This coming month we are replacing all bedroom doors and locks with a state of the art system and are continually improving. One small point I feel I must correct you on is the nationality of our staff, We do have a small number of Polish staff, however the majority are from many European Countries southern and easter, as well as South America.
My staff will be thrilled with your review and I do hope you come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed here for 7 nights, our first impression.on entering ,this is a business hotel not a holiday hotel,how wrong we were,the room we were given was very spacious,side sea view nice tv and also very clean,the breakfast was one of the best we have had in thye u/k,one drawback if you are arriving by car is the lack of parking spaces although parking on the road is possible pay during the day, a really great location,we would recommend a stay at this art deco style hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fabian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear traveller, thanks for a super review, all the more valuable after a 7 night stay. The hotel caters to both business and Leisure guests, and we like to think we have something for everyone. Parking is first come first served with 55 spaces and plenty of on street parking in front of the hotel on the clifftop. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

we stayed here 2 nights from 25th november, 75 of us in total which included 4 children.Reception were very efficient at booking us in and making sure we knew what time to have evening meal and breakfast and in which rooms.Friday nights evening meal had great choice and was served quickly (no mean task feeding us all at once)the children were well catered for.We had a disco and were happy for anyone in the hotel to come and join us.
Breakfast saturday was servered until 10 oclock for those who want a lie in.Lots to choose from both hot and cold .
Saturady night was party night and the room and tables really did looked as if christmas had come early.Again food was servered quickly nothing being to much trouble ,the wine waiters were also on top of making sure our glasses were kept filled up !

The only complaint from our party was the couple in the next bedroom who found it necessary to shout and swear down the phone to complain to reception about the noise from the disco !! The famlies who brought the children to the party weeknd had no complaints about the noise .(and they were taken to bed early in the evening ).
This was our 6th year staying at the cumberland for our christmas party weekend and many of our party including us have stayed at the cumberland many different times through out the year ,so the hotel must be doing something right.
A very big thank you to all the staff for making our christmas party a very big success

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank t3awt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2011
Dear happy guest, thank you so much for such a great comprehensive review of your stay. It delights us all to see guests returning 6 consequetive years, which is since our initial refurbishment in 2006. I can only apologies for the shouting and swearing from Dennis N in the room next door. It is very difficult to control peoples behaviour once in their own rooms, however once alerted we can remove them from the hotel. Look foward to welcoming you back next year if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights from 14 November 2011. Impressed by the location and outside art-deco appearance, and the welcome that we received at reception even though we were earlier than the advertised room availability. We had room 211 which had a queen size and a single bed, 3 built-in wardrobes, easy chairs, 32 inch flat screen TV, and balcony with sea view. The room and bathroom were extremely clean.
Downstairs we found the public rooms were being decorated ready for the Christmas period, and this was being tastefully done to compliment the art -deco style.
We had prebooked evening meals in the Oceana restaurant, and found the head waiter and his staff all welcoming and friendly, and the menu varied with chef's specials on all courses.
The fish that we had on two evenings was probably the freshest and nicest we have ever had.
All of the food was well prepared and beautifully presented, with portions being very adequate.
Breakfast was a buffet arrangement, with a plentiful choice.
Overall we had a pleasant stay at the Cumberland, the only disappointment being that the evening entertainment was in the next door hotel, and as they had coach parties in residence there was never any seating available.
Based on this experience we will certainly use this hotel again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NobbyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just returned from the Cumberland Hotel, Bournemouth. We were booking through Groupon, but the hotel said they would match the price. We paid a little extra for a sea view room, it was lovely with a balcony and wonderful views. My only gripe were the vegetables with our inclusive dinner which were overcooked and also a bad choice to accompany Plaice with a sauce. Breakfast was a help yourself affair, great choice and cooked well. Staff from the moment we arrived were courteous and helpful. The hotel is decorated very well and on entering there was a really warm friendly feel. A great night away. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeysomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2011
Dear Happy Guest, Thank you for a super review, I am so pleased you found all staff corteous and friendly. We do have intensive staff training and are very particular about employment in regards to people who love the hospitality industry. I will mention to Chef regarding the vegetables and thank you for your comments. Hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,796 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#42 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing