We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay in a room near the staff service lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
UNITED KINGDOM
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't stay in a room near the staff service lift”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We we due to stay at the suncliffe hotel but on arrival we were told we were staying in the hotel next door which was the Cumberland and we were also told we had been upgraded to a better hotel! We were moved due to the suncliffe being fully booked for the following day. I was a bit angry that I was not contacted to being informed of this. However we were given room 417 which on entering looked fine we faced a courtyard after trying to relax after a long journey we were suddenly shocked to hear this dreadful noise which we eventually realised it was the staff service lift behind our bedroom the noise was dreadful it continued from 7am until 11pm. I mentioned to the receptionist the next morning that had we booked to stay longer than the weekend I would have requested another room. The bed was not very comfortable the mattress needed replacing, we also had a flood in the bathroom due to a fauly sink tap that spurted out water. Perhaps we were just very unlucky but it did spoil our stay. The breakfast the first morning we decided to have the cooked breakfast but it was cold however the dinners in the evening was delicious at least we can compliment the chef for that. The drinks were very expensive but we thought it was to be expected. The staff were all very polite and friendly but if I was to go back and stay I would definitely ask for a better room away from the service lift.

Room Tip: Keep away from room 417
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    1,108
    338
    130
    76
See reviews for
627
1,623
133
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for a funeral actually, and can't wait to return for a short break. The rooms were excellent, really good value for money. The staff were very helpful and sympathetic. The restaurant and bar were decorated ready for Christmas, and the quality was superb. The whole hotel is art deco style and well kept. There is obviously lots going on there in the way of entertainment. I will deffinitely be returning soon.

Room Tip: Well I would suggest a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesetears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

An excellent choice for a Christmas break-wonderful service by attentive staff, great food and comfort.

A West End 5* on Bournemouth seafront-well done everyone and thank you for an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Seafront with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilloutevents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night in the begginner of December for a works Xmas party.

Check in was quick, and we were directed to our room. The hotel, although a little shabby outside was very nice inside with a 'traditional seaside hotel' feel. The xmas decorations were lovely and gave it a really cosy feel.

The location was good.

The bathroom was fine, with a bath, overbath shower and plenty of towels.

I can honestly say I have never stayed in a hotel with more friendly staff. They were always chatty, without being cheesy, especially the Brazilian girl, Clarice, which has a proper 5 stars service to offer. we all loved her. Wish we could take her with us to every hotel we stay around the Uk.

I'm planning to go back for a weekend with my boyfriend, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lovely Staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBERT V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear happy guest, thank you for a great review, I am so pleased you found the Cumberland, and also that you recogniszed our customer focus by our staff. Hope to see you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Had our Christmas party here in early December and we were really impressed- food excellent value for money and beautifully presented-none of the usual 'plastic' turkey some hotels serve you at these event! On arrival we were greated by friendly professional staff and shown where we were to be seated. The hotels function rooms, bar area and reception were beautifully deccorated and there was plenty of entertainment on offer. We would definately recommend this as a place to hold an event of any kind and would like to return again next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Happy New Year, Cumberland excells during the festive season and all food is fresh and sourced locally, I am really pleased you recognised this. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a six nigh stay at The Cumberland takiing in the New Year. This is far from our first stay t this hotel, yet every toime we stay here we are impressed by every aspect. The staff at this hotel are all fantastic, from Helder the General Manager down. Helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble.Helder, you should be very proud of your team. As for the food, well this is first class.

New Years Eve was fantastic again, great entertainment and a brilliant atmosphere.

We will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
happy New Year to you, so pleased you enjoyed your New Year Stay, and especially the food and hopsitality. The General manager and the team here work exceptionally hard to meet all guests needs and provide a superb enviroment for leisure break guests, see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Having spent Twixmas at this hotel I am afraid I will not be spending another. The hotel has just been re-furbished and the decor is stunning. The food excellent and the staff could not be more helpful. Unfortunately if you want to get a good nights sleep make sure you get a room on the top floor. For the 3 nights we spent there we hardly slept a wink as the walls are so thin and the people above us seemed to spend all night walking around their room, knocking over tables and rummaging through their wardrobes. The floorboards groaned everytime they walked around and at one stage I even ventured upstairs to make sure it wasn't a general area or walkway that I could hear. The entertainment was horrendous, so much so that we went to the two sister hotels next door to see if there was anything better. It would be a good idea if management made a rule that no children should be left to run riot on the dance floor after 9 or 10 at night as it made dancing impossible for the adults not to mention how disheartening it must feel to the entertainers. The average age of the people staying at the hotel were older so I find it rather odd that they put on a disco with all the latest music as entertainment one night. That certainly chased the majority of the residents away. If the above could be rectified I would return as the Cumberland is good value for money and the location in Bournemouth is excellent but I doubt they could resolve the floorboard issue, though they could certainly improve on the entertainment by perhaps spending a bit more money on quality entertainers and perhaps a live band instead of a disco.

Room Tip: Choose the top floor so you don't have squeaky floorboards above you to keep you awake all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaidstoneGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
First thank you for noting that Cumberland is value for Money and well located. Regarding floorboards, as you state , we acnnot rectify this instantly. We are providing special underlay in rooms when re-carpeted and not all rooms have issues. It generally is only an issue when you have nocturnal guests( which are few) staying at the hotel.
Cumberland is a 1937 built Art Deco hotel, with lots of character including squeeky floorboards.
Lastly, The Cumberland only hosts Entertainment for residents during the 10 festive period. The three nights of twixmas consisted of one duo, one group and one retro disco, this to give variety to all guests, including families! I can only apologise if you stayed on the disco night and it was not to your liking. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing