We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cumberland on New Years Eve 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cumberland on New Years Eve 2012”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We went with friends the previous year for the first time and it was brilliant so we thought we'd go again this year.

Hmmm, maybe things are never quite as good the second time around. The hotel was beautifully decorated for New Years Eve and the staff were welcoming. The food was very good indeed but ... just as we were enjoying the conversation, wine and food of the main course, the disco started up. The volume of noise killed the conversation stone dead and we were more or less reduced to smiling at each other. Most of the other diners in our age group (50+), which comprised the majority in the dining room, also seemed to give up speaking or were reduced to shouting at each other.

Shame really and my wife said that we should have booked the early evening session as we would have avoided the disco situation.

I think we'll try some where else next New Years Eve.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank for for such super comments regarding the New Years Eve gala dinner and party. I really appreciate your feedback. I do hope you return and we do listen to our guests. We are already planning next New Year to have Two live bands and one disco, and all will start after the last desserts are served. Hope to see you back again to our extremely popular NYE Party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,581
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pieve emanuele
Level Contributor
456 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was in this hotel during my business trip in UK.
My initial choise was the Suncliff hotel, but due to the refurbishing of the reception, they have rebooked me in Cumberland, being it a part of the group.
Cumberland hotel is front beach, but due to room assigned to me, was impossible to see it.
I asked to have another room but they have asked an extra cost.
Inspite of this inconvenient and generally speaking the hotel is a good choice in Bournemouth.
The hotel has two different saloons close to Ventana bar where you can have a free wireless connection which run very well.
Restaurant is not noisy, elegant, clean and the foods cooked are in an high level, too.
Staff is friendly and pretty
The breakfast is generous from the choices point of view as the quality of the food as well.
Good choice for job, but also good one for family.
The rate of the room has been 39,00 pounds + 10 pounds for the breakfast.
I paid 25,00 pounds for a dinner choosing the daily favourite menu of the restuarant, which means appetizer+ fish with a generous cooked vegetableses.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOSS03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Apologies for your relocation to Cumberland during our Suncliff refurbishments. I am howver glad you enjoyed your stay, and the food and service. We are a hotel that suits business guests, families and leisure guests and am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed here in May, all i can say is wow. The public areas are super stylish. Cocktails in the lounge concocted under a huge ball of crystal are a good start to the evening followed by a delish' meal in the restaurant served by attentive staff. Breakfast was huge and very good. We stayed in a balcony room overlooking the swimming pool and the sea. Every thing about the Cumberland was good. Go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Try to book a balcony room overlooking the sea for space and spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
Thank you for you WOW review, it seems you had a great stay and I hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

As there have been so many glowing reviews of this hotel I don't want to repeat what has been said before. Suffice it to say that this is a wonderful hotel, splendidly eclectic in style with the friendliest and most helpful staff I have ever encountered at all levels from reception through maintenance. Yes, the rooms can be a little noisy but a word with the front desk will soon smooth out any problems especially if the radiant Rhiannon is on duty -- although all the staff were so friendly and helpful it seems unfair to mention only one. Customer service is the key to what makes this place tick so many congratulations to the management on their training programme (I was in the hospitality business in the US for many years so have some idea of how much hard work is involved in working with employees). Get dressed up as an extra from 'Poirot' and pretend you're Captain Hastings and Miss Lemon for a night while eating at one of the restaurants or dancing the night away! Oh, and pay extra for the sea view suites. They are enormous, superb vistas and worth every penny.

Room Tip: Not 416 or any of those near lift shafts. Ask not to be near any teens or rowdy young people if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
What a wondefull review, done with such elequence, thank you very much. It is true that training is done daily with all staff, and yes, it is hard work keeping service levels as friendly and efficient as we do, we know we are not perfect, but try our very best to give all guests the best possible experience.. I lived in the US muself for 10 years, and learnt a lot about customer service, I appreciate you recognising our efforts and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

I would just like to say what a fantastic break we had at The Cumberland Bournemouth. We did a last minute deal for 1 night with Dinner Bed & Breakfast. The ocean view balcony room was huge and very well decorated, the food was excellent bith in the evening and at breakfast. The staff were all very helpfull and attentive. I will definately go back again for a break.

Room Tip: It is worth getting an upgrade to seaview, the sunrise in the morning was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
thank you so much for such a positive review. Its always greatlly appreciated especially when staff and service is recognised as we do place much effort in training, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham , England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed here overnight in December following our works Christmas Party. Our room was a superior room but was at the far end of the hotel through several sets of double doors. The lift is very small and will only fit two people and a small case in.

The room was clean and bed comfortable. The bathroom had a vanity space but very narrow.

Although we didn't spend much time in the room, it met our needs.

At the time of our stay, there appeared to be several Christmas parties ongoing. My only comment is that I hope there were no other non party guests as the noise from the disco really carried and could be heard clearly in our bedroom.

The staff were very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast completely self service and was very tasty.

Would happily return

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Laurawest, thank you for taking the time to post such a great review, we are all pleased that the hotel met your needs and that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. During December, particularly on weekends, the hotel is majority full with Christmas party guests as Cumberland has an excellent reputation for providing great Christmas Parties. The very small number of Leisure guests if any are all accomodated on the fourth floor should it be required.
We hope to see you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston / Cornwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

What a " wonderful " 12 night break my Husband and I had over Christmas and New Year . We arrived on the 22nd Dec and stayed untill the 3rd Jan thereby incorporating the Xmas and New Year Package , sold by the Hotel as their " Super 10 " Package to which we added 2 extra nights .
WOW factor ..... the Decorations throughout the Hotel Public Areas especially those in the Lounge . WELL DONE .
The Staff at all Levels were extremley pleasant and efficient , and what a refreshing change to see SENIOR Management Staff not only on site and VISIBLE but actually assisting the general staff .
ALL food throughout our stay WAS EXCELLENT , especially the " Spectacular Grand Buffet " served on Xmas Day Night and Boxing Day where we tucked into the delights of half Lobster , Dressed Crabs in the half Shell and Scrumptious King Prawns . A FEAST WORTHY OF ANY CRUISE LINER !!!!!
We met many Couples on site who had been several times before over the festive period . We have already paid our Deposit for the Christmas period this year and indeed a short break at the end of March for my Birthday .
Okay , so sometimes the water at peak times in the bathroon was not as hot ! due to the Hotel being full BUT SO WHAT . We did NOT allow this one small thing to spoil what was otherwise a FANTASTIC Christmas Celebration time .

EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY . CANT WAIT TO GO AGAIN .

Room Tip: " Corner Rooms , especially on higher Floors , more space , more room , more light ."
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2012
Dear Valerie B, thanks for a super review and I am so pleased we provided the WOW factor during your Christmas and New Year break. It is hotel policy to have visible management about the hotel to support both guests and staff at all times, and it works well, I am pleased you recognised this and look foward to welcoming you back agin in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing