We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious views and beautiful food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cumberland. We were very lucky with the weather which gave us the opportunity to make the most of our 2nd floor sea view room with balcony. How wonderful to wake up to that view and be able to sit out in the morning or evening with a glass of wine and a good book.

The room itself was of a good size and had plenty of storage space. The bathroom was large though basic.

The hotel is decorated beautifully in the Art Deco style and has subdued lighting throughout the public areas which creates an atmospheric ambience. Although I wasn't brave enough to try the outdoor pool in early May it did look very inviting. The whole Lido Deck is very well laid out with dining, bar and sunbathing options available.

During our stay we enjoyed a wonderful 3 course meal in the Ventana Brasserie, where I particularly loved the Balsamic Half Chicken with Garlic and Rosemary crushed potatoes. We also loved the Sunday Dinner in The Mirabelle - another beautiful 3 courses and my Roast Rib Eye Beef was so tender it melted in the mouth. We also looked forward to our daily breakfast buffet and loved to relax in the Del Mar Lounge, where we enjoyed a huge but lovely cream tea and a couple of cocktails (Not at the same time!)

The staff were always pleasant, greeting you with a cheery "Hello" when they passed you anywhere in the hotel and all the reception and waiting staff that we came across were smart, efficient, helpful and customer oriented.

We were sad to pack up and leave but hope to revisit this lovely hotel before too long. Oh, one last thing - Free Wifi throughout the hotel :o)

Room Tip: We chose to book a sea view room with a balcony and would do so again. In that location you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theatremad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Its always wonderful to receive such a detailed and comprehensive review, particularly when it is so glowing. I can only thank you for taking the time to do this, and all of us at the Cumberland hope to see you again soon. It seems you experienced every aspect of what the hotel has to offer, once again a big thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,865 - 2,871 of 3,616 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed for a week at the Cumberland in May 2012. Despite awful weather we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is conveniently situated in the East Cliff area and is about a 15 min walk along the sea front to the town centre. The hotel is tastefully decoated in arty decco style and the food in the restaurants is excellent in quality and in value. The staff were efficient and attentive. There is an outdoor pool with a nice patio area around the pool which would have been lovely if the weather had been warmer. However the neighbouring Sea Cliff hotel which is owned by the same company has an indoor pool which guests of the Cumberland can use. Our only gripes which are minor are that the bedrooms are on the small side although adequate, but the walls are thin and every noise from adjacent rooms is audible. However despite these minor complaints we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Levla, thank you for such a super review, I am pleased you managed to sample both restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed. Most of the rooms at the hotel are medium to large, please do ask when you return and front office will be happy to accomodate you subject to availibility, hopefully next time the sun will be shining and you can enjoy the outdoor pool and lido deck.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We booked a one night stay to celebrate our 2 year wedding anniversary and were given the executive room which overlooked the front with an excellent sea view. We arrived at lunchtime and had a lovely lunch with an excellent menu choice. The evening meal was just as good.

What really struck me and my husband was the attention to detail not just in the rooms but throughout the hotel which was backed up with the high standard of customer service usually found in a five star hotel. Each member of staff we encountered and observed went out of their way to be helpful and courteous and seemed to take real pride in their role (from the cleaners to the managers) which is hard to find these days in the service industry. We highly recommend this hotel and will be staying with them again this year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Judy B, thank you so much for acknowledging the service and staff friendliness at the Cumberland. It vindicates the in house training and general staff moral at the hotel, which is always helped by guests like yourself who post their comments, hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

From the Isle of Man the journey was long, but the weather was good. Fantastic views out to sea and along the coast from our balcony. Clean and comfortable modern facilities within this "Art Deco" style hotel; staff friendly, efficient and helpful; food excellent, and plenty of it. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return without hesitation, the price was good as well. Just one blot on the landscape, for three of our four day stay the lift was broken and we were on the fourth floor, so it kept us fit as well!!

Room Tip: Choose luxury room with balcony facing the sea, it's well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Carole B, I have never been to the Isle of man, but its on my tick list. I am so pleased you enjoyed Bournemouth and your stay at Cumberland. Apologies for the lift issue, we do have a gold contract but unfortunatly were let down by a " part" issue, but all up and running now.
Hope you return again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Went with friends for a meal & had 4 courses for under £17 per head.
The meal was ample & hot & the service quick & friendly, we will definitely be going back again for a meal.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Holslover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Holslover, I must say I love your name, I love hols too! I believe you enjoyed our Sunday Lunch Roast, great feedback and comments, thank you for your post, and I do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Booked for a one stay on a meal/ bed and breakfast deal with my partner.
Although we arrived early we were able to check in and leave our luggage and car, although our room wasn't ready.
The hotel overlooked the sea and was a very nice 10 minute stroll to the pier/ town.
Loved the luxurious décor of the lobby and the bar - the sofas were very comfy! All of the rooms and halls had recently decorated. The bathroom was simple and clean and although not the newest, the shower was very powerful. Ladies be warned - there is only a 2in1 showergel/ shampoo provided. Next time i should remember my own toiletries!
As part of our deal had a three course meal, which was lovely. Breakfast the next day was good - the usual buffet affair with lots of choice.
We used the indoor pool in the sister hotel next door, which was a little disappointing. The spa area was quite small, the pool area was a bit tired and there were bits floating in the pool.
However, the outdoor pool at the Cumberland looked gorgeous. Had it been a nicer day it would have been great to sit outside or even have a dip.
The staff were all really friendly and helpful, greeting us and asking how our journey/ trip has been. The girl behind reception also showed us several routes into town depending on what we wanted.
All in all a most enjoyable stay and great value with deal we got. Would definitely return again - hopefully with a bit more sunshine!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Dear Tallulah2, thank you for a super review, its alays good to hear such comments about food and service. Maybe next time the weather will be kinder and you can enjoy the outdoor pool which is heated June-September!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I spent our 40th wedding anniversary at the Cumberland - a gift from our children.
They could not have chosen better.
From the momenmt we arrived we felt like special guests - even though no one knew of our 40th in the hotel.
The receptionist was truly professionally, friendly and very helpful.
Our room , with a four poster and a wonderful view of those white horses roling in onto the beaches.
We had our evening meal in the Red Room, where again we were spolit by the excellent service and great food. Ad a wonderful view .
Our room was spotless, immaculate and pristine.
When we had breakfast, the food was again excelently prepared, and nothing was toomuch trouble of any the staff I asked for help.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
219 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing