We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 3-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Having looked at the Trip Advisor reviews for hotels in Bournemouth, we opted for The Cumberland because we were impressed by the sheer number of (largely positive) reviews compared to others and the enthusiasm of the owner in responding to comments. We were not disappointed.

For a 3-star hotel (and it should be stressed it is not 4 or 5-star), it is simply excellent - although I should stress that we did play safe and took a high-end priced room with a sea-view on the top floor corner (Room 413 - recommended subject to only one comment below). 

Overall, the hotel has been very imaginatively restored and updated. The modern Art Deco style throughout the lobby, bar lounge and restaurant areas is very attractive. Our room was fine: well-furnished (yes, there was a hair-dryer), updated, spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and great view and balcony. The bathroom was large; but like the upper levels of many older hotels, the water pressure was weak. We ended up running baths rather than trying to manage the trickle from the shower. The management might consider that an electric shower could be more profitable than the water charges that follow from too many baths - but it didn't really detract from our experience. Because everything else was great.

From the welcome on arrival at reception (having parked our car almost just outside the front door), to table service in the excellent Ventana Brasserie, to our departure, the service and overall friendliness could not be faulted. The food - breakfasts and the two dinners we took in the Ventana - was first-class. Although there were wedding receptions taking place while we were there, we were not disturbed by them at all. We did not use the swimming pool because we didn't have time on the one great sunny day during our 3-night stay: but it certainly looked appealing. And the Cumberland has a lovely location on top of the cliffs - just a few minutes from the city centre.

So we have no hesitation in adding our recommendation - and we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSH-Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear cornwallroaming, WOW, what a wonderful and thorough review , I cannot tell you how pleasing it is to receive such a sensible and factful account of a guest stay from such a seasoned traveller, with 53 reviews. Your elequently put points are noted and praise upon the hotel welcomed. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,520)
There are newer reviews for The Cumberland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,671 - 2,677 of 3,520 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

 
 Pleasantly surprised with the Cumberland Hotel. On arrival the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The hotel is situated on East Cliff and is only a 2 minute walk from the beach and all amenities, so we never had to use our car whilst we were in Bournemouth. The bar and restaurant areas are very stylish, however the best thing about the Cumberland Hotel was the heated outdoor swimming pool which is great for both adults and children. Will definitely stay here again.
 
 
 
 

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Gill H, thanks so much for a wonderful review, its so pleasing to know you and your son enjoyed the hotel and service and in particular the outdoor heated swimming pool, hope to see you back again soon, and thanks once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Went with 2 children. They had a room with bunk beds and we had an adjoining room with double bed. Both rooms were very small and we felt quite cramped. The room for the children didn't even have enough room to lay a suitcase so all luggage had to go in our room. Decor is dated, you could say is in keeping with the theme, it just felt very tired to me. Lack of plug sockets in our room meant phone charges had to go in kids room. Also no wifi in our room.

Worst part was that during the night for some reason their was a tapping sound that was very loud. It kept me awake, as it was raining we thought it could have been a water pipe outside. We should have complained on the first night as it was still going on second night. I complained and they gave me some ear plugs. Also they gave me 30 quid off my bill in the morning when I mentioned the issue.

Bar area and outdoor pool are quite nice. The outdoor pool is heated, but not majorly warm and my girls who normally swim for ages in a well heated pool were jumping out after about 10 mins or so as too cold. Maybe more a function of it being England. We also tried the indoor pool in the adjoining hotel. This was very warm but the seating area is very very small and therefore if you want to relax and watch the kids in the pool it isn't really very easy to do. The indoor pool area is very dated in the adjoining hotel.

We quite liked the breakfast and the cream teas and cakes in the Ventana bar area were quite good although a bit pricey at 10.95 per person. We had dinner one night in the hotel and this was not great. Assessing the quality of the meal I would put in the average pub type area, more carvery quality than restaurant quality. Was £21 per head for meal, kids were 7.95. Add in wine and drinks and you hit 80 quid pretty easily, in a good pub near where we live it would be nearer 60.

Overall was really disappointed, the reviews I read before seem to be describing a much better experience. I think maybe the lack of sleep took the shine off the whole weekend. With food and drinks and accommodation I think I spent around 650 for the 2 nights, wish I'd gone somewhere else.

I won't be back to use my 15% off voucher for next visit.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid room 219 and 218 else you won't sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marekcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Marekcyclyst
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your recent stay. Whilst I can understand some of your comments regarding the hotel and facilities, I do have to say that many of the comments appear to be related to a vey personal opinion rather than a fair and balanced view or what the hotel promotes.
Your room was an interconnected suite of two rooms, with twobathrooms, two wardrobes, two TV's, two phones, ect, One double bed and one bunk bed. There are 5 sockets in the suite, granted maybe not ideally placed, but nonetheless plentiful for a hotel stay.
Rooms are very well appointed and decorated and fully equiped.
the outdoor pool is heated to a regular outdoor pool temperature, I t may have been that the weather during your stay made the longevity of swimming shorter than had it been a warm sunny day, as you state, most probably the fault of our tempramental weather this year.
The Hotel restaurant serves a 3 course meal for adults at £20.95 per person, this is a prix fix meal with several choices on offer, all from fresh home cooked food, it is Not a Pub or carvery, a Carvery is a self service operation with primarily roasts. The Mirabelle is a tableclothed full service Restaurant, being non self service prices cannot compare to a pub or carvery!
We also have the 2 Roseete awarded Ventana Brasserie for those wishing a different experience although this would have cost more for 3 courses.
The hotel has Free Wi-Fi throughout, there are one or two rooms were service is poor, but very few, and I can only apologise if yours was one of these. We are in the process of installing more routers to cover the blind spots, I believe it is about 4 rooms out of over 100.
In summary, I thank you for your comments, I do feel you have not fully understood the concept of the Cumberland experience which is fully promoted in our mission statement and website. We are an extremely well run 3 star hotel that acheives a very high standrad of food and service throughout, whilst making it affordable to guest not wishing to pay high prices for poorly run 4 star establishments. Our rooms are not promoted as luxury, but modern clean and well functioning with outstanding public areas, facilties and restuarants.I believe we acheive this most of the time and also can see the travelling community do to from this site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed for a 3 night break in a family room with a balcony overlooking the pool and with a fantastic view out to sea. The room was a good size for the 3 of us and very comfortable. The pool area was well kept and well staffed. The only let down was some of the guests who put down towels on the sunbeds before breakfast and then deemed to show up 2 or 3 hours later having secured the beds in front of other people. Please note that people not staying at the hotel also come in to use the pool and bar area so it can get overcrowded.The staff at the Hotel were all very polite and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mozHillingdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Mozhillingdon
thank you for your posting regarding your stay, Its great that you were able to enjoy the outdoor pool facilties, the staff, service and bedroom. We do have a notice poolside that forbids guests from leaving towels unattended for more than 90 minutes, although some do ignore this and its hard to police without upsetting someone!!
Non residents are welcome at Cumberland, although residents always have first option on the beds early morning, any that are vacant around lunch are offered to those patrons who are dining with us. Look foward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the cumberland in early august for a three night break, and was pleasently surprised as only a three star hotel. We had a slight problem with the taps in our room but apart from that it was a lovely stay. The staff were extremely polite and helpful the food in both resturants was very good, with lots of choice. The pool was warm, the outside area was very nice and the sun shone had a great time.

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel so no view but also no real noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We always go to the Cumberland when in Bournemouth. A really lovely Seafront Hotel with a touch of the continent with palm trees and beautiful swimming pool. We know quite a bit more expensive, but we always try to treat ourselves to a seaview room where you have an amazing view of all the coast to the right going towards Weymouth to the left Boscombe and beyond. The staff are lovely very friendly, food, comfort, and very clean. Also the decor throughout the Hotel is very modern and they keep up to date. Lovely bar area, with beautiful lighting. If, there has ever been a problem in the room, lighting, plumbing etc., they immediately send a maintenance man to repair the problem. When we are in the Cumberland, we know we are away and on holiday, there is a great atmosphere and they always do weddings, parties which must be wonderful in such a lovely hotel. There is only 1 problem, when very busy, can be extremely noisy like all hotels, people next door very loud & shutting doors from corridor to corridor. Also folk walking marathons upstairs from very early in the morning.... Otherwise we always have a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: If, you can afford always go for the seafront rooms for the fresh air and lovely views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbaralouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear barbaralouisa, thanks for being a regular guest, and for a fantastic and frank review of your stay. We do try our very best to give all patrons and guests of the cumberland the best possible experience within the restrictions of an old Art deco structure. Its always a pleasure to be told we are doing a great job, thank you once again and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Myself and my two boys stayed just the one night at the Cumberland and had a very good stay. I was a little worried about the room size as family rooms can be very smaill but was very surprised and delighted with the room. It had ample space and was very clean & fresh. The food was very good from dinner to breakfast! The boys had a wonderful time in the pool it was just a shame it was raining but they did not care at all!

The children and I are hoping to come and stay again as soon as we can.

Thank you to all the staff who were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Donna J, your thanks is much appreciated by all the team at Cumberland. I am so pleased your boys enjoyed the heated outdoor pool despite the rain Lol, please do come back and visit us again soon, the pool is heated throughout October and again next June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#14 of 67 in Bournemouth
160 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,032 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#22 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £55 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing