We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

It's our last night of another fantastic stay at The Cumberland. We really cannot praise this hotel highly enough. From the great rooms, the superb lounge, first class food and fantastic staff, this hotel exceeds all expectations. Thanks again to Helder and his team for making our stay so great. If you are looking for a hotel to stay in Bournemouth, look no further. This is where you should stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,717
    1,078
    333
    125
    75
See reviews for
610
1,580
128
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
basingstoke
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

We go to the Cumberland every year on a shift christmas party weekend for Portals workers and again this year was not a disapointment ,the Hotel was deced out with beautiful decorations and lighting,our room had been re decorated in red and black. The food was of the highest quality we stayed on a BB/EM basis , staff great in all areas of the hotel .The evening meal was served quickly and very hot all thanks to the girls and boys who seved us.Thanks to all cant wait till next christmas.

Room Tip: We always have a seafacing room with a balcony a little dearer but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I arrived very late after a cross channel ferry journey, approx 1am but the bar area was still abuzz on a Friday night, although just ready for closing. As it was late didn't get much chance to discover the hotel, but roomwas easy to find, single room but adequate but the shower unit
the following morning I found unworkable. Breakfast room was busy but quick service and good selection from the buffet and a very jovial restaurant manager overseeing made the mood on a very wet and dark day amiable

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

This was one of the poorest hotels we have stayed in.The bathroom was awkward to get into, up 3 steps at an angle, the shelf was so narrow we feared things would fall off with difficulty you might get 2 glasses and a toothbrush on it.The shower was one of the most ackward to use I have come across, the water was only slightly warm and the towel rail not even slightly warm.
Poor selection of tea/coffee/biscuits. the latter two tiny flat ones about 5cm long. There was no shoe cleaning pads or tissues in the room.
There is a very small lift max. 3 people (and then you were squashed) for a large hotel.
The breakfast was buffet. The water jug had a crack down it. One day the cups were dirty and we had to ask them to replace them. The cold ham appeared to have come back out day after day there were not many takers. Many other items ran out although we were down for breakfast early every day

Room Tip: Don't - go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Hallamshire, I am sorry that you found the Cumberland to your dislike. I always speak as I find and I do have to say that not only is there not a single positive coment with your post, it also appears that your expectations are that of at least a 4 star if not 5 star hotel.The Cumberland is Dorsets highest rated 3 star property at 88%. Items such as shoe cleaning and tssues are not found in 3 or even 4 star hotel bedrooms, Buffet breakfasts are served in even 5 star properties these days which seasoned travellers would know. You mention items not being available all the time. During quiter January months we dont leave excesssive buffet items lying around and often cook fresh as and when guest arrive for Breakfast, the hotel is not a fast food venue! I can guarantee that you nor other guests where ever without the full choice of Breakfast. I cannot comment on your water, as you did not report this at the time of your stay or anything else for that matter. I can state we have 3 maintenance engineers on site and any issues are dealt with quickly and seemlessly when and if reported!
You have chosen to highlight every thing that in your opinion disappointed you about the Cumberland, without consideration for such things as staff, customer service or food.. Tripadvisor is an excellent tool when used in the correct way! I cannot help but state that for your January Sale rate of £59 for two people with breakfast, you unrealistically expected a lot more than is possible to provide at that cost. Its also a shame you did not extend to the managers on duty at all tmes throughout your stay any issues or disappointments that would have been dealt with in a proffessional and courteous speedy way, even if it meant showing you a room that did not have steps to the bathroom or a larger shelf. You gave us no opportunity to do this. We always put our guest needs and requirements at the forefront of our strategy, and will literally do anything within our power to please our guests, although I cannot re-invent the wheel for those who have totally unrealistic expectations or indeed dont give us any opportunity to look at alternatives!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

My partner and I have just enjoyed a four nights' stay in this hotel for Christmas. The room was very comfortable and warm but the only word you can use for the food is FANTASTIC. The Staff were very friendly and the 'boys and girls' in the dining room worked extremely hard to make sure everyone was served quickly and efficiently. It was nice to be able to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine and a lovely meal without a lot of noise around you. There is only one lift but we did not mind going up and down the stairs as we felt we needed the exercise after all the food we consumed over Christmas. The only other drawback is the parking but, again, I did not mind paying for parking on the road outside as I was driving a hire car and did not want to get it damaged. This was my first visit to England since 2007 and although the weather was not good, I still think Bournemouth takes a lot of beating and would like to return again in the future, perhaps with better weather, and I woulld not hesitate to book in the Cumberland again. I wish a Happy New Year to all the lovely Staff there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayflower97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Guest Relations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Mayflower97,

Thank you very much for your candid view of a recent stay at the Cumberland hotel.
Our staff are by far our biggest asset and we place huge emphasis on proper training and care for our team.

I am sorry you felt that the parking was a draw back. We have supplemental parking in our two sister hotels (The Suncliff and Cliffeside hotels).

I am glad to read that you would return to us upon a future visit to England.

Happy New Year on behalf of all the team at the Cumberland hotel in Bournemouth

Best wishes,

Andrew Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

I came to the Cumberland for the third time for our works christmas party recently but this was the first time that I had booked a room. I got there early and checked in straight away so I could relax before the evenings festivities.

At first I was put in a pokey room right next to the elevator shaft on the 3rd floor which was noisy from the movement of the elevator, but I talked to the desk staff and they switched my room straight away to a much nicer room.

The meal itself was amazing and the staff both desk and service were exceptional. I had an amazing time as always and it was such a nice room to go back to after I'd had a few (easy to find too ;) )

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Stephen W,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Christmas party at the Cumberland hotel.

I am glad your room was changed quickly and without question, we always aim to resolve any
issues to the satisfaction of our guests.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed your meal too. Our food is regularly commended and I am glad to see this reflected in your posting,

I look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Kevin Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Staff fantastic, Food Fantastic and the cocktails to die for.....Thanks for a great break. Only one critscism is the print on the menu is very hard to read. Have a good party on sunday guys you all deserve it

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmthgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Dear Bmthgirl,

Thank you for your brief yet positive review of the Cumberland hotel and it’s facilities.

I have noted your points of the menu print. I do hope that you will return for another cocktail for two soon.

P.S. The staff party was a huge success, thank you ;-)

Best wishes,

Andrew Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing