We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent friendly”
Reviewed 4 February 2013 via mobile

Just spent another five days cant put into words how great helder and the team make you so welcome like visiting old friends always a smile to greet you we had a special weekend for us made extra special by the cumberland once.again many thanks

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    353
    130
    77
See reviews for
648
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We have just thoroughly enjoyed another lovely visit to the Cumberland hotel.
We checked in with Aliana who even remembered us from our last visit in early December. Aliana also recalled that my partner is highly allergic to dogs so checked us into a room that had been recently dog free . The management were dealing with a problem with the room key cards and without flap or fluster we were informed of the problem but they soon had the situation sorted out and all to their credit .
We ate in the Ventana grand cafe and were shown to our table by Simona who kindly remembered our favourite table and treated us with a friendly professional manner along with Pavel who informed us of some great menu choices.
The meal was very tasty and freshly prepared.
Our room was very comfortable and clean - the showers do need a bit of updating as the water temperature does not get very hot ( even when just using the hot tap)
However- We enjoyed a comfortable sleep in clean and comfortable beds and then came the triumph that is breakfast! We always love the breakfasts at the Cumberland ! Freshly prepared quality products such as fruit , cereal, meats, cheese , yoghurts and the cooked Buffett ! Top lush ! The duty manager kindly sourced an espresso for me at the bargain price of £1.50.

Many thanks to all staff and management for a lovely relaxing and enjoyable experience.We look forward to our next visit already !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Giles-wilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed 3 nights on a special deal and what excellent value for money. From our arrival right through to our departure the staff were really helpfull and very pleasent. Our room was more than adequate and very clean. The breakfasts were plentiful and our only comment here would be the food could have been a little hotter.The food menu during the day and evening was very good and the staff especially Simona were wonderful. The decoration in the hotel was lovely with all the art decor.So all in all a very enjoyable few days and we would definatley return.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed one night on a special deal. Paid for a sea view and sea is what you could see from the balcony and window! . Room rather small. Bathroom well appointed except it lacked a towel rail near the wash basin. Evening meal ok but not memorable. Breakfast very good. No complaints about food. All staff helpful, cheerful and smart. Nearly makes very good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear David L, thank you so much for your positive review. I am glad to sea you were able to take advantage of one of our winter deals. Should you return again may I suggest you reserve a room with Bed and Breakfast, and try our second restaurant the 2 Rosette Awarded Ventana, I think this may be more to your taste. When we do the on line deals, we offer our Prix Fix menu in the Mirabelle Restaurant. Please also let us know if you would like a larger room, most sea view rooms are quite a good size and if available we would be only too happy to show you one.
The team all appreciate your comments on the service and friendly attitude, Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

I stayed here in a family room with 2 friends last weekend and, whilst we had issues, such as towels, cups, etc only being provided for 2 in a room booked for 3 people, and a blown fuse for the kettle, these were quickly addressed as soon as I reported them and the staff at all times were helpful and friendly. I had no issues with the shower as noted in other reviews on here. I would reiterate that the walls are indeed quite thin but not a big problem. I like that the hotel had tried to go with the original art deco feel in its decor although it does come across as a bit of a knock-down version. For a 3-star hotel though, it was good value for money and in a good location for getting out an about in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The only downside to our stay, was the noise of heavy footsteps from the room above, which resulted in sleepless night's. I would definitely recommend this hotel. I am VERY particular about cleanliness and also about food quality - I was very satisfied with both and the staff are very obliging.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillyNewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Abbey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our second visit to this hotel, cannot fault it.the room was even better than last time, sea view from a side window, nice and warm and lovely hot water. Excellent staff nothing was too much trouble, superb breakfast and ate in the brassiere 2 for 1 in January it was great.excellent value for money booked through booking.com.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing