We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a great stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost a great stay...”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed Cumberland for my wife's bday. Family of 4. 2 boys (2 yr old & 3months)

Nice hotel. A lot of effort put into recreating the Art Deco style.

We stayed in Room 208. Family room overlooking the pool with a fantastic sea view. Booked through the hotel website for 2 nights (which turned out cheaper than anywhere else).

The room was fine. Just average really but didn't really want for much more. We were unlucky in that the people above us seemed to be training for a marathon and kept pacing around their room until about midnight on the first night. The kids managed to sleep through ok though.

Staff are all courteous and very professional. Breakfast is what you would expect from a buffet style affair however could do with more fresh fruits.

Only bug bear (apart from noisy neighbours) is the size of the lift. Not something I would normally consider ahead of booking a hotel but will do now. It's tiny and you will struggle to fit a large buggy in there. We have a phil and teds and there was no alternative but to leave it on the car! Weird when all the family rooms are on the 2nd floor?

Car park was fine. Although during peak times I could see this as being a major issue. It's very tight.

Great location and overall a pleasant stay. Would not recommend to families with younger children. Not very baby friendly. But judging by the number if senior citizens staying - I doubt they would care!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valdy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Valdy1976,

Thank you for your comments towards our décor, staff and value. I have taken your criticisms on-board as always and your review will aid us to make vast improvement with the hotel.

I am sorry to hear about the noisy neighbours and the lift size. All I can say I that lifts were more of a novelty than a requirement in the 20’s. We have a spate luggage lift for any bags of larger items and with only 4 floor it is rare that we have any major complaint in this area. I am very sorry indeed to read that you didn’t find us baby friendly – we welcome all ages and this simply is not true.

Regards,

Kevin Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    353
    130
    77
See reviews for
648
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Bought as a valentine present from my partner.

Hotel lounge is a fantastic place to relax and enjoy the ambiance. The hotel has the description accurate of the Art Deco theme and this is not a let down .

The room was small, clean and warm. Shower was a little bit on the weak side. But fine for £60 for 2 people with evening meal and breakfast

The greatest disappointment was the restaurant, which was sold as ' serving superb food' ! Both me and my partner found our meals far from superb , more average to disappointing.

The morning breakfast was a warm, nothing more than average.

Closing thought. DON'T PAY FULL RATE .You won't get value for money. But as a website offer £60 for two for one night evening meal and bed and breakfast it's okay ......

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Not_35_yet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Not_35_Yet, Thank you for your positive feedabck and your comments regarding dinner. As a hotel we all respect that each and every guest who stays with us has different expectations and opinions. As you rightly state, the offer of £69 which you took advantage, was a great deal. You will have noticed that we have two restuarants, the 2 Rosette Ventana, and our Prix Fix House Restaurant. The budget voucher you purchased included dinner in the house restaurant as I am sure you can appreciate with the added value, which is all fresh qualityproduce, cooked in a traditional way but obviously not to your taste. The feedback as you can see from this site has been exceptional regarding the hotel food on this offer. If you do choose to return, may I suggest you book on a regular rate and take the option to dine in our Ventana Grand cafe, Where I am sure you will be delighted with the experience. We do also have some superb offers in this Restaurant during the week which will also give you added value
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

We came to Bournemouth to attend a concert at The BIC so wanted a place to stay. The Cumberland Hotel looked a good bet and so it proved. Upon arrival we were greeted by the VERY polite reception staff and this turned out to be the way of things for the rest of our 2 night stay. The staff at this hotel are the most pleasant team I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at. The room was clean and well appointed. We decided to have a meal in the Ventana Bar & Brasserie and it was superb. Highly recommended.

A couple of small problems. The shower was very temperamental - it was either too hot or too cold and The Wi-Fi only worked in the bar while we were there. Neither of these problems spoilt what was a great few days away.

The hotel is very conveniently placed for getting into town. We will be staying here again when we visit Bournemouth.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KeithieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

we live in Bournemouth and stayed over for a wedding, the room was clean,first hotel i have stayed in were there are no toliteries supplied. If i was not a wedding guest i would not be impressed with the amount of music you can hear in your room .another negative is what they charge for a small bowl of chips £3.60 . this is a nice hotel and would recommend staying here as long as there is no private parties going on.They do a very good breakfast and could not fault the service.

Room Tip: we were in room 109 a very nice room but it is right above function room were parties take place
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotansunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Hotandsunny, well I must say I wish you had brought your namesake to the hotel this week, it has been very chilly outside! Thank you for such great feedback. If I could just highlight two facts that are misleading. In our efforts to be green , each hotel room at Cumberland does have toiletries, the dispensers that are installed in each room are Lux Hand Soap, and Dove Hair and Body wash. I can also confirm that we do endevour to use the few rooms affected by noise for guests attending the functions that are producing the noise, which is what happened with your room allocation. We also have a volume reduction at midnight, and inform all guests in advance of the function with a letter placed in their bedroom.
Once thanks again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Booked in for a valentines weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. The decor and ambiance is very good with the lounge being a nice place to chill out in. Our bedroom was with a sea view and balcony and was very pleasant. The meals were very good and the staff excellent.
Our only reason for not giving 5 stars is that the room aboves bed squeaked badly and the energetic couple above disturbed our whole night.
We will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our first stay in the Cumberland, such a lovely hotel. Our large room (110) on the first floor was well equipped with a large bed, double sofa & Chair. The sea view from the double window was perfect. The food in the hotel was excellent, the choice at breakfast was very good and in the evening we dined in the Ventana which was faultless. All the staff in the hotel were very pleasant and they made us feel very welcome and comfortable. The decor overall was very nice, downstairs was very trendy, modern and in art deco style, our room was red and black and although it did need a little bit of TLC it was still very nice. We had a wonderful stay in the Cumberland and we will return.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view on the first floor, although you can here a little noise from downstairs if you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdaveyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Our luncheon club visit The Cumberland Hotel for Sunday lunch about four times a year. The quality of the meal, reasonably priced, in the ambient surroundings of The Oceana Suite is something our members look forward to and go away having had a rewarding experience. The staff are particulary helpful, efficient and friendly at all times. Inevitably minor problems do sometimes occur,but not often. The staff usually rectify any such snags before you even realise it. Thanks to all at The Cumberland, it really is appreciated and we look forward to our next lunch in May. JM

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnRLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,000 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing