We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough - bear in mind the time of year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good enough - bear in mind the time of year”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Firstly - check prices with the hotel directly or shop around on Travelzoo etc. before going to places like hotel.com. The hotel itself offers some great deals, which hotels.com do not seem to offer. I am glad that I didn't pay the extortionate price quoted on hotels.com (about £278 for 2 nights in sea view room at this time of year where there is fog and rain!!), as I felt the price charged by the hotel directly in their deal was about right for this time of year.
I have given this a 3 because I felt it was an OK hotel, but I have been to much better, and I can see why it is a 3 star rather than 4 star. The rooms all differ in decor and what they offer. I booked a sea view with balcony, but the decor inside was quite tired looking (maybe I got a room that still needs refurbishing?!). The food on offer at breakfast is great, but the quality of the hot food can be improved drastically. The food at the Bistro, however, was fantastic, although you would have to pay extra for this luxury - but well worth it.
The hotel's WiFi is awful as it keeps resetting itself and one needs to keep re-entering username and password.
I thought the staff were consistently brilliant and very helpful. The room was clean and the bathroom was pleasant.
Overall it was fine, although I can imagine it would be much better in the summer, especially with sea view and balcony.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,779
    1,118
    345
    130
    77
See reviews for
636
1,638
134
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We spent a 2 night break here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our sea view room was beautifully presented and good value (booked through Travelzoo).
Food excellent although the wine was a bit pricey.
The staff are a medley of European nationalities, all very friendly and helpful and gave excellent service.
A couple of issues which for me stop it getting the full 5 stars - the people in the room above were continually walking around at all hours and the floorboards creaked! Reception seemed unable to stop them. Also the car parking is a bit sparse when the hotel is fairly full.
But overall I would go again if a decent price is available.

Room Tip: If you can get a top floor room there will be nobody above you !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

It's taken a while for me to review this hotel due to commitments however, I have taken the time & trouble because I want to share my very positive experience with others & believe you should know what a gem of a hotel this is! I went with my Mother for a mini-break during my half term from school (18th Feb) we stayed in Rm 114 it had a side view of the coast line & was very clean & comfortable. On arrival which was extremely welcoming we checked in & then had a fab brisk & blowy walk along the sea front. On our return we treated ourselves to a reasonably priced cocktail in the beautiful Art Deco lounge, changed for supper & proceeded to have a lovely evening (our three course meal, although basic, was included in the price of our 'deal'). I have to say, the whole experience from beginning to end was fantastic value for money & we couldn't fault it in any way. A very smart & stylish hotel with very friendly staff-well done The Cumberland, we shall tell all our friends & we hopefully will return.....

Room Tip: The higher you go the better the view at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Booked a good 2 night deal with Travelzoo for a short break. What a stunning location, overlooking Bournemouths East Cliff beach. The room was fresh, light & well designed. Comfy bed too, so had a good nights kip. Lovely outside sundecks & pool, good,spacious lounge areas. On our deal we had basic 3 course dinner included. It was really tasty & the dining area was calm & relaxing. Can't praise the staff enough. All were friendly, helpful & professional. All in all, a very well run hotel. Highly recommended. We will definately think of an excuse to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Me and my husband got married here in June 2012. From the day of booking all the way to the end of the wedding day the hotel staff were brilliant. Lisa was great in giving us all the information we needed and making our day extra special. The food was reasonably priced and tasted great. Everyone had a fantastic time and commented on how lovely the Oceana suite was. The Cumberland hotel made our wedding 100% perfect and I would happily recommend this to anyone who is planning a wedding to make this your venue! x

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjohn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Spent a night at the hotel last week. very pleased with how things went. Very attentive, polite staff, quiet room, nice food. great position overlooking the sea. Parking difficult when we arrived in the late afternoon but we found a space at a neighbouring hotel which was ok.

Room Tip: we had a room looking out to the side of the hotel which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wurzeljocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Another fantastic week here, staff are exceptional to the core !! Always pleasant , friendly and very helpful from reception to the bar staff and restaurant staff!! They always give more than 100% ,gaetano your a manager in the making !! Always willing to stop and have a chat when you have time! The same for all the staff ! It's like being part of a big family in this hotel and would highly recommend to everyone !!amazing!!!- thank you as always xx

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxy4605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,962 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,505 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing