We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“different”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

this is a quirky hotel with an art deco theme where you may get lucky and be upgraded to a very interesting room with a sun terrace and a fantastic view.
Food is very good with the buffet breakfast a real winner and evening meals really nice too.
Staff are always friendly and helpfull.
This can be a lively hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RICARDO118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,719
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,580
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed in room 305. Room large and clean. Bathroom also large but space used poorly - tiny bath with shower over it and just a shower curtain - no separate shower or shower screen or bathmat - these have to be requested from the reception. Radiator in bathroom only got warm to halfway - obviously in need of bleeding, but i had to report it to get it done. Beds very old and very worn and very uncomfortable - springs sticking out of the sides. Complained, but was told they could not replace the mattress but could give me a mattress topper. Helped but disappointed that they still have such poor quality beds. No flannels provided - just hand and bath towel. Breakfast uninspiring and 'hot' breakfast was cold. On final day hot water ran out at 7.30am. Complained but told it was because too many people having shower at once. Not once did they offer us a complimentary drink / afternoon tea by way of apology. Need lessons in customer service. Will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Su W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Sue W, I am sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Cumberland. Your comment regarding service are very surprising, I can only think you are referring to the front office, I do understand you were provided with a mattress topper as soon as you reported an issue with your bed. Service is about dealing with requests in a polite and prompt manner, something which I understand happened. We do not have a policy of offering things Free when requests are made and dealt with. Mattresses are replaced as soon as a negative report on them is confirmed. We have just replaced over 25% of our mattress stock with memory foam beds, and your room will also be assessed.
The heating at the Cumberland has been on constant 24 hours daily for many weeks now, and on occasion, in any building pressure can cause radiators to lose some of their heat, as soon as this is reported they are rectified straight away, we have 7 day service with maintenance and your radiator was rectified without delay on your request.
The bath is a standard size the same as any hotel, and not undersized, and a shower curtain is considered quite normal.
I cannot help but wonder if you expected more from the 88% rated 3 star Cumberland when sighting as negatives the lack of flannel face cloths and a separate walk in shower and bath. I would love to be in a position to provide all of these things as standard, however the room rates we offer make it a difficult task. We do feel that we provide excellent service, value for money and customer focused staff. I am aware we cannot please all of the people all of the time and thank you for your feedback on this occasion, without which we cannot hope to keep improving the hotel experience for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Stayed in March for 2 nights. Check in fast and efficiently dealt with by a chaming young lady whose name was Tyne ( please excuse if spelt wrong). The room was fabulous more like suite with a superb corner bath. The restaurant staff were really friendly with Romero (again apologies if spelt wrong) greeting everyone like they were family, our waitress ( whose name began with S) was attentive & efficient.
The only really negative was the bar staff who really let the side down, the attitude was nothing like the rest of the staff we dealt with during our stay.

Room Tip: Seaview are great and 2nd floo
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t1gerly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear T1gerly12, Thank you for a wonderful review and your super comments regarding the service, staff and your room. I note your comments regarding the Bar Staff and have already alerted the Bar Management and supervisors. Hope to see you return again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

from the minute we arrived the reception staff had a wrong booking for us, and were not very professional. We didnt feel it was going to be a good expeirence, but we decided to stay as we had booked in advance. Finally when they found the right booking at the right price we checked in. The rooms have all been refubished since this has been bought by Oceana Hotels. The decor is strong, black and red, not very relaxing. The corridors are very red, the room are tiny and the bed is smaller than i have ever seen for a standard double. We felt like the "borrowers" in the room, we felt oversized as the room was so small. The walls were paper thin, the car park noisy, the tv tiny and the whole experience couldnt have ended soon enough. We checked out first thing the next morning, even though we were booked in for 2 nights. Not for us. I am sure it would appeal to those who are looking for a good location for good prices, but the level of service is not that of a good star hotel. Shame it couldnt have stayed at the same decor that we remember over the ast 25years tha we have been coming to bournemouth. One last thing. The water was not hot. That was a real shame.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninae123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Ninae 123, the Cumberland has invested millions on bringing the hotel and its decor in line with today's modern expectations. I am afraid I can make no apology for the bold decor, which reflects the hotels past Art Deco history, It is by the vast majority exceptionally well received, and the improvements that have been made to the hotel are why it is now 88% rated, and it enjoys many regular visitors who are looking for something different. The room sizes are the same as when you have previously stayed, as are the walls, and leaving the decor as old fashioned browns would not have changed this fact. The hotel TV's are at a minimum standard 22" although many are 29". The Car Park is like any other, when cars come and go, there is noise I am afraid.
I do wish you had mentioned your disappointing with the room during your stay, I am sure we could have accommodated your needs. I also wish you had used the internet to view the hotel before your arrival, you would have noted its style and decor in all the pictures that proved genuine and updated information. We are constantly improving the Cumberland and love to hear constructive criticism, yours serves no constructive purpose, and is clearly a spiteful post that serves only to damage the hotels reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

I loved this hotel. The service was impeccable from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. All the staff we met were, without exception, lovely. We stayed in room 107, a lovely twin bedded room on the first floor with a view of the sea and a huge terrace. Plus points were the size (big!) the amount of storage (loads), the cleanliness and decor. The only real negative was that the smaller of the two beds wasn't nearly as comfortable as the larger bed (for some reason the twin room came with 1 x double and 1 x single). For two adults sharing, the mattresses should have been of equal quality. The communal areas in the hotel were very decadent and more in keeping with a quality four star hotel. We pre-booked dinner on both nights which was definitely the right decision. The food was fantastic and the service was super efficient. Veggies need not worry because unlike a lot of restaurants, the veggie option was as imaginative as the meat and fish options and not an afterthought. Would I stay at this hotel again? Absolutely, if only to experience the incredible service again. I hope the managers of this hotel realise what an asset their staff are.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This hotel occupies a classic deco building, which the owners have not so much conserved as celebrated, by investing in a style which brings it up to date but with a nod to its era. Kitsch more than deco, its public spaces in particular are huge fun. The buzz around the bar and restaurants reflected this, together with the very good levels and professionalism of staff. The kitchen seemed geared more to quantity and value than quality or cuisine, however. Ingredients at breakfast were not of a standard to match the surroundings. Great location with sea views and easy to find.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - why not?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

We came with a coach party from Yorkshire - some people had stayed at the Cumberland many times - for a four-night stay. Room 224 looked OK with twin beds but the bathroom was freezing. Having complained at reception a couple of times we were told that we had to use the hot water supply which would then heat up the rail. No it did not. A portable convector heater was provided on the first evening and next day we requested a move to a warmer room. The staff could not do enough for us.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floors are quieter with better views over Bournemouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#39 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Lastminute, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing