We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try especially for a night plus dinner and show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Worth a try especially for a night plus dinner and show”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for one night as we wanted to see Diane James, Lea Martin and Paul Shinar again. Believe me this is a show well worth seeing the trio are such wonderful singers who have fantastic rapport and are true entertainers.
The hotel was value for money, breakfast was excellent and the staff were all attentive and accommodating.
The room was okay, could do with updating and I found the bed a little soft, but it was very clean and perfectly adequate.
I would recommend if you are not looking for a luxury experience, the staff and location we're perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear jandmoz,

Showstoppers are excellent. They are great singers, but they also are great entertainers, which make the difference. We do various entertainment nights throughout the year, and if you are interested it is worthwhile contacting us. We love putting a 'show' on!
Your comments will be investigated regarding the bed.
Thank you for your review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,127
    351
    130
    77
See reviews for
646
1,650
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Second visit to the art deco style hotel - such friendly people - booked on a special dinner b & b deal with ocean view room..... we were delighted to find on arrival we had been appointed a suite - WOW! Massive bed, so comfortable and separate seating area, two t.vs. The dated en-suite didnt detract from our wonderful stay (hotel in process of refurbishing I believe). Excellent evening meal with a very good selection. Lovely to lie in bed at night with the balcony door open listening to the sea.

Only two very minor gripes.... no tea spoon for the cofee and a chipped mug. However, will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth opting for sea view with balcony... lovely lying in bed with the balcony door open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupdragon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear soupdragon65,

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The suite is an amazing room, with almost the best views in Bournemouth.
Thank you for your fantastic review, and we hope to see you at the Cumberland again soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in May, its a nice Art Deco hotel & has a great feel.
My room was small, but perfect! Well decorated and with everything needed for a comfortable stay.
This is a great 3 star hotel! Good location & the staff are very efficient & helpful.
I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Popp2k,

Thank you for a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Great comments.
We hope to welcome you back at the Cumberland soon!.

Kind Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

It was certainly not one of the best hotels I have stayed in.
The downstairs area has been thoughtfully done in an Art Decco style. We had one of the smaller rooms without a view it was ok, very clean, but a bit over priced for what it was.
If you want a quiet weekend away forget it; this hotel is not for you. There seems to be a lot of events taking place and it is probably very good for hen, stag nights and weddings. But if you go for peace and quiet forget it. There was quite a lot of noise in the evening up until 2.00pm and it all started again at about 6.30am can’t blame the hotel rather the inconsiderate guests. But I did not need a knock on the door at 9am from the cleaning staff. With hindsight we should have put a sign outside the door the evening before.
We only had breakfast so cannot say what dinner would have been like (it has been rated well) but the breakfast was not good the sausages were rubbery and undercooked, I did not try the bacon as it looked a little pink for my liking. I found the coffee too weak (but I accept that not everyone likes strong coffee) and there were long queues for the toasting machine, however there were no queues for the toaster!
The service in the bar was good and they had plenty on offer.
We hoped to use the leisure facilities next door but found that the Jacuzzi was closed.
Some of the staff seemed very efficient but many seemed a bit like automatons. I have rarely seen so many people trying to look busy and efficient. They seemed unable to pick up on customer’s needs, I only saw one person actually do this effectively; for example was not easy to get a second cup of coffee in the morning and they tried to take our plates away while we still had food on it we were still eating, could have asked first.
Overall we were rather disappointed. We would have liked to have said something at the time but did not like people to think we were after a discount. It would have been nice if at some time someone had asked us how our stay was, I especially expected to be asked when we booked out; then we would certainly have fed back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Yvette, First may I say I find it strange that you posted a 3, yet your partner posted the same review as a just a one below. The team at Cumberland are genuine hard working and customer focused staff, and it never ceases to amaze me when people like you could go to the trouble of opening TripAdvisor accounts to vindictively harm and upset them and their place of work. As you and your partner below both state, you made no mention of any disappointments at the hotel, a hotel that employs 6 Duty Managers. Your review was posted the day after my response to your partner, I think this speaks volumes about your intentions, and I am most certain that whilst TripAdvisor is used by the majority as a tool to assist the travelling public, this was not your goal.
You will be pleased to know that we hosted a sausage tasting breakfast weekend and have an overwhelming winner chosen by our guests, that will be our new sausage, its unfortunate that you wont be trying one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I booked a surprise party for my wife's 30th birthday the first bank holiday in May, we had the function room from 19:30-0100. First impressions of the hotel are lovely location amazing decor and very helpful reception area staff. Although I managed to pop in a couple of times due to me working overseas most of the party was arraigned in the initial meet and in emails, but each time I did make it in to the hotel Lisa (events manager) was around to answer any questions. The night was well organised by the staff the buffet received good comments from the guests, the house DJ was very good and had a good report with the guests too. One small negative was that although it was a private function I twice had to ask uninvited people to leave. Maybe if there was a sign on the doors stating it was a private function that may not happen? This may well normally be the case but as it was a surprise party the signs may not have been used? The party guests share the main bar with hotel guests and the public which could get busy, leading to 10-15 waits at some points. If a small area at on end of the bar was for party guests with 1-2 dedicated bar people it may have been quicker. The bar prices were at the top end of what people will pay, but I guess that's because it is a nice venue.
We stayed overnight the same night in a sea view with balcony room. I have no complaints about the room what so ever. Nice decor, very spacious comfortable bed just what we needed after a good party. The buffet breakfast was also included and again no complaints lots of choice poached eggs were orders and were there by the time I'd walked back to our table. Over all a wonderful venue brilliant staff I would highly recommend the Cumberland hotel Bournemouth for a stay or a function.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugwash265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Pugwash265,

Many thanks for writing such a lovely review. We are very pleased that your event went well. The Oceana Suite is a great function room, and your comments have not gone unnoticed. We will review. Compliments regarding the buffet and the DJ, thank you. Our resident DJ always gets the crowd going! We hope to welcome you back to the Cumberland again soon!
Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed at the Cumberland twice this year so far and would definitely recommend it as a base for visiting bournemouth. The rooms are a little dated and could do with some updating but the bar/restaurant areas more than make up for this. The decor in the bar is so inviting you never want to leave, their cocktail menu is varied and good value. The staff are so welcoming especially Carlos who couldn't do enough for us and was so friendly and professional - an asset to the hotel. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luckyp1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Luckyp1987,

Thank you for your review! Very pleased that you recommend us, and comment on our customer service. Carlos is very chuffed, so thank you from him. We are very proud of the bar/lounge areas, and yes they are a great place to sit back and enjoy a cocktail. See you soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Noisy. Friday and Saturday akin to living in a kettle drum.
Complain. Staff response, smiling indifference.
Rooms basic and tatty.
They state that they have spent an enormous amount of money on refurbishment. Certainly not the bathrooms and bedrooms.
Decided not to dine as the service and quality might have been to the standard og the main hotel.

Used for hen and stagg avoid if possible

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Guest, I am sorry you did not find The Cumberland to your liking. It is Bournemouth s highest rated 3 star hotel at 88 % and does have one of only 5, 2 Rosette Restaurants in Bournemouth. Most of our rooms are of a good size, but we do have some budget singles and doubles which are smaller and sold with price to reflect this. We do not have any tatty rooms, and our food is locally renowned for being of extremely high quality for your information. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,993 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,908 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing