We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Family break 22nd- 25th May”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Owing to two family bereavements in just 25 days, I felt it was the right time to visit one of our favourite hotels. So with my two brothers and wives we spent a few days relaxing and enjoying
the first class service and food at The Cumberland. From the hotel management onwards
everybody was so helpful and kind (even when my sister-in-law was taken ill and para medics called ) nothing was too much trouble.....Margaret was a gem and the young lady who waited
at our table Solange was excellent in manner and service..........and I should also like to thank
Hana for arranging everything so professionally. Thank you all. Mike & Maureen Hooker

Room Tip: All the sea view rooms are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickmole10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,508 - 2,514 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights,staff ambiance,cleanliness polite,and as for the food 5 star without a doubt.Everyone made us welcome and were so helpful we will return.Has to be the best 3 star we have ever stayed

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleym2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear shirleym2013,

Thank you for such a fantastic review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel, best in Bournemouth.

Hope to see you at the Cumberland again soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Just back from The Cumberland, again! celebrated our silver wedding in January there! what can I say except everything up to usual standard, particularly food and service from the staff! pity we couldn't use the great chill beds by the pool, it was just too chilly! The Cumberland and Bournemouth simply the best!

Room Tip: worth paying extra for sea view as rooms are really great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mancity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Dear mancity99,

Great comments in your review! Thank you! The weather has been very chilly lately, we haven't really had any real decent days for guests to use the lovely outdoor area, such a shame. But the Cumberland as a lot more to offer, so we are very pleased that the weather did not deter your stay with us.
Hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I had a very relaxing and enjoyable lunch at the Cumberland hotel in May 2013. I don't normally eat beef as I can't cook it, but it was cooked to perfection here. The same could be said for the tender vegetables, crisp parsnips and roast potatoes and a good thick, wholesome gravy. The service was top notch with staff being very attentive and taking on board special requests for selections from the menus. The surroundings are very modern and to a high finish. All in all would definitely recommend this as a hotel to stay at or even just to have a meal in. The beach is handily located 2 minutes walk from the hotel to work off those extra delicious calories :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidI85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Davidl85,

Thank you for you posting! Fantastic that you had a good Sunday dinner at the Cumberland. Lovely compliments, thank you. Chef, will be happy to read your review. Hope to see you soon!

Kind Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

5-10 mins walk to centre. Overlooking the cliffs looking own on the great Bournemouth beach. The are paths and lifts down to beach not far from the hotel.
The hotel was modern and well decorated. Room was slightly pokey but then didn't expect much more as a single but adequate. Very quiet location with great nights slep
Good breakfast and friendly staff, although slightly disappointed they didn't allow me to park car there once checked out.
If I returned to Bournemouth I would stay here, especially with the great deal I got last minute (at that price can't many better hotels in he uk!)

Many thanks

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodgeinbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear bodgeinbristol,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The Cumberland is in a great location with stunning views. Car parking is a premium in Bournemouth, and can only imagine we were very busy on the day. Otherwise it is usual that guests are able to leave their car in the car park for a few hours after check-out, dependant on arrivals.
But a very nice review, thank you. We hope to welcome you back to the Cumberland again soon!

Kind Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed for one night as we wanted to see Diane James, Lea Martin and Paul Shinar again. Believe me this is a show well worth seeing the trio are such wonderful singers who have fantastic rapport and are true entertainers.
The hotel was value for money, breakfast was excellent and the staff were all attentive and accommodating.
The room was okay, could do with updating and I found the bed a little soft, but it was very clean and perfectly adequate.
I would recommend if you are not looking for a luxury experience, the staff and location we're perfect

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear jandmoz,

Showstoppers are excellent. They are great singers, but they also are great entertainers, which make the difference. We do various entertainment nights throughout the year, and if you are interested it is worthwhile contacting us. We love putting a 'show' on!
Your comments will be investigated regarding the bed.
Thank you for your review, and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Second visit to the art deco style hotel - such friendly people - booked on a special dinner b & b deal with ocean view room..... we were delighted to find on arrival we had been appointed a suite - WOW! Massive bed, so comfortable and separate seating area, two t.vs. The dated en-suite didnt detract from our wonderful stay (hotel in process of refurbishing I believe). Excellent evening meal with a very good selection. Lovely to lie in bed at night with the balcony door open listening to the sea.

Only two very minor gripes.... no tea spoon for the cofee and a chipped mug. However, will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth opting for sea view with balcony... lovely lying in bed with the balcony door open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soupdragon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear soupdragon65,

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The suite is an amazing room, with almost the best views in Bournemouth.
Thank you for your fantastic review, and we hope to see you at the Cumberland again soon!

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £50 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing