We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went there on a special Travel Zoo deal, for £59 ..1 night stay with breakfast and 3 course evening meal for 2
Fabulous room, breakfast and evening meal
The staff were polite,friendly and very efficient
Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luciene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear luciene,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay. We are pleased that your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    353
    130
    77
See reviews for
648
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just back from a two day package at the Cumberland with my wife and sister and brother-in-law.
As other reviewers have said parking can be a problem but I managed to park in the next door hotels car park. The staff are very nice and the checking in quick. The evening meal on the Sunday night very good had the roast rib eye just perfect breakfast were more than enough buffet style every thing you might want from cereals to full English.

Room Tip: 419 has a dripping sound you hear when trying to sleep think it is coming from the adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear allan t,

Thank you for your review. Good review, and pleasing result that your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a night here with my brother and his partner from Canada on the amazing TravelZoo deal - incredible value. We paid the extra £20 per room for two rooms on the front with balconies. Both rooms had four posters and we had a suite with a large sitting area. Although the weather was showery, the views were wonderful, and the service and the food were as usual great. We felt really cherished - the receptionist even remembered me from last time. OK, the bathrooms are a bit quirky, and the lift is the smallest I have ever seen, but this is all part of the experience of staying in an Art Deco gem.

Room Tip: We had two rooms on the top floor - 405 & 411. 405 is the suite, and is on the corner of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin_and_Kathy_Winc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Colin_and_Kath_Winc,

Thank you for your review. A very pleasing review. It is always rewarding to read when guest has had an enjoyable time. Thank you for a glowing review.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel between 4 and 8 Nov. When we first saw the view from our room we were over the moon. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. The bed was very comfortable and reluctantly we got out of it for our breakfast which was delicious. We also ate on 2 nights at the Ventana. The food there was perfectly cooked and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear ANN L,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased your experience was enjoyable, and thank you for your compliments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Cumberland again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Have been here for meals in restaurant - great service, good food, lovely outlook, super décor. Also for 80th in that lovely round room, all decked out in black and white when we came. Must put record straight - Vivienne H did not get married recently here (my friend Moira did) so please don't take on board what I APPEAR to have written as that was not me.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivienne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear vivienne h,

Thank you for your review. Thank you for the kind compliments, and great to hear your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night after the reviews I had read beforehand. We arrived at the hotel at about 5.30pm and VERY lucky to get the last parking space. There was a wedding reception on so presume this was the reason. We got to our room which was quite basic, there were spiders and cobwebs in every corner of the ceiling but other than that seemed quite clean. When we tried to use the shower the cold water seemed to be non existent so we spent a good 10 mins making sure the temperature was good enough not to scorch ourselves. The beds seem to be quite worn down, the springs had certainly gone but they still seemed relatively comfy. It did get very very cold during the night so if you do come along in winter make sure you bring thick pyjamas. After a half decent sleep we were abruptly woken by the cleaners in the room above us. The walls and floor are so thin we heard everything, even one of them sneezing felt like they were in the same room. Just outside our door also seemed to be the meeting point for guests, as they chatted away so in the end we decided to just get up and go. We didn't even take advantage of the breakfast.
The hotel itself is quite a walk to the city centre as well which we weren't looking for so all in all we wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 320 which faced the car park. Unless you want to be woken by cleaners walking arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carls247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear carls247,

Thank you for your review. My sincere apologies for the disturbances you received.
All your comments will be investigated, and dealt with.


Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend for my birthday. We had a double superior room with a balcony overlooking the sea, it was an excellent view. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. On arrival we drove into car park of hotel and as it was full, we parked on the street at the back of the hotel, as we were checking in, we were told that street parking was permit holders only for residents. The staff then gave us a permit allowing us to park in the hotel next doors car park, very helpful.
We had drinks at the hotels bar in the evening before venturing out. The town centre is five minutes in a taxi away. The second evening we had a three course meal in the hotel restaurant. The service and food were amazing. The staff are a credit to the hotel. Excellent. We come to Bournemouth a couple of times a year and we will definitely be returning to this great hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank T0mmydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear TOmmydee,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay. Thank you for the compliments regarding the staff, it will be very rewarding for them to read as I know they follow Tripadvisor.

We look forward welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing