We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break at a lovely, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing break at a lovely, friendly hotel”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This was my second trip to The Cumberland Hotel, as I visited with my husband and two children last October. I had no hesitation in returning (and will be back again!) - I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bournemouth now.

On this occasion, I went with a friend for a relaxing midweek spa break (to include dinner, bed and breakfast, afternoon tea and a spa treatment).

Top five good points:

1. The location - it's a stone's throw from the sea and a lovely walk into town - we walked there and back twice along the beach, on what was almost a summer's day, the weather was so amazing (for October, or even for summer in the UK!).

2. The theme - I love Art Deco styling and it feels luxurious just by virtue of all the mirrors and twinkling lights.

3. The staff - they're extremely friendly and helpful and genuinely care about your experience when staying there.

4. The spa - again, incredibly friendly staff, a really relaxing atmosphere and a fabulous massage!

5. Cocktails! They were very good indeed.

A couple of points for improvement (but nothing that would stop me returning):

1. The bathrooms are a bit tired - or were in the two rooms I've stayed in here. Having peeped into one of the other rooms as it was being cleaned just before we checked out though, I think they're being refurbished, so I hope that next time I go back, we'll get a nicer one! They're perfectly clean, but they could be improved.

2. The scones for the afternoon tea were a bit dry (as if frozen and defrosted, though one of the other people in the restaurant mentioned it very politely whilst we were there and was told this wasn't the case).

But that's being extremely picky and it shouldn't put you off visiting this hotel - we'll definitely be back, and maybe we'll try a different month next time (possibly one where we can use the outdoor swimming pool at the front of the hotel!).

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are superb - especially the ones on the first floor with the massive terrace and star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Tantjane,

Thank you for your review. Great review, highlighting your top 5 points.

Your mention regarding the scones has been highlighted with chef.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    353
    130
    77
See reviews for
648
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Loved the hotel and the staff! The rooms are nicely decorated, the bar is just simply amazing. Great music and just enjoyed being there and doing nothing, I had to remind myself that I wanted to see Bournemouth as I just wanted to lounge there! Breakfast was full of stuff to choose from. Many thanks to Helder for his service, and the reception staff! Very knowledgeable about things to do in the area!

Room Tip: Try to get the ones with balcony:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Mirta A,

Thank you for your review. Superb comments regarding your stay and breakfast.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I regularly walk the cliffs and beaches from Hengisbury to Sandbanks followed by a lunch but we only discovered the Cumberland's Ventana Grand Café today! What a gem have immediately got a loyalty card and will feature regularly in our 'Top' lunch venues. The quality, quantity, presentation & service (thankyou Trinidad) were all 10/10.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Roger A,

Thank you for your superb comments regarding your lunch experience.

We look forward seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here on 17 November for one night on a Travelzoo deal. The public rooms are fabulous in true art deco style, our room which we upgraded to a seaview/balcony was a little tired but clean linen & towels. To be fair this is a 3 star hotel billed as 5 star service which they deliver. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Olga on reception and Sam who fixed our bedside lights. The food was reasonable but as it was a Sunday the choice was limited and mainly roasts. Great location and use of sister hotels....will return in the summer!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane635924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operation Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Jane635524,

Thank you for your review. Great comments especially commenting on our great customer service. Also your special mention of Olga and Sam, they will be pleased reading this.

We look forward welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

visited for a meal with friend, hotel looks beautiful with all xmas decs & lights, lovely ambiance in restaurant & efficient service,staff friendly. Have visited before a few times in day, evening& also attended a wedding, always delightful & v clean. Have not seen rooms but never disappointed. free parking limited but you can pay & park on the clifftop outside the hotel. Good customer service afterwards from bar if any queries & dealt with by phone & email quickly, thank you Christain. I will be back.2 for 1 meals also a bonus midweek!
ps lovely french onion soup too!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Sue2harvey,

Thank you for your review. The team well be enthused reading your lovely comments.

Please visit again soon

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Mananger

P.s. decs are still being added, be sure to visit for coffee in December
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chessington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed the Cumberland Hotel on a special Travel Zoo deal for £68.00 dinner bed and breakfast, the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them and the food was amazing, my husband is the most fussiest of eaters but the dinner you could not fault, he had steak, he said it was the best one he has had in years, cooked to perfection, the room was lovely, and the lounge was a very peaceful place to sit with really comfortable sofas, all in all could not fault anything and we really cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best as you can have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear debbie r,

Thank you for review. Great comments regarding your stay and the food.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have just got back from a lovely nights stay here. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was nice and clean very good value for money with a nice view and the balcony was a nice touch. Breakfast was very nice and easy as you just helped yourself. Will defiantly come back as had a lovely weekend.
Paul haden and Stacy warnes

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warnesy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Paul and Stacey,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your stay was enjoyable. Great comments, thank you.

We will look forward welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,999 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
138 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,922 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing