We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great three night stay at this "Smiley" Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great three night stay at this "Smiley" Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Couldn't fault Staff and Management at this very attractive Hotel, couldn't do enough to make sure we enjoyed our stay.Lovely room and bathroom, very clean.The food was excellent and served by very attentive and friendly Staff.I have named it the "SMILEY" Hotel as everyone around us Staff and Visitors seemed to be always smiling.We felt Management really cared that we enjoy our stay, and we did......looking forward to returning.....June and John xx

Room Tip: We always like a high floor....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJP33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear JJP33,

Thank you for review. Great comments regarding your stay. We are pleased your experience was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,720
    1,079
    333
    126
    75
See reviews for
611
1,581
128
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

If you can get this hotel at a cheap price, then yep, given the location this is an ok place to stay. BUT don't stay here in the summer season you will be overcharged! It's heavily over priced for what you get. I paid approx £400 for 2 nights. NEVER AGAIN! The room was not clean and the bathroom was horrendous. I agree with other BAD reviews on this site - they have spent money on the public areas but not on the bedrooms. Never have I been so pleased to leave a hotel. I did complain at the time and asked to swap rooms but I was told this was not possible as the hotel was fully booked. The rooms on the hotel website look lovely but the room that I stayed in certainly did not live up to the pictures I saw on the Cumberland website.!

I am sure that given this is a TERRIBLE review then the management of this hotel will post a scarcatic response. I can only reiterate the title of my review …..

Only Stay If You Get It At A Cheap Price!

Room Tip: Book a room a the premier inn!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank holidaysunshine99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KevinWood, Owner at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear guest, we are all perplexed as to why you would open a Tripadvisor account to post such a vindictive review in December from a stay in July, which has virtually no content or genuine description. Your use of capitals for every generalised bad word speaks volumes as well as not a single compliment, and we do wonder if you have every stayed at the Cumberland. You also don't seem to believe we should have an honest right of reply!You try and refer customers to bad reviews, of which thankfully there are very few in recent years. In contrast, the hotel was awarded the best large Hotel winner at the Bournemouth tourism Awards in November 2013, for the Cumberland a second time achievement in the past 4 years. I will leave the genuine travelling public to make up their own conclusion to your viscous post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Went for an overnight stay in October, hotel has some lovely Art Deco touches. The staff are friendly ,room okay size ,large bathroom, very clean enough storage. Had an evening meal which was nice but can really recommend the cocktails from the bar. Breakfast was also good and thoroughly enjoyed the break and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Gillian W,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay, and the cocktails too. The Summer Martini is really good should you visit again.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after seeing the Travelzoo offer (eventually booked through Expedia). Excellent value for money. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very large and nicely decorated. The bed huge and very comfortable with a good quality mattress.
Had breakfast and evening meal and was not disappointed, the food being nicely cooked and well presented.
I would certainly return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear angel1957,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

I organised my mums wedding and choose the cumberland in bournmouth.
The staff were very helpful ,the venue was beautiful.
The wedding went exactly to plan and done in a very professional manner.
Her room was very big lovely decor.and romantic.
The food was excellent.
And we used the hotel disco which was fantastic ,played all night great music and lighting.
My mum most of all thought it was the best day of her life.
Thank you ....

Room Tip: It's worth upgrading to a sea view for just that little bit more money. The views are amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Scarlett V,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that your mum's wedding was a success as well as enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just got back from a one night Travelzoo deal at this hotel. What a lovely hotel and the staff are all excellent; we arrived at about 12.30 and our room was ready so we were able to book in early which was a bonus, there was plenty of parking available. The evening meal was delicious and the breakfast was a hot buffet which was all very tasty. The bedroom we had was small but adequate and had everything you needed with lots of wardrobe and cupboard space; it was all very clean. A lovely break and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEL219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear JEL219,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We surprised our 65 year old friend with a weekend break at The Cumberland. We'd looked at the reviews and they all said the food was brilliant - it was! Four of us stayed and all agreed the evening meals and breakfasts were as good as we've had anywhere else. The hotel facilities are shared out between the three hotels in the chain, which are all next to each other. The pool is small(ish) and based in the next door hotel, so it was damm cold walking back to our rooms after a sauna and swim.
The rooms leave a great deal to be desired. Dated, small, TV kept freezing, old wardrobes, unbelievably noisy pipes and creaking floorboards. You heard every movemnet in the room above you and every movement in the adjoining bathroom (and I mean "movement"). The most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in (and I was in the Scouts!)
Overall, if you're wanting really great food, then go there. But if you are expecting a little bit of comfort, try somewhere else.

Room Tip: We moved rooms after the first night and between us had 4 different but none were any good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Jazzboogie,

Thank you for review. Good comments regarding dining. Your comments are noted regarding other comments.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#38 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#5 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing