We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas festivities at the Cumberland Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #11 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just returned from a four day stay at the hotel. As ever the staff were wonderful and the food was to a very good standard. Rooms and surroundings were spotlessly clean and the decorations were very beautiful. Unfortunately there were far to many people in the dining rooms and we were forever apologising to staff and guests for being in the way. The table was far to small. I did feel that there perhaps could have been a little more entertainment I am afraid that it was just one meal to the next with little to do.. Service was as ever very good but maybe it would have been nice to have a pianist on boxing day and maybe a few mundane games etc. The wine was very expensive and not very good quality. However his would not stop us from returning. I would ask next time for specific seating. It is still one of the best hotels in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear jenwhistle,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback. I understand your comment regarding the restaurant. Christmas package was fully booked for us, great success with many small tables which takes up more space. We try to accommodate requests where we can, and your comments have been noted. All in all your review is great, and we are pleased your experience was enjoyable.

We look forward welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,107 - 2,113 of 3,567 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wonderful staff wonderful management fab food which I rate with five star in all Xmas was made very special have stayed many times have never been disappointed made to feel we were visiting friends five star attention three star price

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear charles f,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback. We are pleased your experience was enjoyable, and it is great to welcome back friends we have made from return guests.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable 4 day inclusive Xmas break here. Excellent food, with an enormous choice. Very friendly staff, who without exception went out of their way to provide efficient, friendly service. We had a standard twin bedded room on the first floor which had been updated, and was very comfortable. We were directly above the good entertainment, which finished about 11 PM. We will certainly return, and are at a complete loss to understand some of the adverse comments in other reviews. Certainly the best food we have ever experienced in a hotel! We met some guests on their 8th and 10th visits - this probably says it all! Lovely seafront location - some 20 minutes walk into Bournemouth shopping centre.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be quieter. Arrive early to ensure free car parking! Limited space in car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eauze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Eauze,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay with us. Your comments regarding the food, are superb. Thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a short break from this Hotel. We have been too many Hotels over the years but this one will take a lot of beating. The decorations for Xmas were amazing and we were greated by Father Xmas on arrival which was a lovely touch.The staff were so friendly, polite and very helpful nothing was too much trouble,we were found a table for our evening meal amongst other party guests and the evening meal was so good and enjoyable,( the service fantastic) that we booked the following evening. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and again staff so attentive and polite .Our room was lovely very clean with everything you require. I can not fault this Hotel at all.
If I had any complaint at all my only gripe would be the staff talking in the morning at 5.30 and they are quire load, we were woken up both mornings by this, but it would not put us off and we will definately be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking Car Park was quite noisy with Staff talking loadly in the very early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear christine d,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay. My sincere apologies that you were woken up by staff, I am sure this was not intentional. I will have a word with the night staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What an amazing day we had at this hotel. It was decorated beautifully, the staff were amazing, especially our wedding planner Brian. The food was delicious and the whole package was great value for money.

The honeymoon suite is enormous and had the most gorgeous view.


I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to book a wedding or just stay over in Bournemouth for a few nights.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VCunliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear VCunliffe,

thank you for your review. Congratulations on your wedding. Glad it was an enjoyable day for you.
Great comments, thank you.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We go here several times a year for family Sunday lunches when relatives are visiting us and we are never disappointed with the quality of the food. Service can be a bit hit and miss at busy times but the waiting staff are always so nice it is impossible to be cross. Not only can you have a delicious lunch you can then go and sit outside by the pool and even go for a swim (water is very,very cold though!) or just sit outside drinking cocktails. A very nice place indeed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Makitten,

Thank you for your review. Great comments, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Just returned from a one night break for works Christmas do. Lovely setting right on the sea front. Staff friendly from the minute we arrived. Room very clean, room service prompt. Food was great and no fuss service. Everything well organised and the staff very efficient. Finished off with brisk walk along the sea front. Will definately come again!

Room Tip: Sea front view would have been nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurabeaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear laurabeaden,

Thank you for your review. Great review. Thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#21 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £53 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing