We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cumberland Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suncliff Hotel(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Park Central Hotel(Bournemouth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,775)
Filter reviews
3,775 results
Traveller rating
1,956
1,212
385
139
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,956
1,212
385
139
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart decomirabelle restaurantbrian robbinssea viewsister hotel next dooroutdoor poolpublic areaschristmas partytravelzoo dealsunday lunchthree starthe cliffcar parkcourse dinnernight breakair showshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,310 - 2,315 of 3,775 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for the Christmas 2013 all inclusive break. Being Art Deco enthusiasts, this hotel was a perfect choice for us. The meals were excellent, lots of choice, with the buffets being exceptionally well presented. The highlights were the young, friendly staff in all areas, the location on the East Cliff and the Art Deco furnishings. Don't miss visiting the Russell Cotes museum nearby. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Fiona_w777,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback, and excellent comments regarding the food. Chef did us proud, as he has done for the many years of service, we have received numerous compliments regarding the food.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Return visit to cumberland for grandmother's wake. Staff were as usual helpful and welcoming and the afternoon tea was fantastic, plentiful with mouthwatering sandwhiches and a beautiful selection of little pastries and scones. Our guests said how much they enjoyed it. Many thanks for being so attentive at what was a very sad time for our family. It gave us all great comfort to know you remembered us all and my grandmother's birthday tea partys and shared in our mourning for her.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fjwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear fjwr,

Thank you for your review. Great compliments, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Unfortunately we had to miss the New Year at the Cumberland last time, but returned this year. It was good to see that the same high Strandard has been maintained. Food was as good as ever, but the band could have started a little earlier on New Years eve and the entertainment on New years day was a bit lacking in the music/dancing area. We had an electrical problem as the very windy conditions seems to have knocked out a few of the Plugs, particularly the TV. The maintenance man sorted a temporary fix, so no problem. We were glad we booked a sea view. WOW what a sea. not too many fishing boats out. As before good food excelent staff and a nice trendy hotel made a godd end ( start ??) to the year.

Well done Cumberland keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Go for a Sea view if you can. It's well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zap99Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Zapp99Surrey,

Thank you for your review. Lovely comments regarding your stay with us. The weather over the Christmas and New Year Season, as one could see on the news has been horrendous. The building has taken quite a knock, having to anchor sign down and put manual support to awnings. We did have a power socket go to one, room, our apologies to this, but as you mentioned our superb maintenance team remedied it as soon as it was possible. We are pleased this did not deter you enjoying the celebrations.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I like visiting local hotels, especially as I live in the centre of Bournemouth. It might sound surprising that one would choose to stay overnight in a hotel just minutes away from home.
Such was the case just before Christmas when a group of us decided to celebrate and learned the hotel offered us the opportunity to stay overnight for just a little extra.
We had a most enjoyable evening, a time when everyone dressed up, with not a sight of jeans of T-shirts in sight - ugh!
I love the ambiance of this hotel, the 1930's décor, the friendly staff, the fact we are not 'back-t-back' with other tables in the dining room.
People often complain that 'hotel food' is not as good as offered in restaurants, often choosing to ignore the fact that hotels contain restaurants. The Cumberland never fails to please, and if you are visiting, be sure to give plenty of notice, for this is a busy nightspot.
In the afternoon, you might just spy me having one of the lovely afternoon tea's, on my own, or with friends - it does not matter, for this is very much my home-from-home.
The Cumberland Hotel really ought to advertise itself as 'We care, that you care!'

Room Tip: Try to have a sea view- excellent!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reverend Richar... d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear ReverendRichard...d,

Thank you for you review. Great review, and great comments. You are spot on, 'we do care that you care'.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We have just returned from a four day stay at the hotel. As ever the staff were wonderful and the food was to a very good standard. Rooms and surroundings were spotlessly clean and the decorations were very beautiful. Unfortunately there were far to many people in the dining rooms and we were forever apologising to staff and guests for being in the way. The table was far to small. I did feel that there perhaps could have been a little more entertainment I am afraid that it was just one meal to the next with little to do.. Service was as ever very good but maybe it would have been nice to have a pianist on boxing day and maybe a few mundane games etc. The wine was very expensive and not very good quality. However his would not stop us from returning. I would ask next time for specific seating. It is still one of the best hotels in Bournemouth.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenwhistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear jenwhistle,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback. I understand your comment regarding the restaurant. Christmas package was fully booked for us, great success with many small tables which takes up more space. We try to accommodate requests where we can, and your comments have been noted. All in all your review is great, and we are pleased your experience was enjoyable.

We look forward welcoming you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews