We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great New Year's Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was our first function at the Cumberland following recommendations from friends. Our party consisted of six people and we were all of one voice, simply wonderful!

The evening started well with our party being met by Brian Robbins the Events co-ordinator when we were introduced to the Oceana Suite staff. The meal was excellent and very well presented. Staff were attentive and curteous all evening.

The entertainment, consisting of a two singers, was just first rate and kept us on the dance floor most of the evening.

All in all an excellent evening with a great atmosphere enjoyed by all!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Ron E,

Thank you for your review. Superb feedback regarding your New Years celebrations. Glad it went so well for you. Di & Lea regularly entertain here at the Cumberland, and always are well received.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,206 - 2,212 of 3,683 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 2 days (1 night). Absolutely superb from the moment we arrived. The staff are very helpful & always smiling. The food in the evening was excellent & the full buffet breakfast was first class. We loved the art deco décor, from the view outside to the wonderful lounge / bar area. Totally recommended especially if you visit on a special offer break.
Bournemouth has so much to offer, first class weekend.

Room Tip: Sea view is superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Christopher R,

Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay with us. Most please, and a rewarding read for the many staff that follow tripadvisor.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We had a 3 night break in this hotel between Christmas and the new year, it was a return visit as we have been many times in the last 4/5 years. This time again was just as lovely, I cannot praise just one member of staff as they are all friendly, helpful and just cannot do enough for you to make your stay as you wish it to be. The food is always really good, I am personally fussy about trying new foods but there I do. The whole place is clean and rooms serviced every day. We have already booked two more stays this year, including taking some of our family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear Christine H,

Thank you for you review. Wonderful comments regarding your Christmas and New Years stay with us.

We look forwarded welcoming you back on your future stays.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel for four nights from 4thJanuary the hotel had a fantastic ambience, very helpful and friendly staff who could not do enough for you and always courteous. Our bed was made up every day for our return together with fresh towels . our bed was very comfortable and gaveva well rested sleep. Breakfast buffet style was very good, lots of choice both cooked and continental with as much tea and coffee as you wanted there was also the option to have Costa coffee at a very reasonable extra charge. Could not fault our accommodation in any way unfortunately we did not have time to try the spa maybe next time we also could not comment on entertainment as we were visiting our daughter who stays in Bournemouth but it sounded good . the bar area was also very comfy big setees log fire.

Room Tip: Ideally go for sea view we had a back room view not the best however because of the time of year of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitten05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear kitten05,

Thank you for your review. Great compliments regarding your stay with us, thank you.

we hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Just had an enjoyable one night stay at The Cumberland. As has been expressed in previous reviews we found the staff very friendly and they couldn't do enough for you. They all appeared of foreign extraction ............perhaps that tells you something! The decor in the main lounges/bar area was extremely tasteful and we loved the subtle and imaginative lightening. The only thing that spoilt the atmosphere was the low rumble of background music which seemed to be something and nothing. It was also present at breakfast. The sound system looked new and being Bose should be capable of very good quality.
The food was very good both at dinner and breakfast and the "waiting staff" were very efficient and helpful. Only possible complaint was that the wine prices were a bit on the steep side for the standard of hotel. We recently paid less for a house wine in a four star London hotel.

Our only real gripe was our room which although clean and tidy and perfectly adequate had a few small things that could be improved. A few biscuits and a better selection of tea etc.. would be good and also a box of tissues which seem to be the norm in hotels these days. Unfortunately the bathroom door didn't have a lever handle and couldn't be opened or shut without making a loud noise. The TV remote wasn't working (flat batteries?) and we would have preferred table lamps rather than lights in the ceiling.(personal taste) Although the bathroom appeared to have new tiling the shower and other "furniture" was a little antiquated but were adequate.
Unfortunately we didn't have a good night as there was a constant loud dripping sound which was like Chinese water torture. We couldn't make out what it was as there appeared to be no water running in the bathroom and it was not raining. It could have been in another room as the soundproofing was not particularly good but that is common amongst many hotels we have stayed in.
Sort out these little niggles and the Cumberland will be up there with the best!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muso30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Muso30,

Thank you for your review. Some great feedback regarding your stay with us. Your other comments have been noted, and my apologies for any disturbances and the batteries for the remote, I hope you called reception to have them replaced.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Just returned from a two night break at this lovely hotel. The staff are a credit to the hotel every single member of staff could not do enough for us. We had dinner the first evening and the meal was excellent beautifully cooked and served. .Breakfast was self service but again freshly cooked and plentiful. The décor in the hotel is really plush and very comfortable. Would have no hesitation in recommending and look forward to our next visit

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor and could see the sea from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear magmike,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your stay. Pleased about your comment regarding the staff, a pleasing result.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned home after our second visit to this lovely hotel, our sea view room was very comfortable and cosy. Weather good enough to enjoy the balcony and the views ..
We had a bit of a problem with the shower as bit too high, needed a riser rod and a bit of a problem with getting the water temp right. Reported it to the manager at end of our stay as it didn't worry us to much. He was very pleasant and assured us it would be sorted out.
Next time we visit hopefully in the summer would be nice to sit outside and have a swim in the beautiful pool.. Bit to cold this time!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear Lorraine H,

Thank you for your review. Some great comments regarding your stay. Your comments regarding the room/bathroom have been noted, and where we can we continue to make improvements.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
251 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
2,179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.8 mi away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
1 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £50 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing