We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely mid week break.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely mid week break.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I found a deal on travel zoo for this hotel.We stayed there 43 years ago on our honeymoon and thought it would be nice to go to celebrate our anniversary.It has now been taken over by a group and they have done it up fantastically.I wanted to take home all the mirrors and lamps.The food was delicious and service wonderful.The staff were very pleasant and helpful.It is right on the sea front and we were lucky that although cold the sun shone all day.We walked and walked.The rooms were ok,very comfortable beds.My one complaint was the floor boards.You could hear the people above walking around,but I understand because it is a very old building.We cam home this afternoon and are looking to see when we can go again.They have 3 hotels in a line on the sea front and you can use the facilities of all of them.Every night there was entertainment but we did not go because we found very nice people to talk to and most of them go back to the hotel twice a year.I think we will be following them..

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor so you wont hear any footsteps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleanorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear eleanorp,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback. Congratulations on your anniversary!

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,795
    1,128
    352
    130
    77
See reviews for
647
1,651
135
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tala, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great Friday and Sunday night with friends, lots to eat and drink. We were on a special offer with Groupon, at £69 per couple per night for dinner bed and breakfast it was excellent value.
Food was exceLlent and very good service from all staff, all in all a great place to stay, also great location on east cliff if you like to walk it off in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Gerry M,

Thank you for your email. Great feedback regarding your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night last weekend on a special deal. When we first went into reception I thought we had come to the wrong hotel. Although it is a 3 star hotel, you would never know because the reception, lounge and dining areas are beautifully decorated and look more like a 4/5 star hotel. The staff are very pleasant and welcoming.

Our room was fine, but quite compact, However it was clean and the bathroom was quite big. However if we were to stay again we would probably upgrade.

The hotel is perfectly located on the sea front and only a short walk to the town.

However the best thing was the 3 course dinner in the evening. It was really lovely, served beautifully. The waiting staff are faultless. Breakfast the next morning was also very nice. Would definitely recommend and return, but to an upgraded room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Shirley S,

Thank you for your review. Great review, with fantastic comments.

We look forward welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I booked my managers christmas party at the cumberland we had 4 course meal . over night stay and breakfast for over 150 of us it was amazing . staff and service excellent and the food was great . thank you for another great party . service and staff and food awesome again .

Room Tip: first floor rooms are lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dave j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear dave j,

Thank you for your review. Fantastic comments regarding your party and stay.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

What a lovely place this is. Just got back after a weekend break at The Cumberland. The position of the hotel is stunning as it has a glorious view across the sea from the cliff tops. Couldn't fault. The room's bed, bathroom's shower and tea facilities were all quite substantial. Only a slight need for improvement and that would be to have a fridge in the room. The bar and restaurant were both delightful and the food really yummy! Would love to be able to swim in the outside pool as it looked very inviting but i am sure too cold in January. Thank you to everyone at the Cumberland for a brilliant couple of days - so lucky to have gorgeous weather too!!

Room Tip: 212 has a great view across the cliffs and sea. We couldn't hear traffic so slept well. Could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentLaurence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear KentLaurence,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback, great compliments. A pleasure to read!

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel with friends. Art Deco décor is beautiful. Room was lovely. View is fantastic and only 10 minutes walk to the shops & bars. Clean & tidy throughout. Good food and friendly staff. Will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPGINGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear TPGINGER,

Thank you for your review. Lovely feedback regarding your weekend.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Just like to thank every staff member for making yet another Xmas so very special we have now spent our fourth Xmas here and they just keep getting better still cannot understand how the cumberland doesn't get higher rating food over Xmas was very scrummy ! This ship has got one hell of a crew .here we are again it's now jan 18 and we are back again nothing to much trouble thank you Helder and all staff till the next time !!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ellfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear ellfry,

Thank you for your review. Great review, thank you. Superb compliments.

We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,997 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 66 in Bournemouth
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#24 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing