We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing break at the Cumberland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another relaxing break at the Cumberland”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the Cumberland. We also had my daughters wedding reception here and have eaten meals on a number of occasions.

The staff are excellent and the food is exceptional.

Seaview rooms are worth upgrading to.

Thank you for a lovely weekend..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynette r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear lynette r,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear another superb experience you have had.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    1,111
    338
    130
    76
See reviews for
627
1,626
134
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The Sunday lunch at the Cumberland hotel was recommended by friends and it did not disappoint. Three courses with plenty of choice in each course. Staff were friendly and efficient. A lovely and relaxing occasion. Although a little more expensive than other hotels I considered it very good value for money.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your review. Lovely to read your feedback regarding your Sunday Lunch experience.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night, booked standard room but was upgraded to a suite with sea view and terrace, shame the weather was windy and rainy so unable to use the terrace. The food was good, very friendly staff, drinks not over priced like some hotels. All in all a very good hotel, will be back in summer!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank andreahex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear andreahex,

Thank you for your review. Superb feedback regarding your stay with us.

We look forward welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I recently arranged a dinner dance at the Cumberland hotel for 220 guests. The organisation, service and politeness of all of the staff was excellent. I also arranged 28 rooms at the hotel and all of the rooms were of a very high standard. The food at the hotel is also of a very high standard. Needless to say that I have already arranged a date at the hotel for 2015. A big thank you to all at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony8653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Tony8653,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback regarding your dinner dance. Wonderful to hear it all went so well, and we will see you in 2015.

Beat Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, uk
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is my 2nd visit and it was just as good this time. we went on on budget package which was 3 course dinner and bed and breakfast. The room was plenty big enough and the bathroom very modern and clean. The view was terrible because there wasn't one! but we did expect that for the price and it didn't matter to us. The food though was the beat thing I think, Wonderful hearty soup, very nice trout and then a gorgeous lemon tart. All served by polite staff which had there been something amiss it would have been no trouble Im sure, All in all very pleasant and a good lively atmosphere which for a Tues is great in January,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hyl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Hyl38,


Thank you for your review. Great comments regarding your stay. We have different room types, but by far the best are the Sea View Rooms and even with the weather we currently having, it is a great view.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Very clean all round, helpful staff .
Convenient for local amenities, Excellent food.

Didn't enjoy Saturday evening when squashed into smaller area to eat because of a function and a fire alarm at 1am with no explanation

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel was the first one I ever did a tripadvisor report on in 2011, as I had only just learnt how to use the computer and I must say I really enjoy writing reports on hotels to help other people. Well yet again I must say I really enjoyed our stay, it is not just an ordinary hotel the décor, room decoration and staff all make it seem like a special occasion. I especially like the staff attitude of always smiling and being as helpful as they can making you feel special. The food is excellent and good value especially if you pre book the evening meal. I have been to this hotel several times and if I have a special occasion it is one of the hotels I love to revisit.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room as it is lovely to look out to sea and if you have the window open at night it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear lilianswindon,

Thank you for your review. Great feedback, and superb comments regarding the staff's attitude.
All the staff work hard, and reading feedback such as this is rewarding.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#26 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,923 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
93 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.0 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Property: The Cumberland Hotel
Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 3 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing