We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Sunday Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Felt I had to write a review after such a great experience today. Came here with 3 children (15,10 &7) and my parents for lunch. Decor, food & service was of a very high standard. We had the 3 course lunch and there was a lot of choice and it didn't disappoint. The restaurant and it's staff were so well managed we couldn't fault it at all especially as it was fairly busy. Everything ran like clockwork. The children's food choice was also great and didn't hear a peep out of them while they were eating. Our 10 year old likes his food and we were wondering if the portion size would be enough for him as other places sometimes skimp but there was plenty! Staff are attentive & very friendly. We will definitely return as this place is a real find. Thank you :)

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Flipflopfun555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,101 - 2,107 of 3,614 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

..they do it right every time.

The management and staff here are worth their weight in gold, nothing is ever too much trouble.
It is like part of the DNA of the staff, everybody just wants to make your stay here better, and they do that effortlessly. If you love fillet steak, hot and as rare as they come, then I wouldn't go any where but here. The weather this time was as unkind as it could be, but if you are grounded then this is the place to just chill-out and have a few drinks and lunch and then go for a nap, in a room that has been cleaned to perfection...by people you hardly ever see.

You have probably gathered that I (we, my wife and I) love the Cumberland to bits. We won't go any where else in Bournemouth at any price.

Can't say more than that, go and try it.

Kind regards,

Ray Fearnley.

Room Tip: If you smoke get a superior room, then you can smoke on your own balcony with a sea view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayFearnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

4 nights here. Rooms are fine as three star hotels go. Position, over the Channel is great, they are fitting new double glazing and they do need to. Really bad weather and it was howling. So were the foxes throughout one night. Public areas very pleasant. But the staff throughout steal the show. Romeo, the maitre d', is on top of his game, a real pro. The restaurant works like clockwork with attentive, genuinely committed and cheerful staff all working hard. (that's down to excellent management/ training, too, let's not forget). Table d'hote at £32 is a bit high, but the food is very good and portions generous. Would be good if the chambermaids responded to basic English in some way rather than semaphore, but that's a minor detail.

Room Tip: sea views are premium priced as you'd expect. Check best rooms for wifi /some rooms are hopeless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulSampson187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the first contact to check out a very good experience. If only all UK Hotels could be like this.
We booked a superior room for a Valintines night package. Price included room and candlelight supper. We arrived at the hotel early, were treated with smiles and a very warm welcome. Check in was swift and our luggage securely stored while we had lunch. Our room was made available to us early our lugage was already in the room. Room was clean and very comfortable. Evening meal was excellent. My wife a vegetarian claims it was the best vegetarian option she has ever had in a hotel. From arrival to check out a most pleasant experience.
We are returning next month to attend another function. Can only hope the experience is replicated.

Room Tip: Recommend a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SymesD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have just enjoyed a two night break at the Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth. Despite the lousy weather, our stay was really enjoyable and the hotel is very welcoming with comfortable lounges, cosy sofas and a log fire! Lovely Art Deco decor throughout.

We ate in the hotel on both nights and the food was excellent and well presented and a great dining experience! Breakfast was super and we were spoilt for choice, with everything from croissants, continental meats and cheese to the full bifter English.

Our room was adequately furnished and spotlessly clean, it was really well heated, in fact a bit too hot, and we couldn't adjust the radiator. Better than.being cold though!,

The hotel is in an ideal position and right opposite the beach and only a short stroll along the seafront into town.

Would recommend and of course you can use the pool and spa facilities of the sister hotel next door. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but apparently rooms on the top floor struggled to get a television sign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Janet H,

Thank you for your review. Good feedback regarding your stay, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back soon again.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night last weekend and thought is was excellent value for money. We had a lovely spacious room with a side sea view, absolutely no complaints, The wind was horrendous when we stayed and it did create a lot of noise but it didn't keep us awake but our family in another room did have some noise from the flag pole that disturbed them.

All the staff were polite and helpful and breakfast was good with a varied selection of food. I would definitely recommend this hotel as we were plesantly surprised by just how good it was in relation to the price we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servicechargehater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Staying 1 night D,B&B on Travelzoo offer, but husband couldn't make trip. Upgraded to balcony/seaview (room 211) for £25. Large warm room for 3; built-in wardrobes and desk all painted grey, as walls apart from 1 in large pattern wallpaper. 1 chair. Decent flat t.v. Bathroom adequate with heated rail, but bath shower mixer on fixed wall connector. Table d 'hote dinner acceptable. Breakfast not yet taken.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Maggs9249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanNell, Operations Manager at The Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Maggs9249,

Thank you for your review. Your review is average, so slightly disappointing to be honest. I have seen your picture of the bath, and I will comment by adding that basins and bath tubs that have hair-line cracks or chips are being repaired and replaced where we can. The travelzoo offer hit us like a storm and the hotels occupancy has been high, so some maintenance work has taken longer to complete.

We hope to welcome you back someday soon.

Best Regards,
Sean Nell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#18 of 67 in Bournemouth
218 reviews
0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#24 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,116 reviews
0.8 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#23 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royale
Best Western Hotel Royale
#16 of 67 in Bournemouth
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland Hotel

Address: 27 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Price Range: £44 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cumberland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Modern Resort style seafront 4 star hotel with 0ver 100 rooms, many rooms with ocean view and balcony or terrace. Two restaurants including Two AA Red rosette award winning Ventana Brasserie, Stylish and trendy Bar and Miami style lido deck with heated outdoor pool( May-Sept), summer BB!Q's and Chill Beds. The Art Deco style resort was Awarded Best large hotel 2009 in the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, is Bournemouth and Dorset's highest AA rated 3 star hotel at 88% in 2013 and also won several national excellence awards in 2011. Rooms are good quality 3 star rooms whilst service is exceptional with stunning public facilties. The Cumberland also has the facilty of an indoor leisure Sauna/Pool complex with squash courts and small gym ( bookable) at Suncliff right next door. Parking is 55 spaces free on a first come first served basis with on street parking in front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cumberland Bournemouth
Cumberland Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing